We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a high standard”

Marlboro Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Weymouth Award Winning Fish & Chip Restaurant & Take Away situated conveniently on the Town Bridge in Weymouth, a stones throw away from the picturesque harbour and a short distance from the award winning beach. Serves traditional Fish & Chips Fayre as well as a varied complimentary menu.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always a high standard”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We always have fish and chips here when we are in Weymouth, and it is always consistently good. Look forward to are next visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    234
    62
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Simpley the Best”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

You want Fish & Chips?
Here everything is cooked to order and by far the best we have ever experienced.
Eat in or Takeaway........ your choice but fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampshireChristiaan-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review which speaks for itself and ratifies my response to the previous review. Please visit again soon. We obviously value all customer reviews and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality of fish was variable.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate in the comfortable and well sited restaurant just by the harbour bridge. We had previously popped in and asked if they had skate as it was not on the menu. We were delighted to find that it was available and said that we would be back in an hour. When we returned we were remembered by the friendly staff. My wife enjoyed her skate and chips but mine was not good as it was very dry and somewhat overlooked. The chips were to our liking and the batter was crisp and tasty. The portions were large and good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you didn't feel one of your Skate Wings were up to scratch. Hopefully we can improve on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very average unfortunately....”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had haddock and chips, unfortunately there was skin on the fish, why couldn't they ask whether I wanted skin on or skinless?...and the chips were just fried frozen crinkle chips...batter was a bit over oily/soggy too signalling to me that maybe the oil wasnt hot enough or the batter had been made up too thick, it wasnt because i visited at a busy time either, the restaurant and takeaway part were both quite empty. very surprised as this place has some quite good reviews, I was fairly disappointed by the experience, just because Hugh fearnley whittingstall and jedward have visited there once it doesn't make it anything special! And Mr whittingstall was only there to try and make them and others stock mackerel because of dwindling cod stocks in the oceans. I recommend people go to seachef instead. I do agree I am a bit of a fish and chip aficionado, but honest this wasn't very good, I'm being nice giving this an average score. Shame

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LOE997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Standard does change”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Standard does change from Friday to Saturday nights
Friday nights is the best
Saturday tends to be less chips or salad

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Llewellyn-Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. You are of course entitled to your opinion however we strive to provide consistency on portion sizes, quality and quantity seven days a week, 51 weeks of the year. Friday & Saturday Nights are of course our busiest nights of the week in general. This of course could have been due to a mistake, please in future ask the person serving you if you feel that something is amiss. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlboro Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Marlboro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing