We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best fish & chips in the world!”

Marlboro Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 287 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Weymouth Award Winning Fish & Chip Restaurant & Take Away situated conveniently on the Town Bridge in Weymouth, a stones throw away from the picturesque harbour and a short distance from the award winning beach. Serves traditional Fish & Chips Fayre as well as a varied complimentary menu.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The title says it all. I've had fish & chips in towns, cities and seaside resorts all around the country and a good few places around the world but none come close to those served at the Marlboro. It's worth a visit to Weymouth alone. Not the cheapest but without doubt something to try before you die.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Wow don't know what to say, cant really have a better review than best in the world. Just a note on price, our prices are comparable if not cheaper than our competitors locally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for Marlboro Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 703 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

great menu really varied for a fish and chip restaurant. the service was great and nothing was too much trouble. would definitely recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrs_Chilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review, we strive to continue to offer the best service and food possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

l have had many fish & chips from the Marlboro Restaurant you just can't get any better their portions are good & the food cooked to order my favourite is their fishcakes they are really fishy & you can taste the pepper in them delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad you enjoy our homemade fishcakes. Hopefully we can impress further on your next visit and earn a maximum rated review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

As a passer-by I did not have the chance of tasting many things.. I went straight for the tampura fried mackerel and wow, what a fuelling stuff is this! Fried straight on, it was an absolute revelation!
I would go for a more standard cod next time, the real field on which fair comparison with other chippies can be made..
Chips were good too.

Thank Naturalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. Mackerel is still very popular following Hugh's fish fight back in 2010. It is cooked to order and only takes a few minutes. Please do return and sample our cod next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Being local we have often visited the Marlborough but our last one was marred by two things, they now charge (extortionately) for mushy peas and the tartar sauce comes in a small dish rather than a sachets. Otherwise their usual high standard of fish and chips as usual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank KevinJones744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. In response to some of the points raised, we have only been supplying tartare sauce in pots on the table recently as our supplier has been unable to supply the usual sachets. Also I think you may be mistaken regarding the mushy peas, or confused with another establishment. We have thoughout our 40 year history charged for mushy peas as a side order. I have checked the websites of our competitors and our price is comparable, if not cheaper than all the other fish and chip shops in the area?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlboro Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Marlboro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing