We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if you choose self service!”
Review of Criterion

Criterion
Ranked #161 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value if you choose self service!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We regularly eat here when we come to Weymouth which is a few times a year as they offer some good deals in the self service part. The deal we normally use is the kids eat free deal which is ideal for my children who are 8 and 4 and saves us money.
However do beware if you are disabled the toilets are right at the top of the building up many flights of stairs!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekylittlemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    27
    18
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we stayed b + B found this place right on sea front. we went to waitress service restaurant. and had a lovely 2 course meal for only £6.75. enjoyed it so much, went back again next night.
ideal if you have famiulies, as in the self service resuarant they offer 'kids eat free' with adult meal. a bargain if your on a budget.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunbay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, mediocre service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The title says it all really. Such a shame, it could have got a higher rating if the service had been better.

It's beach front location will attract a lot of custom, the restaurant is also accessible from St Mary's Street and is quite a large building on several floors. We went in for breakfast, they do other meals, l would class it as more of a cafe than restaurant. Lots of serving staff turned up whilst we were there, I guess they must get busy over the lunch time period.

The service wasn't bad, she just seemed a bit flustered. There was also a space for all the dirty plates etc, in view of the public, which let them down a bit as well. The food on the other hand was freshly prepared, plentiful and very nice indeed.

I only wish I could find a cafe that allows you to pick what you want for breakfast, rather than having to stick to a set menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful - worse than school dinners!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I decided to eat here - as there was a lot of advertising outside and I suppose we were lured in!! It is a very unwelcoming environment - purely a money making project without any real passion in what they are doing.

When the food arrived it was sparse to say the least, it was presented like a school canteen dinner - I ordered the steak if was horrible with a run of fat and did not taste like any steak I have ever eaten!!! - This was not a cheap option either as this cost approx. £9.00.

I had a bad stomach for the rest of the day and night and would strongly recommend people avoid this place like the plague!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Spain
1 review
“Excellent home-cooked food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I decided to eat here one Sunday evening after a long day in Weymouth, we had 2 steak and kidney pies and a cottage pie. The steak and kidney pies were really tasty and were freshly made that evening. The cottage pie was one of the best we've ever had. All of this was served with fresh vegetables and roast/boiled potatoes or with chips and peas. We had some of each. They also had a really great range of desserts and we enjoyed a chocolate fudge cake, homemade cherry cheesecake, and carrot cake between the three of us. Everything was top notch and the staff were incredibly friendly and proficient. We gave our compliments to the chef we liked it so much. Pricing was very reasonable too, we were looking at around £16 a head for two courses including drinks! All in all a lovely place, with some fantastic food and great service. We shall be coming back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criterion also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Criterion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing