We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Treat”
Review of Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel
Ranked #31 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Roundhouse booked for an overnight stay! What a lovely place! Wonderful views overlooking the harbour from the back and the beach from the front. We were greeted with a warm welcome and offered help throughout our stay whenever we needed it. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of it. The only concern was that parking cost £10 for the duration of our stay with the car being left at the Pavillion overnight. We also struggled with the lack of proper ceiling lighting and there were only small hand towels in the en suite which didn't suffice for a shower. Otherwise a super place to stay and we are happy to recommend to anyone wanting to stay somewhere a little bit special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very glad to read that on the whole your stay was an enjoyable one.

Parking is definitely at a premium in Weymouth - especially on an August weekend. It's such a shame that you didn't take advantage of one of the scratch cards that we are able to provide for the Pavilion car park - they offer a 50% saving on the pay & display price and allow 24 hour parking so you don't have to worry about running over your time.

With regard to the towels, as you rightly say there are 2 hand towels in our bathrooms - but there are also 2 bath towels and 2 bath sheets in the bedroom. Perhaps following your comments I will look and see if the housekeeping staff can make them a bit more obvious.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Roundhouse next time you are in Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I recently had our first year anniversary and to celebrate we took a break to Weymouth, staying in the Roundhouse Hotel. This is a great hotel, perfectly located with fantastic views and very friendly and accommodating staff. We would urge anybody visiting Weymouth to stay here as to do so will guarantee a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will be seeing you again before your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

managed to get last minute booking due to a cancellation, had such a lovely time from start to finish...the room was outstanding..views overlooking both the Harbour and the beach,with amazing decor..exhilerating shower....the food was brilliant..could not fault anything...Thankyou soooo very much for a much needed rest...will defo be back xxx

Room Tip: room 3 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniemaid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was very pleased t read how much you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget to call us direct next time you're in Weymouth and we'll try and get you room 3 again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of stopping at the Roundhouse whilst on business in Weymouth. I regularly visit on business and have stayed at many of the other B&B's in the area. None that i have stayed in todate have provided me with the exceptionally warm and welcoming feel that Roundhouse has with an attention to detail that sets it apart from other B&B's.

The owner is exceptionally welcoming and accommodating with the rooms providing a homely feel. Brilliant views from all rooms and a level of comfort to match.

Very well rounded establishment for those looking for a little extra to their accommodation.

My only negative is that I paid £95 for the room which only included a continental breakfast. The cooked option was an additional £7.50 which at the room rate I would of thought be included.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frontrowunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Manager at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

As mentioned previously on a response I left for another review, we made a concious decision not to include a cooked breakfast in the price of the room. Following consultation with past guests we came to the conclusion that not everybody wants a full breakfast every day and it seemed unfair to charge for something that a guest may not have.

I appreciate that our prices are a little higher than some other establishments in Weymouth, but as you suggest in your review I think at the Roundhouse you very much get what you pay for.

As you are a TripAdvisor user, might I suggest that in the future you take advantage of one of the special offers that are always available for direct bookings. The discount you could have received by booking with us directly rather than using a third party booking site would have more than covered the cost of your breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Roundhouse is right down at the Pavilion end of Weymouth Esplanade, so is ideally placed for walking around town, visiting the beach, going to a show or getting on a ferry. Our room (no 4) had great views over the seafront and the ferry dock, and we liked the quirky design features.

Keith and his team are friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to assist you enjoy your visit. I can't fault the facilities - we had everything we needed and would be happy to return on another occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse.I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I found The Roundhouse on a last minute site and when we arrived the location was perfect. The Harbour behind and the beach at the front which was just beautiful. This B & B is so perfect in every way. The continental breakfast was extremely healthy with fresh fruit, juice and lovely coffee. We only stayed one night but it was so clean and even had an ipod docking station along with the perfect views from both sides. Thanks for a lovely pit stop.

Room Tip: We had a room in the attic which was 4 flights up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I could not believe a place as unique as this place was available in Weymouth. From it's funky decor to it's fantastic seaviews this place was a pleasure to stay in.
Breakfast was fresh, appetising and had variants from fresh fruit salads to cereal or the traditional English with a twist.
If you are off to Weymouth, give this place a whirl, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Go for superior with it's dual aspect sea and beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was very pleased to read your lovely comments and I hope we will be seeing you in Weymouth again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#33 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weymouth Beach B&B
Weymouth Beach B&B
#32 of 166 in Weymouth
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pebbles
The Pebbles
#40 of 166 in Weymouth
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#25 of 166 in Weymouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $104 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roundhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at start of the broad sweep of Weymouth’s grand & elegant Esplanade, the Roundhouse occupies a unique position within the curved end of one of the classic terraces of Georgian townhouses which epitomise this wonderful and historic seaside resort.# The Roundhouse boasts stunning and unrivalled views over the golden sands of Weymouth Bay in front and the picturesque 17th century harbour behind from each of its superbly appointed bedrooms. Although we do not offer breakfast, the bean to cup coffee machine in the guest lounge is available 24 hours a day, serving a range of coffees and hot chocolate, and there are complimentary croissants and pastries available every morning. If you require anything more, there are several excellent cafes within walking distance of the hotel and we would be more than happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing