We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel
Ranked #31 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent and stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't have stayed anywhere better! The owner Keith was so friendly and happy to attend to any needs we had. We had breakfast the next day which was lovely, will be happy to return on our next night away and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmarose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    66
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
251
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Short stay for a few days. Keith the owner was most helpful, always keeping the room topped up with coffee, tea and marshmellow tea cakes! Just ask, and fresh milk was also available. Room 1 was a largish deluxe double with great views over the harbour and beach. Unusual decoration which we liked, but may not be to everyones taste! One niggle, and that is to have a full english breakfast you are charged an extra £7.00. This charge in my opinion is a little excessive, and I think should be included in the cost of the room anyway. Very enjoyable stay and and can be fully recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it is always interesting to read feedback from our guests.
We decided not to include a cooked breakfast in the room rate following consultation with a number of previous guests. We reached the conclusion that not everyone wants a cooked breakfast every day - as an example, while you had the full English on each morning, your wife didn't - and it seemed unfair to charge everyone for something that may not be wanted. This decision has been reflected in our room rates which are actually considerably lower than last year.
Our cooked breakfast includes sausages, bacon and black pudding which are all from hand reared local pork, free range eggs from Dorset chickens and organically grown tomatoes.
While I am happy to accept that there are cheaper breakfasts to be had in Weymouth (and as we don't include the cooked breakfast in the room rate, our guests have the freedom to choose) I don't believe that in this case cheaper necessarily means better value for money.
Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Roundhouse.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here as a family group for two nights and had a great time!

We had three rooms (2, 4 and 6)... All were extremely well appointed and very comfortable. All rooms are individually decorated with stylish furnishings and had ample hanging space and drawers, bathrooms had toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and shower gel), and the room had a hairdryer and tea coffee supplies. The wi-fi worked well and the bed was unbelievably comfortable!

Keith, the owner was there to meet us and was very welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much to ask.

Breakfast was great: Cereals, toast, warm croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit and juice, with a full English option available.

A great place to stay, better than any others on the esplanade - Thank you!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have great big bay windows overlooking the bay, room 4 has a fab shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaurusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. i was really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Myself the wife and our 4 month old baby stayed here for 2 nights. And I could not fault the place. We arrived late after a long journey thanks to road works on M5 yet was constantly reassured by owner it was fine and not to worry and was greated pleasntly by a helpful owner.
I would stay here again and recommend to everyone.
It was like a home from home very relaxed and welcoming
Location couldn't be better at the end of esplanade away from bars perfect view of the cove beach line out the front window and clear green water out of the back window where there is an array of boats
The rooms are large and comfortable with everything you could need. And the decor is unique to say the least but perfect.
Out of all the b&b's I have seen here this one ia by far the best

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de-Courcyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. It was great to read your comments - I was especially pleased that you liked our decor as you were the first guest in that room since we re-decorated - I'm glad that we picked a colour scheme that worked!
I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Weymouth.
Best regards
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this charming hotel for one night with my elderly mother. The owner was friendly and welcoming. Our twin room had views of the beach to the front and the harbour to the rear. What really makes this guest house stand out from the crowd is the stylish interior of the rooms and the personal touches in the rooms. Small things which make a difference. Continental breakfast was delicious. Cannot fault anything, ( and I am very fussy), this accommodation is well worth trying. Fascinating building too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse, and many thanks for your lovely comments.
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Best regards
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. It shares the same facade as the other B&B on the Esplanade but there the comparison stops. Keith is attentive and nothing is too much trouble - in short he brings real professionalism to his business but makes it personal too. We arrived very late on a Friday and he was waiting for us and made sure we were settled in - thank you! He even booked a restaurant for us which also turned out to be a real gem and suited us very well - and all on the skimpiest of info about what was wanted. This really felt more like a Boutique Hotel than a B&B. You've got to try Room 2 which offers view of both the beachfront and the Old Harbour. The room was spotless and quiet and very comfortable. The cooked breakfast is marvellous. Clearly top notch quality ingredients and nicely presented in a stylish breakfast room. All in all an excellent stay and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is very comfortable with excellent views. You feel connected to Weymouth but enjoy quiet sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Roundhouse - and what a wonderful review! As mentioned previously, this is a new venture for us, so it is great to hear that what we are doing is appreciated.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I would recommend staying here if you're visiting Weymouth. It's a perfect location with the sea bay in front and the old harbour behind so a beautiful view all round. Our room was wonderful, it's decorated and furnished to a high standard and the owners were really welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Weymouth soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#48 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#8 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#28 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel

Property: Roundhouse Hotel
Address: 1 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roundhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at start of the broad sweep of Weymouth’s grand & elegant Esplanade, the Roundhouse occupies a unique position within the curved end of one of the classic terraces of Georgian townhouses which epitomise this wonderful and historic seaside resort.# The Roundhouse boasts stunning and unrivalled views over the golden sands of Weymouth Bay in front and the picturesque 17th century harbour behind from each of its superbly appointed bedrooms. Although we do not offer breakfast, the bean to cup coffee machine in the guest lounge is available 24 hours a day, serving a range of coffees and hot chocolate, and there are complimentary croissants and pastries available every morning. If you require anything more, there are several excellent cafes within walking distance of the hotel and we would be more than happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing