We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beach House
Ranked #26 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class B&B”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Best B&B we have stayed at in years. Joy & Laura really look after you, and a great breakfast to start your day. Will book again in August we hope. Weymouth and surrounding area has plenty to offer everyone.

Room Tip: Best rooms on beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
81
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent our first 2 nights on a 4 week trip at the Beach House after a long flight for the US & drive from LHR. We were blurry-eyed & without a GPS so we spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out where the Beach House was located in Weymouth, although we had various maps. We were fortunate to find a parking space in the beach parking area right in front of the hotel. There were also spaces available along the seafront side of the hotel that day. The hotel is situated in a nice, quiet area on the Esplanade & beach, very quiet compared to other Weymouth areas with pubs & lots of people standing outside drinking. We were able to drop off our car at the car rental & walk back to the B & B & then walk our suitcases to the ferry to continue our journey the Guernsey. Since we are walkers, this proved to be a convenient location for us.
We were very welcomed when we arrived & shown our room with every detail & house rules about our stay made clear. Our room was a family room, although there were just 2 of us, on the corner of the building on the third floor. There was a small double bed & a single bed in the main room & another small room with single bed off the double room. We booked a twin room through Booking.com & didn't specify a family room but apparently this was the only twin in this B&B. (In 40 yrs. of traveling to the UK/Europe, we have found twin rooms tend to be larger.) The room was furnished in a modest beach style. We had no problem carrying our large bags up the stairs, although it could prove tricky for less abled. The room was very nice size with large bay window looking up the coast line & 2 wicker chairs & table to look out. Everything was very clean & comfortable. The beds had duvets & good linens. The wifi worked really well as did the flatscreen TV. An armoire closet had a bathrobe. The bathroom was quite small with a very small pedestal sink, a shower & wc. The room was quite warm when we arrived because the sun hits the bay windows so we opened them to cool down the room. This might be an issue on a warm summer day as opening the windows on a heavily trafficked road would make it impossible to get to sleep. I don't believe there is A/C. Fortunately, the weather was cool for us so we could close the windows at night & there are good blackout shades to darken the room. I still had to use ear plugs to sleep as there was a motorcycle club driving in & out of the city on Fri. night as well as large trucks.
Breakfast was really excellent. We had wonderful English breakfasts both days with lots of good French press coffee. We could have our eggs prepared any way, including poached & my husband got 2 eggs. Many other breakfast choices were available. The sideboard also included a very nice granola & corn flakes, etc, a small bowl of cut up fresh fruit, yogurt, 2 juices. The breakfast area was very pleasant with large bay windows & a small lounge, although we were only in the lounge when we checked out. Not sure it is open to the residents. This was a very good value & a very pleasant stay to recuperate. If we ever return to Weymouth, we would stay there again, on the seafront side.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Perfect position on the seafront with great views. Absolutely lovely place and spotlessly clean. Really friendly and owners who cooked one of the most tasty breakfasts I have ever had. Overall a really great place to stay, and look forward to a return visit. Thank you Sue & Tony

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonysnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolndhire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had not booked a hotel or a B&B when we decided to go to Weymouth, so when we turned up we started looking and found this lovely Guest House overlooking the sea. We found the owners Joy and Laura so very welcoming, Joy showed us the rooms before we booked in and we were very happy to stay. The rooms were exceptionally clean, breakfast was amazing, nothing was too much trouble, the hosts were fantastic we will definately go back. Thank you so much Jennie and Alan Rowe & Linda and Roger Rose

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our third short break to Weymouth and we have stayed in different guest houses on every occasion, not because of any problems with the other venues. However after staying at the beach house we would definitely like to return. What stood this venue out from the others were the welcoming proprietors and their efforts to ensure we had everything we needed for our stay which included bringing us a flask of milk for tea. A beautiful room , exceptional breakfast and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights for a short break from 16 April, Cant fault it the room was spotless and breakfast time they couldn't do enough for you.Laura and Joy made us Welcome and their knowledge of the area was very helpful. I would recommend it to my friends and family and if we are down in Weymouth again I would definitely stay here. Thank you again Laura and Joy.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room number 2 double room two windows both looking over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1gibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We, my 12 year old and 9 year old children and me have just returned from a short stay at The Beach House in Weymouth. Right from the start, Laura and Joy made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
We had the family room on the second floor which was perfect. The first room had a double bed and a single with a table and chairs in the bay window, bed side cabinet, dresser unit and still space for all our bags and bits and pieces.
The alcove led through to the en suite bathroom with nice hot shower and a second bedroom. Another single bed, wardrobe, bedside cabinet and small table and chair. There was also a curtain to give the user of this room a little privacy from the rest of his or her family next door. Just perfect for my 12 year old son.
The food was delicious and a huge choice on offer.
Laura and Joy have done a brilliant job. They have thought of the little things (hair dryer in every room, shower cap in the bathroom etc) and also provided the essential guide to Weymouth and all that it has to offer.
I can't recommend this place enough and what I saw of the other rooms, the comfort and lovely decor of ours was not a one off but was throughout the guest house.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnfieldScary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRLC, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello
We really appreciate you posting a review and Thank you for your lovely comments about our family room and service etc here. We are really glad you had a good time with us and in Weymouth and hope to see you all here again soon.
Many thanks
Joy and Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 163 in Weymouth
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Guest House
Beach Guest House
#89 of 163 in Weymouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 163 in Weymouth
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 163 in Weymouth
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southville Guest House
Southville Guest House
#41 of 163 in Weymouth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 1 & 2 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing