We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional seaside fish and chips”

Marlboro Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 290 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Weymouth Award Winning Fish & Chip Restaurant & Take Away situated conveniently on the Town Bridge in Weymouth, a stones throw away from the picturesque harbour and a short distance from the award winning beach. Serves traditional Fish & Chips Fayre as well as a varied complimentary menu.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Cod & chips with mushy peas and a pot of tea. Perfect when visiting the seaside. This place doesn't disappoint. The service was good, the fish was cooked to order, the chips are crunchy and the mushy peas taste like proper soaked ones. All in all, I would recommend a visit to this very traditional fish and chip shop.
They do have the infamous south coast "mackerel bap" on the menu if you like that sort of thing.
They'd take away too and the harbour wall is close by!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nigeltaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Traditional for sure !
Yes we do soak & cook our own mushy peas!!we also have our HOME MADE fishcake's,cheese & onion fri-it's, which are VERY popular with our customers !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 914 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The resturant is jam packed with tables as I would assume greed over the summer months has taken over local service. We were not allowed to sit with our baby in his pushchair but we were allowed to sit on another table without him. As it is a fire hazard, due to there not being enough space to swing an ant! Heaven forbid what they would of said if I turned up in a wheelchair! Shocking ! So we went over the road instead and they accommodate people that have children and pushchairs/wheelchairs. Very un understanding people and they even mocked us for leaving for not wanting to eat on a seperate table to our baby. Have been before when pregnant, will never go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Toria700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

You say that you have been before,BUT if you had you would have noticed that there were no more tables in our resturant on your 2nd visit,as we never add or take away any tables !!
Yes our resturant is on the compact side,& we don't allow chairs of any sort in the isles (ie . Resturant,high or wheel chairs) as FIRE REGULATIONS would not allow it. If anybody in a wheel chair comes in we take a chair away from the nearest table to the door,to allow room for the wheelchair. We also have booster seats available 4 young children,but yet again can not accommodate prams as room is short :-( we so however look after prams for our customers in our store room.
You obviously came on a VERY busy day,where nearly all tables were taken,but you could have waited for the next large table for 8 to come available,so as you could all sit together!!!
I wonder if you have read all the MANY VERY posative reviews we get????
We are currently the highest ranked fish&chips shop u can find !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our Mackeral in a bap & Mackeral fillets. Great service & fantastic to see & taste a variation of the traditional fish & chips!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review :-)
Yes the mackerel is a winner & a bit different than what's on the normal Fish & chip shop menu's !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We visit approx twice a month during the caravan season as we come from Birmingham to our caravan at Durdle Door, the staff are always very friendly, we normally eat in side but its just as nice to buy the fish and chips takeaway and eat on the harbour way. Gets very busy, wish the restaurant was bigger.To make sure of a seat for lunch you need to get there when they open.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your posative review :-)
I hope the sun always shines for you when you visit Weymouth !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We ate here last night and after a 3 day trip of being served ribbish this was like a oasis. Its a fabulous place for fish and chips. A young blond girls served us and I can only make pleasant comments she was a real assets to the shop. Wine was from California fabulous and very reasonably priced . The fish was excellent. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mountainbikerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

The young blond should be GOOD,as she's the owners daughter!
Next time you visit Weymouth there's no need for you to wast your time & money on poor food,just come straight to us !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlboro Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Marlboro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing