We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice homely and great location ...”
Review of Hotel Mon Ami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mon Ami
Ranked #160 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

short stay in Aug 2013 ..couldnt recommend this hotel more, perfect location close to beach , very friendly staff , prob geared for older people, but i have 7 yr old twins soo we were at beach most of the day and was perfect for us ..also short walk to town and harbour area, ...i made the mistake of leaving clothes behind in a drawer at the room ..and staff very kindly posted them on to me ...lovely cooked breakfast , and the staff had information of places to eat and visit all round very good value and will be returning again :) ..

Room Tip: we had a family room with sea view room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Was made to feel like we were disturbing the regulars. Rooms are dated, no hot water in shower. Bar man was nice tho.
Cleaners were nice. Owner was a little rude when going for breakfast. Told to go at 9 one day and we had to wait so went early the next and told "I told u not to be here till 9" won't be staying again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelleludford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

August bank holiday 2013 had a family room with a good sea view & plenty of room for 4 people though room could have been cleaned better felt the cleaning was done with no thought one of our cups was stained & they put a few tea bags on a saucer rather than the usual hygienic ones in a wrapper no biscuits just a few sachets of coffee & sugar breakfast was not good soggy hash brown & stuck together bacon egg cheap sausage beans or tomatoes the place was a bit like an old folks home didn't see much staff around whenever we were in but car parking was good & organised expected slightly more for what we paid overall

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we were booked into the mon ami,but because of overcrowding we were put into the the marina court hotel next door,didnt we thank our lucky stars,such a beautiful hotel,so clean and well decorated ,the owners and staff were lovely .the breakfast was everything you could ask for and more ,
our evening meal was in the mon ami ,the food left a lot to be desired, would never book this hotel again such a dingy looking place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tygwynisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in this seaside hotel (room 205) good location for the beach and about 10 minutes from the town. Decor is dated. The narrow lift holds three people only and creaks. The en suite bedroom was also narrow for a twin bed room. Twin beds. Headboards were against the outside wall with a small bedside cabinet between the beds under the sash windown overlooking the prom. The sides of the beds were againt the interior walls. Beds were comfortable enough but creaked badly when getting in and out. The bathroom had a non power shower where the water temperature varied. A 'hairdressers trolly' on one side of the sink provided space for toiletries with a small towel rail at the other side.
The basement breakfast room was cramped. On entering the breakfast room cereals were in dishes to help yourself. Also a choice of grapefruit segments and prunes and juices. The breakfast menu was a full english breakfast or eggs done in a variety of ways. I had a full english breakfast on the first day of our stay. Two slices of bacon came stuck together and with white residue on top. I ate cereals and grapefruit for the rest of the week. The orange juice tasted like flavoured water. One rack of toast between four people. Asked for more but this didn't arrive. 1st evening meal was of breaded place. The thinest fish I have seen! Salad the following evening consisted of a slice of rolled ham, shredded lettuce, half a tomato, two slices of dry cucumber and coleslaw plus boiled potoatoes. We ate out for the rest of the week and after breakfast went to one of the promenade cafes for tea and toast!. I would not stay at this hotel again unless it vastly improved.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise if at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nighthawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had the family room for 2 nights, and our stay was dreadful, the staff were friendly enough and the chap that greeted us on our first day was extremely courteous sorry can't remember his name. He did advise us that they had a coach party in at the time and they all got down to breakfast early so they could go out on day trips and it would be better if we came down to breakfast a little later, bearing in mind breakfast was between 08.30 and 09.15, not very long, so we came down at 08.50 just to be told that there were no available tables and could we wait in the bar and they would call us!!! We then had the dregs of what was left. So the next morning we thought we would go down earlier, only to find all the tables had room numbers on apart from us, there was no table with our number on, so we were shown to another table, which belonged to someone else, they then turned up found us sitting on their table and we were mad e to feel in the way, we had to ask for toast and tea, which all the other tables were given automatically, to say we felt unwelcome was an understatement, yet we paid the same as everyone else for breakfast, couldn't wait to leave. We had room number one, which was okay but above the bar area, so we couldn't sleep until the awful racket of a singer had packed up and left, the noise from the traffic outside was also horrendous, the beds so uncomfortable, with only one pillow each which was so thin you might as well of not bothered, this is a very outdated hotel which needs a major facelift, all the tables in the bar area were so sticky if you rested your arm on it, it took the hairs off when you went to move, slight exaggeration, but still, a damp cloth would have been welcome, sorry for a bad review, but I am glad to be home.

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the hotel is very dated, the bedrooms small the shower had black mould on the tiles the floors creaked very loudly the bed in the next bedroom must have been against the wall so every movement was transmitted through the partition wall.
the food was not brilliant rather bland in fact the hotel overall was clean but the towels should be replaced more regular
the reception is non existing if you need to speak to anyone of the staff you had to ring a bell and wait for someone to come , the bar was the same.
entertainment was below par

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phmanu14650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#8 of 166 in Weymouth
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#42 of 166 in Weymouth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mon Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mon Ami

Address: 143/145 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $57 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mon Ami 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Mon Ami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mon Ami Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing