We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnyside Guest House
Ranked #132 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't stay here .”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We arrived late afternoon/ early evening after walking some of the Jurassic coastline with our small Border Collie dog . We had telephoned earlier that day , so were very pleased that managed to get a room that allowed us to bring our pet too. (we had been very lucky the 5 previous dog friendly B and B ' s that we had stayed in . ) We were met by a young boy who had opened up an inner door and said that his Mum wasn't in and gave us the key to the " dog friendly room" . This door was ajar as he was keeping his dog that side of it and it was barking at our dog . This room looked like it was the kitchen.
As we walked up the grubby beige carpeted stairs I started to think that we had made a mistake but we were very tired and it was too late to look for other dog friendly accommodation . When we went into our room it had a dog smell, poor furnishings, tatty furniture and the smallest shower/toilet and wash basin area I had ever seen. The tiling was in need of some T.L.C and the windows were grubby and needed some cleaning too. At least the sheets were clean but I wasn't so sure about the covers on the beds.
Next morning we got up early and went for a walk along the sea front . What a lovely location for a B and B . The sun was shining and we thought it would be lovely to have our breakfast outside . We had packed our kit bags so we just needed a hearty breakfast before the next stage of the Coastal Path. We waited at the Reception area and the lady who owned/ran the B and B came out and apologised for not being around the evening before . No problem was our reply! You can' t bring the dog into the dining room she said as she had other guests and under health and safety she said she would not be allowed. We asked if the food was prepared in the dining room. To which she replied No - in the kitchen and pointed to the same room as we had seen her son with Their dog !!!!We then said but this is a dog friendly B and B isn't it? There were no facilities for eating outside so we said forget the breakfast we would go and find some at another place. It was the most expensive place we had stayed at £80 pounds and the worst. All the other dog friendly B and B s we stayed at did not prepare the food in the dining room but in their kitchens which obviously our dog was not allowed in but she was allowed to lie down in the same room as we were eating our breakfast in. And just because you have a dog friendly room it shouldn't be of a lesser standard than the other bedrooms , which this appeared to be looking at the photos and comments of other people that have stayed here. You are either dog friendly or not. !!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
61 Thank 55sadie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysideweymouth, Owner at Sunnyside Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dogs are always welcome at Sunnyside. However I do not allow them in the dining room when we have other guests. You are welcome to have a later breakfast with your dog, when the other guests have finished. My dog is NOT allowed in the kitchen when cooking or serving, only after we have finished for the day.
People need to remember this is our HOME as well as a guest house.

I do my best but you cant please all the people all of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed with our two children for one night. Our room was at the top of the house, up several flights of stairs that got increasingly narrow toward the top. It had a double bed & two singles. The room was clean and comfortable, the view was fantastic as it looked out over the beach, we could hear the waves gently lapping the shore. However the bathroom, consisting of a WC, sink & shower was extreamly small, with barely enough room to turn around. There was no spare toilet tissue and I had to send my daughter down to ask for another. We were unable to use the shower because as soon as it got hot enough to stand under, the flow reduced to a dribble! The English breakfast was good, and there was a variety of cereal, yogurt and jams. Sue very kindly varied the menu to suit our needs. Although our room was decorated nicely, the house as a whole was a bit dated, with tired carpet and a mish mash of wall art! Parking was also difficult and although Sue directed us to nearby free parking, it was full and we ended up parking a 10 min walk away from the house. I guess I would stay again, but would not want to pay the £100 per night we did this time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alliper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

With my company I travel around visiting different B&B's throughout the summer, and due to this I suggest that I am fairly knowledgable about what makes a good B&B and what doesn't! I arrived fairly late, as I had been working during the day, and at 10pm Sue met me with a lovely cup of tea, showing me up to my room. The room itself was absolutely lovely with an extremely comfortable bed, which provided me with a very good nights sleep, its rare to find a guest house that offers quality beds that aren't cheap, but sunnyside did just that, I actually slept throughout the night to the sound of the sea.

The breakfast in the morning was scrumptious, and plentiful, again with a lovely selection of tea!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFromSpendid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was the first guest house that we have ever stayed in and was very impressed. As a family with 2 children under 10 we have always stayed in chain branded hotels however this was an improtu visit to our favourite seaside so we searched the internet for a suitable place to stay just for one night and came up with Sunnyside guest house. We had prepared ourselves for the worst but were pleasantly surprised. The family room was adequately furnished with a double, single and a z bed. Bedding was clean and fresh and the ensuite was very large and spotless. Decor was not to our taste could do with brightening up but not really an issue.
Breakfast room was nice and cosy and the children were adequately catered for. Nothing was too much trouble.
The best thing about this guest house is the location, just a stone throw from the sea. The view from the bedroom was just great. Would recommend so long as you bear in mind its a guest house and not the ritz, we would return with out a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cobblers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We arrived after cycling the long way from Swanage. Sue and Ben met us with smiles and promptly put our bicycles out the back for safe keeping. The room had wonderful views over the beach and was spacious, very clean with a good (much needed) shower.

That evening we went to Battle of the Bands on the beach. We slept very well with the sound of the sea gently lapping against the beach and even missed the rain. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and well cooked.

We spent the day pottering around Weymouth re-discovering the harbour area, admiring the sand modelling and the many historic buildings. Deciding which of the many restaurants we would eat in that night took some time – the choice is endless. Paddling in the sea and sitting on the beach reading the newspapers completed the rest day on our cycling (Dorset coast to coast) holiday.

When we came to leave the next morning we discovered that Sue had covered our bicycle seats with plastic bags as it rained overnight – a lovely touch showing the care Sue takes of her guests.

Dogs and walkers are also welcome at Sunnyside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#120 of 165 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horizon Guest House
Horizon Guest House
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seasons Guest House
Seasons Guest House
#68 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seaspray Guest House
Seaspray Guest House
#15 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harlequin Guest House
Harlequin Guest House
#62 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Guest House

Property: Sunnyside Guest House
Address: 15 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 bedroom, family-run guest house, 10 meters from the beach. 3 en-suite rooms, a twin room and a large double room with wonderful sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunnyside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing