We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moby Dick's - CLOSED

Moby Dick's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went to Moby Dicks as we wanted to get some lunch and didnt really know much about any of the pubs or restaurants in Weymouth. We passed this one on the seafront and it had an offer on at lunch, a two course meal for £7.99 so we decided we would try it, the place was lovely and warm and with chatty friendly staff but the meal was outstanding, I had bbq wings which were as big as drumsticks (must have been a big chicken) and a steak which came on a hot rock with a massive salad and chips and my partner had the biggest serving of whitebait ive ever seen and fish and Chips, could not fault it at all would recommend this place enormously, and when we are back in Weymouth we will definitely be calling there again!! keep up the good work

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeashelleDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    64
    36
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

There is an abundance of cheap bars that serve cheap food in Weymouth and after trawling through them we came across this one. We weren't expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised. The portions were massive and the food to die for, they serve a great pint of beer and treat customers as though you have just walked into their own living room. The reason I have rated Moby Dicks a five on every category is because I can't rate it a six. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slinkyanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A whale of an afternoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Enjoyed nice welcome, good service and lovely food at reasonable prices with a bunch of friends on a mystery trip weekend. There were no objections when we took over a section of the bar (including draping flags!) to watch the rugby the staff took it all in good part. Well worth a visit would go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Carvery at it's best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our second visit to Moby's and this carvery was the best yet. A very good choice of meats and excellent array of vegetables cooked to perfection. Nice atmosphere and very good value. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sea front "pub & eating place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having dined in many places in the Dorset area, Moby Dick's for me is a very good "all rounder". The food menu, whilst not being especially adventurous, is very good and reasonably priced, The home-made fish and chips are a particular delight. The staff and management (certainly during our visit) were not only helpful and friendly, but also happy to engage with the customers and contribute a lot to the good atmosphere. The venue serves as both a pub and somewhere to eat, but due to the sheer size of it, it is not a problem if there is either football or a live band on as one can merely head right down to the other end of the bar and still enjoy a quiet meal. There is also a very large front outdoor seating area, which in the summer is one of the best places in the town to enjoy food or drink in the sun. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing