We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence
Ranked #65 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a regular visitor to Weymouth over many years, I have stayed in many B&B's and whilst all have been quite pleasant, I have to say that the Clarence is the best yet! Lovely people, first class English breakfast with a great supply of fresh fruit too. The single room was clean and tidy and well equipped for the very reasonable rate.
I will stay at the Clarence again on all future visits to Weymouth and I would certainly recommend it to anyone else. Great location too, right by the beach and the delightful harbour..a lovely weekend with great breakfast and very friendly hospitality. Thank you, Ray R H

Room Tip: Room 6 was nice and a well equipped single, BUT a little warm. That said a room fan cooler is provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent location for access to the beach & old harbour. Parking may be difficult but the train station is just a short walk away. Rooms are very modern, clean and well equiped. Karen is a excellent host & the breakfasts give you a great choice. I can vouch for the full english being excellent nice work by Richard. If I need to go to Weymouth again or the surrouding area I know I'll be staying in the Clarence again.

Room Tip: The lower numbered room will get a better free wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for New Years in Weymouth. We had the top room in the attic, which despite being a bit wind blown and drafty, was perfectly clean. (You may wish to be relatively fit to stay in this room!!)
Lovely breakfasts, great location by the old harbour, a living room to retire in (or indeed, take dvd's up to your own room), helpful owners and yes you do get a parking pass for the square as a guest. On top of that it's good value for a hotel that by rights should be in a noisy area yet tucked away in the square seems to miss all the hubbub of the main sea front esplanade. Would go back there again.

Room Tip: The attic room is not for those of an unfit disposition or a BMI to embarrassed by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brother_Cadfael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This B&B is situated right on Weymouth Sea Front, close to the harbour and ideal for a walk to the shops which are only 30 secs away. Its clean, fresh and the owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was airey, clean and perfect for a night away. Breakfast was hearty, freshly looked (even had Nuttella!! to spread on my toast), and they accomodated to anything that we needed. Definately would recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was at the rear of the property - no view but didnt expect to anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is superb! Host's Karen and Richard are so warm and welcoming! The rooms are clean beyond expectations. The rooms are well equipped with TV, DVD, tea making facilities, biscuits, alarm clock with iPod/iPhone facility and Even Moulten Brown hand wash and shower soap! The location is superb for the seafront, town and restaurants like Floods. The breakfast is excellent. The whole package is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antiguadayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at The Clarence at the end of August for a short-break in Weymouth.

I have to agree completely with the majority of reviews for this place - the hotel is probably the best place to stay in Weymouth - fantastically managed hotel with nice rooms all furnished to a decent standard. The amenities are excellent, a dvd player included into the television set, the bathroom toiletries were also of a high quality standard. The complimentary bottles of water daily are a nice touch.
The breakfast served is definitely a highlight - lots of choice and variety - all freshly cooked while you wait. Includes hot and cold breakfast choices – with very friendly staff always receptive to any specific requests.
The location is excellent - a short walking distance to the local restaurants and Weymouth beach.
I would definitely return again on any future visit to Weymouth

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

There is so much choice on the internet in Weymouth, but this was a great selection. We had the very top room, with views over the Bay. The museum was closed, so we will definitely be back to Weymouth and will stay here again. If your BMI is over 40 you wont be able to get up to the attic room - it would be worth a strict diet for! Although it is convenient we were not disturbed by road noise.

Room Tip: We loved being in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Philbeach Guest House
Philbeach Guest House
#53 of 166 in Weymouth
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chatsworth
The Chatsworth
#55 of 166 in Weymouth
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#52 of 166 in Weymouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.7 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 20 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $125 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing