We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ship Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 277 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food was lovely had smoked haddock and chicken both were cooked perfectly and tasted great! Waitresses and waitors were lovely service was a bit slow though felt ingorned after we had finished our meal but overall brilliant restaurant would definitely recommend a vist!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAnnLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    274
    118
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must Visit Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Go upstairs and get a harbour view from the 'Ship's Galley' - great restoration/creation of the interior of an old ship with beams, great wooden floors and nice decor. The staff are all young, helpful and great fun, even making the collection of glasses from the harbour wall where you can sit outside while waiting for a table, into an art form. The best fish and chips I've had in a long while with crispy batter and fantastic chips. On our visit at about 19.30 the service was quick with no long wait between courses. Our waiter saw us looking at a table by the window which had just been vacated and offered to move us without being asked - a really nice touch and perfect spot for people watching.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved the food, the atmosphere is good to with very friendly staff. The shabby entrance to the restaurant upstairs is very deceiving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Takaloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recomment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Weymouth for the weekend. We stumbled across this place while looking for somewhere to eat on the friday evening and decided to go here based on how it looked outside, and it was the right decision. It has a great atmosphere and staff are lovely and friendly. The food is really good quality and the price reflects that but we were happy to pay for such delicious food, (despite my boyfriends order being slightly wrong but we didnt fuss and we still enjoyed it) We loved it so much so that we returned the next evening when we couldnt find any where else we liked, and it was even better! would definitely recommend this place! Food, service and atmosphere a 10/10!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
191 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS IN ALL RESPECTS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have just written a review of this excellent establishment and posted it under "SHIP INN (Quayside, Weymouth)" The Ship Inn, Pub Restaurant, Custom House Quay, and Ship Inn, Quayside are in fact the same!!

If you want to either read or post a review I would suggest you visit Ship Inn where there are well over a hundred reviews posted rather than just a few under this title.

Whichever you choose it is WELL WORTH A VISIT.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing