We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Helpful Hosts”
Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #42 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and Helpful Hosts”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We both enjoyed our stay at The Cottage (in the blue room). Both Maureen and Mark were very friendly, helpful and welcoming - from when we enquired for our booking to the moment we left. They were not at The Cottage when we arrived but they left us maps and tips on how to cycle where we wanted to go (The Crab House Cafe - highly recommended!!) and kindly lent us their binoculars so we can watch the Olympic sailing! The room was clean and quiet, overlooking the beautiful back garden, good breakfast selection and a nice home feeling to the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeliki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Many thanks for staying with us during the Olympics games. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will remember your summer in Weymouth in 2012. Hope we can have the opportunity of welcoming you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
85
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at The Cottage for nine nights. Everything about it was first class. Beautiful cottage, comfortable, tastefully furnished, pleasant garden, superb breakfasts and looked after by two people who really cared about their guests. We were blessed with perfect weather and were able to eat breakfast in the garden whilst watching the donkeys in the field nearby. A very handy location to stay away from the hustle and bustle. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. So pleased that you had a nice weekend with us. Look forward to welcoming you back to The Cottage when you return to Weymouth. Best wishes Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we needed accomodation near weymouth and this was recommended to us by friends who had stayed and had great time. ideal situation just outside weymouth and so peaceful. actually was silent at night ! breakfasts were superb and we were fortunate enough to be able to eat one breakfast out in the garden in the sun surrounded by wonderful views. would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimandjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for all your kind comments. So please that you had a good weekend with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Cottage soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us it was lovely to meet you. Best wishes Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have been visiting Weymouth for about 25 years and have stayed in various locations , in accommodation ranging from large hotels to B&B's.

This was the best ever , beautiful cottage in a lovely location.
The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Maureen was very attentive from the moment we arrived , offering tea and biscuits in the conservatory , in fact nothing was too much trouble during our short break.
Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, cooked to perfection and plenty of variety.
We originally booked because they were happy to take our dog too , we are so glad we did and would return any time with or without our dog .

Would not hesitate to recommend - loved it even though we never did get our breakfast on the patio - blame the British weather for that though.

Won't think of going anywhere else now

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. It was lovely having you all staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Weymouth. Good luck to the girls with university and work. Will endeavour to arrange better weather next time so that you can take breakfast on the decking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed for one night in a double-room with en-suite bathroom. The Cottage has a lovely charm and is tucked away in a quiet part of Weymouth, with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. The property and facilities are immaculate throughout with quality fittings and furnishings in keeping with the character of the cottage.

After a quiet, very comfortable night's sleep, I enjoyed a hearty, full English breakfast in the conservatory, overlooking the garden. Thank you Maureen for a lovely stay and I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Lovely to have the opportunity of welcoming you to The Cottage. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back for a short peaceful break! Regards Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Made to feel very welcome. Nothing to much trouble and Maureen's local knowledge was most helpful when planning trips out.
The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and the breakfast was a treat.
Lovely people, lovely spot. We would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kencoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Trust you had a good journey home. Hope that we can welcome you back to The Cottage in the near future. Regards Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at "The Cottage" for one night recently and enjoyed a very pleasent stay.
The cottage was well looked after, very clean and we had a very nice room with a comfy bed.
Breakfast in the garden was fantastic and the food on offer was lovely.
Maureen was very hospitable and provided us with some useful information of the local area, e.g. where to eat and where to park.
Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Weymouth area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothecottage, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you both had a lovely weekend with your friends. Good luck with the wedding. Hope to be able to welcome you back to The Cottage, perhaps for an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
3.3 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#24 of 165 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Spice Ship
The Spice Ship
#96 of 165 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#50 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage Puddledock Lane | Sutton Poyntz, Weymouth DT3 6LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone cottage in peaceful setting. Quintessential English village with pubs and duck pond. Friendly/professional hotel trained owners hence luxury 4 Star/silver grading. Please phone or email to book. Breakfast served in Victorian conservatory overlooking cottage garden and open fields. Extensive menu/special diets using local free range produce. Hospitality is our watchword. Free off road parking. Near to beach, ferry port and Jurassic coast/Southwest coast path and local attractions such a Bovington Tank museum, Monkey world, Lyme Regis and Lulworth Cove. Quintessential English village with duck pond and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing