We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised, beautiful location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pebble Bank Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pebble Bank Caravan Park
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised, beautiful location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

After reading the mixed feedback we were a little apprehensive at what we might find when arriving at Pebble Bank, but after a lovely two night stay we felt compelled to say please ignore the bad reviews!!! The location is stunning, so peaceful and calm with the panoramic views. I think its a bonus that there are no set pitches, the camping area is to the back of the caravan site, which we thought had even better views. The showers were modern and free, they work on a sensor and you can't control the temperature so this could be a problem for some but they were clean and warm. The loo block had a socket point, handy for a hairdryer. There is a tesco express just under a mile away and Weymouth town is also a short drive away. There was a bar on the site open in the evenings, can't comment on that as we didn't use this. My only criticism would be the £20 per night charge as it is a small site, however this seemed to be the average for many sites this year we looked at (New Forest).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    8
    14
    8
See reviews for
40
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Ignore the poor reviews for this site, they are out of date.

Pebble Beach is in a stunning location overlooking Chisel Beach and the Weymouth bay area. The staff were friendly on arrival and we quickly found the camping field. Despite the site being full for the bank holiday weekend they hadn't overcrowded the field. The shower facilities had been recently renovated and you do not have to pay to use them. They were cleaned a couple of times a day however during such a busy period they could have benefited from being done at more regular intervals. That said, they never got really bad . It should be noted that the wash block is a fair walk down a slope from the camping field. No big deal for us but worth noting.

The site is located 5 or so mins drive from the lively Weymouth town centre. About £5 in a taxi.

There is a small bar on site serving the usual selection at reasonable prices. The night I was there had a singer in. The trouble was that the sound was so loud that it made it impossible to have a conversation or order a drink without straining to hear or be heard. Whist live background entertainment is always welcome this chap seemed to think he was playing gig to fans when he really wasn't.

Overall I was really impressed with this site, it's beautiful location and friendly atmosphere make it one of the nicest camp sites I've stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JETHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Very positive stay. New shower / toilet block, Very quiet, very nice people sharing camp site, very pleasant people on reception.

I am a birdwatcher and campsite perfectly situated for getting around the Bill, Ferrybridge, radipole, Lodmoor, Tesco extra just up the road for cheap food/drinks.

Brought my dog with me, very dog friendly with a walk just down the road.

Lovely views. Not a place for people after " night life " but very pleasant in deed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newportnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

I'd like to second the first reviewers comments regarding this caravan park. The receptionist is rude and unwelcoming, the toilets were filthy, as was the launderette (comprising one ancient washing machine and one dryer for the WHOLE site - walls and ceiling covered in cobwebs and dead insects) The site is miles away from the town centre (it's closeness to the town was one of reasons we chose it as one of our party has mobility problems) so had to pay £12 in taxis every day as i never saw a bus go past the whole time i was there. The beach is also impossible to get to if you have mobility problems as it is down a very steep road - which was not mentioned in the literature. Caravan was £200 more than i usually pay - and very definitely not worth it !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweet-violets76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

What a joke pebble bank touring park weymouth!!!!!!!! how can they call it a camp site it was just a field at the end of a cavern park. On the website it said camping field with marked out pitches ha ha wat a joke the lady at reception was so rude she said place your tent where ever there is a space and trust me there wasnt much space for any ents at all.The toilet bloke was absoluty disgusting the toilets were filthy dirty and never seen a cleaner the whole time i was there for, the showers wasnt much better thats if they worked one minute the water was boiling hot the next minute they were freezing cold. the site just didnt have the basic facilities please dont be mistaken for the website pictures. never be going back to that site ever again.

Helpful?
5 Thank BristolMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
3.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chesil Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebble Bank Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble Bank Caravan Park

Property: Pebble Bank Caravan Park
Address: 90 Camp Road | Wyke Regis, Weymouth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Pebble Bank Caravan Park Hotel Weymouth
Pebble Bank Caravan Park Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing