We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, excellent service.”
Review of Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel
Ranked #32 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This might have been the best small hotel I have ever stayed in. The lady who runs it with here daughter is very friendly and we were checked in within 2min. We booked last minute and got the largest room (the only on still available) and were very happy to find anything at all in the city.
It's right by the beach (on one site, 20seconds walk) and 30 seconds walk to the harbour (the other side). Our room looked onto both: one large window with a couch to sit on looked over the beach, the houses that front the beach, and a huge part of the coast east of weymouth. We could even see the chalk cliffs around lulworth cove from our room. On the other side of the room was large window, from which we looked onto the channel with it's sailing boats going by (when you are lying in bed you can even see the masts of them floating by).
The shower has a huge head and it feels like you are in a 5 start hotel. The room was large but as said before we got the larges room and I am not sure about the others.
The breakfast is amazing and included in the price of the room: the croissants are self made and excellent. they come with jam, bread, coffee, tea, orange juice. Then there is a choice of English breakfast, omlette, cereal and some other dishes I have forgotten just now. The room where breakfast is served has two large windows, one of whcih looks onto the beach, house fronts and coast towards Lulworth.
The only small disadvantage, and it's a tiny one: in front of the hotel was a roller coster for kids when we were staying there. But when you shut the windows you heard nothing, and they stop at 9pm anyway.
Walking anywhere in the little harbour over the bridge take a maximum of 10 min, or you could even take the little boat rowed by an old man across the channel for 50p a person. The beach is a 30min walk long and as said before you are on it form the hotel in less than 30seconds. parking is 6.50GBP for 24 hours with a slip from the hotel and it is a 3 min walk away from the hotel behind the pavillion. So all in all this was an amazing one day stay and I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAndreasWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed for a weekend at Evas lovely B&B and the stay was just superb! Lovely atmosphere and from the moment we stepped into the B&B we could feel the warm welcome!
The rooms were really cosy spacious with a lot of character and a lot of thought put into the decoration. Every room is different and made very personal by Eva! The beds are really cosy and big and I slept so well!!
The view was fantastic giving you either a choice of watching the waves coming into the beach and the costal cliffs or the fishing boats in the harbour!
The breakfast is brilliant! What can I say, it was really good, fresh and personal as everything was there you wished for! Even homemade bread!!
This perfect match is combined with a prime location close to restaurants, shops, boat tours and walks!! Just a perfect stay!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I had promised my best friend a girly weekend away, and was at the end of my tether looking for somewhere. I narrowed it down to the south coast. And searched high and low. Then I saw the reviews of the Roundhouse in Weymouth, and thought 'yep, that sounds alright' and booked it. As we drew up outside the hotel, I thought, 'god, I hope this is good'. As you always do. But 'good' doesn't even cut it. It was brilliant. Honestly one of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

As we arrived Sandra (who runs the hotel with her wonderful mother, Eva) came rushing out to give us a parking permit. She'd actually parked her own car outside the hotel to reserve the place for us, so we could park right in front! Later she booked us a table at a fantastic local restaurant (Mallams), and we sat and chatted with her and Eva like old friends with a glass of wine before we went out.

And everything in this hotel is done with a personal touch: be it the decor, or Eva's beautiful art that decorates the hotel, the blueberries on the table with breakfast, the large seaview-on-one-side, harbour-view-on-the-other bedroom, the extremely comfortable beds with wonderful bed linen... It's just perfect. We were only there for one night, but both of us felt so rested, we didn't want to leave.

Both of us will definitely be coming back too, probably dragging our boyfriends along as well, as there's such a romantic feel to the place, it almost felt like a shame not to be there with them too. And I for one can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsobelALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Found this small hotel through TA and even tough the rating was very high already both me and my partner were very positively surprised! The room was great - big, clean and very nicely decorated. Have never experienced such a good bed in a hotel. The service was absolutely fabulous and the location superb would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIK_SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I have just returned from the roundhouse hotel where i stayed for 3 nights with my husband for our 8th year anniversary, and all i can say is what a wonderful, fantastic friendly hotel. Nothing was to much trouble, and was done with pleasure. our room was beautiful, it had two windows, my favourite being the bay one with leather sofa, we were quite happy to sit here the whole time and watch the world go by, it was so relaxing. The beautiful ornate bed was so comfy that i did not want to get out in the morning, so it was a good job that breakfast was served til 11am! and probably later if you requested it. The breakfast was fantastic and you never left feeling hungry, nice big plate full. i cant see anyone being disapointed when staying here, we loved it, thankyou!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bathbabe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

A refreshing change to the usual B&B. We loved the decor, a mixture of colourful artwork, modern fixtures and trendy shabby chic, combined with a prime location close to restaurants, shops, boat tours and walks. The dual aspect, from our very comfortable and spacious room, allowed us the option of either watching the waves, beach and Jurassic coastal cliffs or the fishing boats come and go from the pretty harbour - we didn't need to leave the room! One small annoyance was the noise made by the arrival of the SeaCat but we only heard this once in our 4 day stay. The breakfast choice was excellent, well presented, fresh, with local produce and delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee_thomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The team from the moment you arrive to the time you leave , are amazing. We booked in early took advantage of their parking and were greeted with smiles and welcomes. They are not too over bearing just really want you to have a perfect stay and they acheive this.
Even though there are repairs and building going on this does not stop it being one of the best run establishments that we have stayed in , when finished I have no doubt it will be one of ,if not the best in weymouth, location is fantastic and the rooms have all the right touches.
Breakfast... oh my... i am sure we could have stayed all morning eating and drinking and no one would have minded, so many options and i think for some it could be too many !
I cannot praise ALL the team enough , just a big thank you and will definately stay again.

Karl and Jo

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_and_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 166 in Weymouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 166 in Weymouth
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#25 of 166 in Weymouth
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roundhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at start of the broad sweep of Weymouth’s grand & elegant Esplanade, the Roundhouse occupies a unique position within the curved end of one of the classic terraces of Georgian townhouses which epitomise this wonderful and historic seaside resort.# The Roundhouse boasts stunning and unrivalled views over the golden sands of Weymouth Bay in front and the picturesque 17th century harbour behind from each of its superbly appointed bedrooms. Although we do not offer breakfast, the bean to cup coffee machine in the guest lounge is available 24 hours a day, serving a range of coffees and hot chocolate, and there are complimentary croissants and pastries available every morning. If you require anything more, there are several excellent cafes within walking distance of the hotel and we would be more than happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing