We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Weymouth!”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage
Ranked #60 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having booked a last minute 2 day break so that my mother could come back down to Dorset/Weymouth to reminisce and visit the locality again, I was so lucky to have booked at 'The Anchorage'. Undoubtedly one of the greatest locations in Weymouth, this guest house enjoys full panoramic views of the entire weymouth sea front, and to the rear, fantastic views of the quaint little harbour complete with 3 masted ship. Parking was easy with a permit supplied by the hosts, the beach is literally 15 secs out of the front door. Diane & Michael made me and my mother very welcome and gave us loads advice. The full english breakfast was one of the best I've ever tasted and was served piping hot with toast. I will definitely re-visit and would recommend others do so to.

Room Tip: All rooms enjoy fantastic views, depends on wether you'd like to see the panoramic weymouth beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fantastic location overlooking the beach while still close to harbour and town centre - best place indeed. Dogs welcome in the rooms. Delicious custom made full English breakfast, every individual wish fulfilled, too! Lovely hosts who always have time for a chat and who give excellent advice what to do and where to go. Never felt so welcome on a weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for beach/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

just the perfect location for a beach holiday, rooms overlooking the beach and harbour. The rooms were a good size and clean. Michael and Diane are very welcoming hosts an made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were the best we have had in Weymouth and more than enough for us. All in all a very welcoming, freindly and comfortble guest house. We will be back and would definately recommend to all our family, friends and readers.

Room Tip: We preferred the beach views but the harbour views are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The best location in Weymouth. Views of both the excellent beach and harbour all in one package. Diane and Michael made the three generations of our family very welcome in their friendly and comfortable guesthouse. We will definately be returning and the sooner the better for us.

Malc and Sue H

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Malc_Sue_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi Malc and Sue, thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay and we are glad you all enjoyed yourselves on your holiday. I think 'scrappy' enjoyed the attention from your grandchildren as much as they enjoyed playing with him. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Such a prefect location overlooking the sea and the harbour right behide. A lovely B&B with good size family rooms and a good breakfast in the morning. The owners made us feel very welcome, specially their family dog with our children. We would defiantly go back one day and we would recommend this B&B to families looking for a beach base break in Weymouth. Came home very happy :)))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi Mandy, thank you for your review. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Superb accommodation,made very welcome by Diane and Michael. Rooms spotless as normal.
Breakfast was superb and cooked to order.
This was our second visit to the Anchorage and it certainly wont be our last.
In fact booking again for next year and counting the days

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent accommodation, ticked all the boxes. Very welcoming and friendly hosts,nothing too much trouble, made you feel at home as soon as you arrived. Room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was exceptional definitely hits the spot. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi Les, thank you for your review. We always try to make our guests welcome and happy that we suceeded, we are also happy that you enjoyed your breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
The Chatsworth
The Chatsworth
#59 of 166 in Weymouth
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Guest House
The Ocean Guest House
#58 of 166 in Weymouth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#67 of 166 in Weymouth
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#54 of 166 in Weymouth
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#27 of 166 in Weymouth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $96 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a family-run guesthouse offering a comfortable and relaxing stay. Situated just a 'stones throw' from both the golden sands of Weymouth beach and the picturesque 17th-century harbour. Perfectly located by the Condor ferry terminal and the Pavilion Theatre. Just a few minutes walk will see you in the town centre with its many pubs, restaurants, major shopping outlets and other attractions. Come and enjoy a relaxing stress-free stay with us in one of the best locations in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing