We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harlequin Guest House
Ranked #79 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

we stayed there on an overnight to catch the ferry early next day for CI. given tea and biscuits when we arrived at 4pm, and given advice on eating places near by, we chose the Park Hotel(pub) 500yds which was excellent, we had continental breakfast which was fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    41
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
63
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Mike was a wonderful host who made us feel very welcome. The room was spacious, clean and the best hospitality tray we've ever had. Breakfast was excellent and even filled my hubby up and that is no mean feat! The location is a pleasant five minute walk from the seafront and an easy, flat walk into town. We will definitely stop there in the future should we visit Weymouth again. 11/10! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachandmike_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This was our second stay at the Harlequin. We had different rooms to our previous stay and once again we couldn't fault this guest house. Mike (the owner) was, as always very friendly and helpful. As usual, the breakfast was excellent and despite the place being quite full, was served up promptly. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed - however the TV's in our rooms have seen better days and the freeview boxes are temperamental, but this was explained to us by Mike, who has to be admired for his honesty!
I have some concerns over parking, we were lucky that we managed to park outside on each night of our stay, but if parking outside isn't possible, you could have a problem trying to find parking near by - however this is an issue with many guest houses in Weymouth and is not unique to the Harlequin.
When looking for accommodation in Weymouth, the Harlequin will always be my first choice. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The Harlequin Guest House, was very clean, with good on suite factilitates.
Also the room had a T.V. Free view service, plus a DVD player and provided free dvd or video tapes of films for you to watch on your room t.v.
Breakfast was frestly cooled and offer several options.
Highly recommend this 4* guest house.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tredcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langley, berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Very comfortable stay. The owner very friendly, very welcoming. Set a couple of roads back from the seafront so parking no problem at all (less than 5 minutes walk to the seafront) Very quiet. Breakfast fine. Very good value for money. Rooms more than adequate. Nice and clean, well stocked tea tray. Clean bathroom.. Would recommend as a great value, friendly guest house in weymouth

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a friendly place where we were made to feel very welcome. Would not hesitate to recommend this nice guest house with lovely owners who want to do their best for their guests. Lovely venue, .lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancyTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2010

With such great reviews we felt we were in for a treat. On arriving we were given a welcome pot of coffee and our anticipation rose. We booked a double en-suite, however we were given room 2. A dated family room with three beds. The en-suite bathroom was very small and the door would not close. The shower cubicle door had to be pushed hard and made an awful crunching noise. Our sleep was disturbed with the sounds of running water in the night. Breakfast was not that special and was prepared in a haphazard way with a lot of waiting around. The television free view box had to be switched on and off at the plug to work and the beds were not made properly. We have stayed in many B&B's and this was the worst. We were glad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here,
We are even more sorry that you did not express any of your concerns whilst you were here as we could have tried to help make your stay better.Once you have gone there is nothing that we can do.We really want all of our guests to enjoy this rather nice guest house and work very hard to make sure that they do.

Please will prospective guests read all of our other reviews to put this one into context.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stanley Guest House
The Stanley Guest House
#25 of 165 in Weymouth
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#47 of 165 in Weymouth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seacrest Guest House
Seacrest Guest House
#88 of 165 in Weymouth
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#63 of 165 in Weymouth
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Guest House

Property: Harlequin Guest House
Address: 9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value Four Star Guest House in a pleasant Victorian house with spacious well appointed rooms. Free off road parking for up to five cars. Free WiFi. Particularly suited to families but also catering for couples and single guests in en suite rooms.The largest Family Room can accommodate up to five guests and has a private bathroom next door to it and for exclusive use of its occupants. We do not cater for groups of single sex party animals or for stag or hen nights. Just five minutes walk from the superb beach and ten minutes from town. Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Weymouth is an ideal base for family seaside holidays and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and villages.Weymouth is ideal for walkers,climbers,water sports enthusiasts and bird enthusiasts. Within easy travelling distance local trading estates. Business travellers welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harlequin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlequin Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Harlequin Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing