We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful room with lovely views”
Review of Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel
Ranked #32 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay, staff really friendly and helpfull, food excellent, every little thing was thought off. The views from both front and back windows were lovely. Will be back on our next visit to weymouth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

<Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Roundhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 413 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Sterile modern hotels have their place, but once in a while it is a welcome relief to come somewhere like this.
The Roundhouse is a small Boutique Hotel positioned right on the end of Weymouth Port, opposite the Pavilion. It has loads of atmosphere, but it is the room decor that hits you. Your first impressions might lead you to think, OMG! but the mish mash of colours, pictures and odd furniture, soon grow on you. In fact, after a while of sitting/lying on the bed, they take on an unusual form of blending and in the end you start to think, actually, this is rather nice.
Our room had two large armchairs facing a bow window that gave you the most magnificent views over Weymouth Bay. Over the other side of the room was a good sized window facing the harbour, from which you could watch the small fishing boats and leisure craft. You could even do this whilst showering in the bathroom as the window had plain glass. (and a curtain if you are shy!) Our bed was very comfortable, topped by a large fluffy duvet and there was a generous supply of tea/coffee (and even a small fridge for your wine/beers)
The Continental breakfast was served in the small but airy dining room which like the bedrooms boasted excellent views and quirky decor. A cooked English breakfast was available for a small supplement. I could go on, but all I will say further, is this. If you want something different, try here. Keith, the proprietor, is a most excellent host, both knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. He has only owned this hotel for 12 months, but is already making his mark.

Room Tip: Any of them, but go to his website (You can find it on Google) There are full descriptions and photo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Roundhouse. It was very pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I was particularly happy to read that you "get" our decor and can see what we are trying to achieve. We made a conscious decision to set ourselves apart from the traditional English seaside B&B and it's nice to know that we made the right choice. I hope that we will be able you back to the Roundhouse in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Fantastic accommodation and delicious breakfast. Friendly and helpful owner. Beautifully decorated rooms on the sea front. Very clean rooms with sea views. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay, I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Man thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and i hope we will be able to welcome you back next time you visit Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Were made very welcome and the decor is refreshing!

Very Clean and well run business.

The only issue we had was the shower in the room we stayed in was rather low, we would defiantly return and try out another room.

The cooked breakfast was superb, the best we have ever had in a B&B.

Thank you keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay - and your breakfast! I hope that we will be seeing you here again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed one night in room 1, fantastic views of esplanade from one window and the harbour
from the other window. Added bonus was having a large 3 masted sailing ship moored virtually
alongside the window!!. Room spotlessly clean, and bed was very comfortable plus hotel is
in a nice quiet location with very little traffic noise.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating a stay in Weymouth

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Whilst I cannot guarantee that there will always be a tall ship moored outside the hotel, I can certainly promise great views from all windows at all times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was my second stay this year and again it did not disappoint. We stayed in room 2 and both the room and the view were fantastic. We look forward to staying there again in the new year.
The room was very clean, spacious & well decorated. We especially liked the very sizeable sofa and the shower was great.
The continental breakfast was good and the bowl of fresh fruit that greeted us at the table was a nice touch.
Thank you Keith, see you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very pleased to read that you liked the place so much that this was a return visit. I hope that it be one of many!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed one night in the twin room in the attic. It was a large room. Very clean. Very comfortable beds. For an insomniac I slept like a log. Lovely shower. Breakfast was fresh with free range products, and even that was well presented. Thank you for making our stay lovely. Will use the Roundhouse every time we come to Weymouth and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrboobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I was particularly glad that we were able to provide you with a good night's sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
486 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#34 of 165 in Weymouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#30 of 165 in Weymouth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $100 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roundhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at start of the broad sweep of Weymouth’s grand & elegant Esplanade, the Roundhouse occupies a unique position within the curved end of one of the classic terraces of Georgian townhouses which epitomise this wonderful and historic seaside resort.# The Roundhouse boasts stunning and unrivalled views over the golden sands of Weymouth Bay in front and the picturesque 17th century harbour behind from each of its superbly appointed bedrooms. Although we do not offer breakfast, the bean to cup coffee machine in the guest lounge is available 24 hours a day, serving a range of coffees and hot chocolate, and there are complimentary croissants and pastries available every morning. If you require anything more, there are several excellent cafes within walking distance of the hotel and we would be more than happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing