We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional seaside hotel”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #143 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Traditional seaside hotel”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Stayed for three nights recently as part of a Leisuretime (South Wales) tour group. This is a typical seaside hotel that caters for mostly pensioners and I found it, generally adequate for my needs. My single room had a comfortable bed, the bathroom area was quite small and the tea/coffee facilities not over generous! Have to say the meals were well cooked and delicious and the waiting staff friendly and helpful. The cabaret acts, although not to my taste, were of a better standard than those found in many similar hotels. Overall, staying at The Berkeley was a goodish, value for money experience and I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    28
    15
    18
See reviews for
16
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very impressed with this little gem! brilliant location right on the seafront and we had a sea view so that was a bonus. the food was great with good choices , you ordered your evening meal at breakfast so it was all ready almost as soon as you sat down in the dining room. We found the bar prices good , the entertainment was OK more for oldies but we discovered a good old traditional pub called The Sun Inn Kings Street with good entertainment on Sat night and sun afternoon .
Weymouth is alovely seaside town for all ages , nice shops and plenty of bars atea rooms and selection of restuarants , /we will go again for sure

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliza2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for Easter 2010. We found the hotel very friendly, clean, attractive with newly refurbished rooms.
Our room had a sea view and was very comfortable. The food in the hotel was exellent, there were enough choices and it was very well presented. There was entertainment every evening with a quiz and bingo, which was very popular, with our coach party. The prices in the bar were reasonable, not the usual high hotel prices.
The only criticism we had was that there was no quiet lounge, where you could take a drink from the bar, to sit for the evening.
We found the location on the sea front ideal, a short walk to the town centre.
All in all, this is an ideal hotel, for a weekend break or short holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctumbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

After trying unsuccessfully to find any reviews of this little gem, I admit I did panic when all I could find were some newspaper stories of disgruntled pensioners staying here!!
My 13 year old daughter and I stayed here with a coach party of , I must say, mostly pensioners but I can only find words of praise.

The hotel is in a great location on the sea front at Weymouth, which really is an old fashioned British seaside resort. It is convenient to the train station from where we travelled 4 stops to Wool station and then a short taxi ride to the fantastic Monkey World.
The public transport is great and again local busses stop nearby and there is also the land train along the front which can take you in a few minutes to the Weymouth Sea Life Centre. Try and get some cut price entry tickets if you can as it is £17 entry .

Back to the hotel...I have not found another small family run hotel which is so well cared for. You would be very hard pressed to find a speck of dust or a chip out of any paintwork. The friendly owners really take pride in their hotel and can usually be found cooking or hosting the evening entertainment. This was normally a fun quiz, a short bingo session followed by a professional act in the lounge bar.We enjoyed the early evening entertainment, and believe me we never play bingo at home!!
All the staff were polite, friendly and proffesional, all smiling and generally happy which in itself is nothing short of a miracle in most British resorts. This must be a reflection of a good management team. The room was bright and comfortable.

The meal arrangements..... I am the first to admit I was a little taken back on arrival to find fixed meal times 6pm for Dinner and 8.30am for Breakfast. Meal choices also have to be ordered in advance. However, this system works like a dream! The food is hot, fresh and very tasty with no worries about anything in particular not being available . We soon got into the swing of things.

We were very lucky as the weather was sunny except for one afternoon of rain. There are plenty of shops and the whole resort is being spruced up as it is to be used as one of the main venues for the 2010 London Olympics. Should you be in need of some wet weather entertainment , venture to the old harbour and Brewers Quay. It is on the site of an old brewery and now home to a great selection of small shops and also the Time Walk which is a story of Weymouth's history told by walking through a series of historical scenes it was very enjoyable and we learnt a lot! The tour also takes you through the remains of the old brewery with a chance to taste some of the original ales brewed there. There are also plenty of cafes and small restaurants in and around the building.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our week , and found the locals very friendly and helpful especially as the Tourist Information Centre on the seafront seemed to keep some rather erratic opening hours.Local busses can also take you to nearby Abbottsbury village to the swannery, childrens farm and sub tropical gardens or to Lyme Regis or Poole.

Try a stay in Weymouth and indeed at the Berkeley, go with an open mind and you will be surprised how much you will enjoy a British break there. We would most certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank franklynalouishus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#42 of 165 in Weymouth
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weymouth Beach B&B
Weymouth Beach B&B
#29 of 165 in Weymouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
#94 of 165 in Weymouth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 127-129 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing