We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chesil Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

i have just returned from this lovely park.The welcome from the receptionist was spot on and she explained all we needed to know and where our caravan was. The caravan was very nice with plenty of storage. The camp was clean and everyone we met in the week were happy and friendly. The swimming pool was lovely and as it wasnt too deep my youngest loved it and the fact she could go down the flume even though she is not a good swimmer. The venue was a lovely place to go and enjoy an evening out ,the entertainment was so much better than a bigger park we went to earlier in the summer and the fact the kids got a certificate for taking part in competitions was great .dan nathan and sasha were great at keeping young and old entertained.I must mention the bistro the food was really nice and i thought reasonably priced and both the waiters and the chef were so friendly.There were just a couple of little niggles the first being that apart from the spar no one took cards it was cash only in the bars and bistro there was a cash machine but it charged for withdrawing money.The second being the shower or drip as we called it as it was so poor but apart from this a geat time was had and i have booked to go next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

The caravan park is very quite, clean with fantastic views. Couldn't fault the entertainment, bar prices reasonable. Our caravan although clean, no hot water in the toilet, not much pressure on the cooker, beds were uncomfortable, we stayed in a sandsfoot caravan. If we were to return, we would upgrade to different caravan.
There's plenty to do in Weymouth, for all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNNEG262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent the second two weeks in July in Chesil Vista holiday park. We could not have been luckier with the weather which just added to a brilliant time in a lovely park.

From the moment we checked it to the moment we left, every member of staff could not have been more helpful. Reception, security, maintenance, bistro, entertainment, cleaning and shop staff all went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and certainly not overly so. The kids soft play area was just perfect for our six year old and his many friends made during the holiday. This is probably the cleanest, well maintained caravan park we have been to. Our caravan was one of the cheapest so our expectations were not too high, but it was big, clean and just what we needed for a fortnight in sunny Dorset.

Weymouth, Portland and the surrounding area is lovely with lots and lots to do.

I cannot recommend Chesil Vista highly enough and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinkyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at chesil for 4 nights. We where very lucky as the weather was beautiful whilst we were there. (Temps reaching high 20s) As we where a large group we booked through the holiday park it self as we wanted two caravans. We Arrived early on the Monday and decided we would have a look around and see where might be staying. We checked first with reception and lucky they told us we could check in early to one of the caravans (11am ish) normally 4pm. The reception staff where very helpful and where happy to help with anything and everything. The accommodation itself was clean and spacious. Apart from the hallway in between the bedrooms/bathrooms was very narrow. The rooms where small- to small for two adults but good size for children. It was very hot during the night so we had to buy new fans so would definitely recommend bringing your own if you know the weather will be nice.
The children loved the children's disco, the indoor and outdoor play area, the swimming pool and the arcades. We used the takeaway a couple of times and was very nice. We also ordered from a local Chinese restaurant which was horrible. I do not recommend it.
Weymouth town is beautiful itself. Could spend the whole day exploring. The beach was very busy and crowded and we did not risk going onto it with small children. Portland was also a lovely place to visit with lots to see and do.
If you want a sandy beach which is not to crowded there is a little one just past the roundabout and over the crossing lights. Which is beautiful and cosy and not to busy. Water is shallow in a large part so good for little ones.
We had a small probably with ants whilst we where there as they kept coming in to the caravan. Also seagulls where horrible because the would tap on the roof at night. But none of this could be helped. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The park, pool, play area's and reception are immaculate. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Kids club was excellent.
Caravans are clean and tidy, only down side is the bedroom corridor is very tight on a Ridgeway plus 8 (one of the top caravans). Its an open one door, close another to move around style situation. However the rest of the caravan is spacious.
The bus services are right outside the park and extremely regular. Weymouth is beautiful and clean. The beach was spectacular. A wonderful place, we have already looked at returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay here and it was great.

1st impressions were great. Greeted by a welcoming friendly receptionist who showed us where our accommodation was located and explained about all of the facilities on the park.

Stayed in a 'sandsfoot' caravan and I was really surprised by it. Sounds derogatory but I has booked the cheapest accommodation available and after a not so great caravan on another park a few years ago, I was a little dubious. I really shouldn't have worried though. The caravan was spotlessly clean. 3 bedrooms so lots of space for my niece to run around in.

In terms of the facilities, we used the pool, the outdoor and indoor play areas, the arcade and the club on one evening. Wishing we had made the effort to go to the kids entertainment more often as my 3 year old niece loved it. The kids entertainment team really did entertain young and old.

Bus stop outside the main entrance to get you in to Weymouth if you do not fancy driving. Bus every 8 minutes through the day and cost £3 for a day ticket. Parking in Weymouth itself was around £3.90 for 3 hours on the road by the beach or on a car park just close to it.

Very good experience for my 1st time in Weymouth. I will be recommending the park.

I marked down the sleep quality below, but that could just be down to me. Nothing against the accommodation itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahA1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just got back home from here - and can't wait to go back sometime.

The site is very well presented, the grounds are well looked after, and all the caravans looked well maintained, with ample parking outside the caravan for at least two cars if required.

We had one of the more basic vans, which was still good, heating in all rooms (not required), good amount of equipment including TV and DVD, we had a good view down over the Fleet and over Chesil Beach.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and when we popped in nothing was too much trouble for them. The entertainments sections was good we took our three children along a few times during the week, and they enjoyed it - which is the main thing! They won points for entering different things which they could spend in a prize shop at the end of the week. The children enjoyed the soft play area which they spent hours in, which did give us chance to have some great coffee from the Bistro - If you do go to to Bistro, it does look dark and closed, but its not, it is open, just take a torch with you..... The food however is great, all freshly prepared and the chef is really friendly and helpful.

We used the swimming pool, which is good, we had it to our selves most of the time, there was also and outdoor park, which our children thought was OK, the on site shop was expensive but stocked the essentials.

All in all a great holiday was had, and we will be putting Chesil Vista on our return list.

Room Tip: All caravans look as though they have some sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwprices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
627 reviews
4.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,107 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.5 mi away
Littlesea Holiday Park - Haven
4.2 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesil Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesil Family Holiday Park

Address: Portland Road | Chesil Beach, Weymouth DT4 9AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Price Range: $70 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chesil Family Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chesil Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesil Family Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Chesil Family Holiday Park Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing