We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and the Bad!!”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ship Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Good and the Bad!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I visited for lunch on Saturday, Starters and the majority of the mains were very good but unfortunately the fish which two guests had in our party were inedible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    294
    130
    46
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dorking
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“meal with a view”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

lovely atmosphere,good service, the window table we had booked had been taken by "squatters"! but the waiter apologised and offered us a free round of drinks for the inconvienience. When table became vacant waitress asked if we still wanted to move,we declined as by then we were comfortable,but felt glad they offered. Meal was good and we had a lovely evening.(still managed to get view from our table) Thank you to the staff as always in any hall and woodhouse pub were smily, happy people!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannedorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great place with a fantastic view of the harbour”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have eaten here 4 time this year. We are regular visitors to Weymouth and love the old harbour. The food here and service are always great. We had four children with us on our last visit and they loved it. 9aged 5,7,7 and 9). They make you feel really welcome at any time. Even when you knowck over a candle and spill wax all over the table. (By the way that was me not the kids!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacktarUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Another VERY ENJOYABLE visit.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Please read my previous review for my full comments on this EXCELLENT establishment.

With family visiting from the Midlands we decided to visit again. Everything came up to my expectations and the family were well impressed.

Feel sure that if you visit YOU WILL ENJOY!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bizzare dogs rule”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went to eat here and encountered the most bizarre pub ruel I have come across.

Arriving at about 5.30 we were told that food wasnt served until 6.00, fair enough, so we thought we would get a drink and sit down until it was time for the food service to begin. We were then told that we would have to move table at 6.00 to the upstairs eating area, I asked why we couldnt remain at the table we had downstairs and was told that you had to have a dog with you in order to eat downstairs. What a bizarre rule. As we dont have a dog, and didnt want to move table we didnt have a drink or a meal and a pub down the street got our business instead.

Strangest and most customer unfriendly rule I have ever come across, so unles you have a dog thend Id advise staying clear of this stablishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Im_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing