We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top marks again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harlequin Guest House
Ranked #85 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This was our second stay at the Harlequin. We had different rooms to our previous stay and once again we couldn't fault this guest house. Mike (the owner) was, as always very friendly and helpful. As usual, the breakfast was excellent and despite the place being quite full, was served up promptly. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed - however the TV's in our rooms have seen better days and the freeview boxes are temperamental, but this was explained to us by Mike, who has to be admired for his honesty!
I have some concerns over parking, we were lucky that we managed to park outside on each night of our stay, but if parking outside isn't possible, you could have a problem trying to find parking near by - however this is an issue with many guest houses in Weymouth and is not unique to the Harlequin.
When looking for accommodation in Weymouth, the Harlequin will always be my first choice. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

The Harlequin Guest House, was very clean, with good on suite factilitates.
Also the room had a T.V. Free view service, plus a DVD player and provided free dvd or video tapes of films for you to watch on your room t.v.
Breakfast was frestly cooled and offer several options.
Highly recommend this 4* guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tredcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Very comfortable stay. The owner very friendly, very welcoming. Set a couple of roads back from the seafront so parking no problem at all (less than 5 minutes walk to the seafront) Very quiet. Breakfast fine. Very good value for money. Rooms more than adequate. Nice and clean, well stocked tea tray. Clean bathroom.. Would recommend as a great value, friendly guest house in weymouth

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a friendly place where we were made to feel very welcome. Would not hesitate to recommend this nice guest house with lovely owners who want to do their best for their guests. Lovely venue, .lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancyTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

With such great reviews we felt we were in for a treat. On arriving we were given a welcome pot of coffee and our anticipation rose. We booked a double en-suite, however we were given room 2. A dated family room with three beds. The en-suite bathroom was very small and the door would not close. The shower cubicle door had to be pushed hard and made an awful crunching noise. Our sleep was disturbed with the sounds of running water in the night. Breakfast was not that special and was prepared in a haphazard way with a lot of waiting around. The television free view box had to be switched on and off at the plug to work and the beds were not made properly. We have stayed in many B&B's and this was the worst. We were glad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here,
We are even more sorry that you did not express any of your concerns whilst you were here as we could have tried to help make your stay better.Once you have gone there is nothing that we can do.We really want all of our guests to enjoy this rather nice guest house and work very hard to make sure that they do.

Please will prospective guests read all of our other reviews to put this one into context.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

friendly owner .clean and tidy rooms .very helpfull as well spacious rooms well appoint ed.bathrooms with shower which worked .good choice for breakfeast in the morning .and not rushed .just so. only very small problem was the tv in the room .it was a bit diffcult to use but once you got to hang off it was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AltonPetrolpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We came as a family of six including a five year old and an 18 month old and after 4 hours on the road we were pleasantly greated by Mike with tea, coffee and biscuits.. He interacted with the kids straight away and gave them books and toys to play with.. He carried our luggage to our rooms and put a travel cot in my room for my Daughter within minutes of being there.. Our rooms had tea and coffee making facilities, tv with freeview (which made Jade and Ellie Mai happy because they could watch Cbeebies in the morning), d.v.d and video player with a choice of d.v.d's and videos and an en-suite bathroom.. There was a large choice for breakfast including cereals, toast, fruit and a full english breakfast.. The B&B is only a ten minute walk from all amenities.. The staff are pleasant and friendly and only to happy to help.. We went out during the day and if we needed to go back for a rest, we wasn't restricted which was ideal with young children.. We really enjoyed our stay and will definatly return in the future.. I've also recommended the B&B through Facebook (so the whole world knows now Mike).. Thanks for a lovely stay and for all of your help and hospitality.. Jade is always talking about the holiday and can't wait to go back.. You must be doing something right, as you know she's a fussy child haha!!.. Thanks again.. See you in the future.. Elaine, Pete, Jen, Laura, Jade and Ellie Mai.. x

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_EllieMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#144 of 166 in Weymouth
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 166 in Weymouth
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#2 of 166 in Weymouth
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#28 of 166 in Weymouth
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Guest House

Address: 9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $61 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value Four Star Guest House in a pleasant Victorian house with spacious well appointed rooms. Free off road parking for up to five cars. Free WiFi. Particularly suited to families but also catering for couples and single guests in en suite rooms.The largest Family Room can accommodate up to five guests and has a private bathroom next door to it and for exclusive use of its occupants. We do not cater for groups of single sex party animals or for stag or hen nights. Just five minutes walk from the superb beach and ten minutes from town. Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Weymouth is an ideal base for family seaside holidays and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and villages.Weymouth is ideal for walkers,climbers,water sports enthusiasts and bird enthusiasts. Within easy travelling distance local trading estates. Business travellers welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harlequin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlequin Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Harlequin Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing