We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value for money”

Marlboro Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 287 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Weymouth Award Winning Fish & Chip Restaurant & Take Away situated conveniently on the Town Bridge in Weymouth, a stones throw away from the picturesque harbour and a short distance from the award winning beach. Serves traditional Fish & Chips Fayre as well as a varied complimentary menu.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Went on recommendation of tripadvisor but dissappointed by average fish and chips which cost £27.50 including 2 beers. Batter was thin and crispy but not flavoursome and fish (cod) didn't have fresh and full flavour either. Could easily not have been cod. Surely there are better fish and chips in Weymouth- there certainly are many other stores!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ejn1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and sorry you didn't fully enjoy your meals, however I would like to clarify a few points you have raised.

The standard fish we serve is Cod, if you ask for fish and chips this what you will get, this was also confirmed as 100% cod when checked recently in a spot check by trading standards, we can provide you a copy of the certificate on request!

We believe our prices are very competitive, if not slightly cheaper than other similar establishments in Weymouth, if you had ordered what you state in our restaurant you would have paid £20.60 2x Cod and Chips at £8.45 and 2x 270ml Lager at £1.85, even with pints of lager this would have been £24.30 not the "27.50 that you state in your review???

There are special offers available via our Facebook & Twitter pages at the moment which could have saved you a further 25% on this competitive and good value restaurant price too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for Marlboro Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 731 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We were heading to the Old Harbour restaurant but it was shut so we went across the road to the Marlboro instead...the best decision we could've made!

The staff were lovely, the food was fabulous, and the portions were huge.

We took our two year old son who shared our food and the waitress brought him a little plate and fork which was a nice touch.

As well as the restaurant they also do takeaways. We'd definitely recommend it.

Thank LibbyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. hope you visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Best chip shop in the south. Always superb food and the service is very good. Our son loves this place as they always make a fuss of him.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Were so glad your family enjoy our Restaurant and thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. We always try to make a fuss of our customers when time allows :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Called in here this evening (25/11/13), we were the only ones in the restaurant as it was around 8pm. Great service, huge portions, and the best light and crunchy batter on both the perfectly cooked haddock and mackerel; fantastic chips. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KITTEN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review !!
We look forward to your next visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had wanted fish and chips for a few days whilst on holiday in Dorset, so we went to weymouth to see if we could find a restaurant.

Despite only just having opened, The Marlboro was already getting full, so we took a free table and ordered simple cod and chips. We had to wait about ten minutes for the order to arrive.

The fish was perfectly cooked, and a fresh as could be witout still flapping. It was wonderfully white under the crisp batter. The chips were fine, crinkle cut and plentiful. The staff were attentive, and it was an all round pleasure to eat here.

It is certainly one of the top three fryers i have eaten in. Top marks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jelltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks for your really complimentary review and taking the time to write it. Makes all our efforts worthwhile. Hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlboro Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Marlboro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing