We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #102 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Ringwood, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

On arrival we were greeted pleasantly and had a nice chat with the food owner. We were shown our room which was up in the roof a first time for my wife in an English pub. The room was comfortable and well furnished if not slightly dated. The down side was we had to share a toilet and the shower was down the hall.

Room Tip: If you are aged ask for downstairs room. The stairs are hard work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A pleasant stay, marred by my car being vandalised, whilst spent overnight in hotel car park.The car park has a sign stating that the hotel do not accept responsibilty for damage incurred. I therefore did not inform the owners of the damage,as it seemed pretty pointless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwiseUk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

had a nice stay in the oak only draw back is they don"t do evening meals so its a walk to the town or a takeaway don"t drive in to town it will cost you £1.60 for 1 hour or £7 all day free car park at the oak. we had our dog with us and he was made at home with jane"s two dogs, we booked for 5 nights but we had to get back home after 4 so jane did give us £30 back which was good of her. will go back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were recommended this place by friends who'd stayed here previously and weren't disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean, light and airy with the little touches needed to make the stay comfortable without being OTT. The people were friendly and in a positive way, just handed over the keys and let us do our own thing with no intrusion. They also serve breakfast til 12, which we confess we didn't take advantage of, but still counts as a positive.
Nice and quiet with a friendly local pub with pool table and darts (if that's your thing), it ticks all the boxes if you just want somewhere to chill and not feel like you're putting anyone out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gruffster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stayed here for one night on the 11th of july after having a terrible time camping about 5 miles away. we finally found somewhere that had a vacancy, we arrived about quarter to 9 and instantly loved it.
the pub ia gorgeous, low ceilings, so warm and welcoming and the girl behind the bar was lovely.
when we were shown to our room i had to double check it was only £60 as it was SO spacious, airy and warm.
it was also very clean, and the beds were the comfiest and we didn't want to leave!
the breakfast was really good. we both had what we would call a full english, just without mushrooms and tomatoes and it was an extra £10 which is about quarter of the price you would pay anywhere else if it wasn't offered here.
would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekeebrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My young son and I recently spent two nights at the Royal Oak.
We occupied one of the larger rooms in the converted building at the rear of the pub.The room was clean well furnished and quietly located as requested,the only omission being the lack of a hairdryer which should be pretty standard these days.The pub itself is pretty basic with not much evidence of evening meals (apart from toasties).Breakfast is offered as an extra if required.We did not partake and so cannot comment.The staff and proprietor we found to be both welcoming and helpful.There is a residents car park to the rear which can accommodate up to about four vehicles.Larger vehicles could well find it a bit of a squeeze!
In my opinion the Royal Oak is a good base to work from as the rooms are of good quality.However the pub itself is pretty limited in what it has to offer and so perhaps best plan to eat out as we did.
I would be happy to make a return visit knowing what to expect and if just looking for a good room for the night.

Room Tip: If looking for a quiet room request one to the rear of the pub located away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for one night in a double room for £55 plus £5 each for a full english breakfast. When we arrived outside the pub we we're a little aprehensive with our choice as from the outside it looked like your typical local, but once we walked through the pub and was shown our room we were very pleased. Our room was on the ground floor just off the courtyard, the bed was very big and comfortable, the room had a wardrobe, 2 bedside tables, a fan, hairdryer, radiator and the ensuite was very clean and tidy which consisted of toilet sink and shower ( only downfall was low pressure on the shower). The accomodation is a 10 minute walk into town and beaches a very nice walk or there is a bus stop right outside the pub. Jayne is a lovely host and she will answer any questions you have and is always on hand for any help you might need. Would definately stay again had a lovely weekend, thanks jayne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
7.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.3 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#59 of 165 in Weymouth
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
0.6 mi away
Twin Palms Guest House
Twin Palms Guest House
#112 of 165 in Weymouth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: 52 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing