We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House”

A Knights Rest Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Knights Rest Guest House
Ranked #158 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Guest House”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at A Knights Rest Guest House over the weekend with our 10 year old grandaughter. Really enjoyed our stay.Guest House very neat and clean, breakfast excellent, Alison very kindly catered for our grandaughter who needs a gluten free diet.Even the weather was kind to us. We hope to return next year.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
9
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay with my Dad. We had 2 single rooms (4 &10). Each room was nicely decorated & comfortable with tv, tea tray & hairdryer. All diets catered for a breakfast with cereals, cooked & continental options. Good veggie breakfast too!
Only saw Alison, who is very friendly & helpful.
The B&B is about a 20 minute walk from the train station & town and about 10 min walk to the beach. There are two bus services that go up Dorchester Rd (from near the King George statue in the town, numbers 2 & 10) and the bus stops are right near the B&B which only costs £3 for a day ticket, there are shops & a pub & takeaway nearby too.
Did think it was a bit pricey as to stay on Fri & Sat night was £42 p/n compared with £37 for Sunday night. Would stay here again though.

Room Tip: The single room bathrooms are rather small. If you are very tall or on the large side you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have stayed at this guest house regularly once or twice a year for several years now. I organise a regular trip to the Tank Museum every June for a group and we book up to 4 rooms for each stay. We have always found Alison very welcoming and the rooms clean and well equipped. We would not return every year if we did not find this a very acceptable guest house. For a group of men in their 50's the full english breakfasts are just what we are looking for with as much tea/coffee and toast as you require. One of our party wanted just eggs on toast this year and this was provided without question. We also had a 10 year old son of ne of the group members with us and there were no problems with accommodating a child of his age.
I have a spinal disability and although the stairs are steep I coped well with no problems but if you are a wheel chair user then this is not for you.
Location is easy to find and whilst parking outside is a matter of luck there is plentiful parking on the residential street behind. If you are planning a day out then there is a Tesco Express about 100 metres/yards away across the road.
Weymouth has seen a bit of a revival with the 2012 Olympic sailing and is well worth a visit - as is the Tank Museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

An old fashioned stereotypical guest house, alright if you like that sort of thing, with very modern prices however. The hair dryer and kettle were fixed to the wall as they trust you so much. Tv had an alarm too. The rooms are basically too small for the money, nose pressed against the door as you sit on a toilet. If they charged much less, it would be alright but they don't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siroisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aknightsrest, Owner at A Knights Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
This man made it very clear at the end of the first day that he didn't like our Guesthouse and was given a full refund for the second night, so he could leave.
Unfortunately we do not please everyone, but we do try our best.
In response to the specific comments, the kettle and hairdryer are wired into a spur outlet rather than plugged in and the television is on a wall bracket and attached to it. These are all to ensure that they are safe and with the television can not be pulled off the bracket and injure someone. They are not alarmed, perhaps the "magic eye" on the front of the TV which is for the freeview facility gave this impression!
We are competitively prices for the area and the pictures on our website are acurate, so people can make an informed decision without booking.
The very next people to stay in the same room couldn't have been happier and have booked to stay again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely guest house courtesy of Alison and Derek recently, who accommodated
us at short notice over the bank holiday weekend. It was a very welcoming stay, very comfortable
and a lovely breakfast (all diets catered for). Very close to Weymouth Centre, about a 15 minute walk and parking in nearby streets meant that we had no parking charges. Very friendly and would highly recommend.Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aknightsrest, Owner at A Knights Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do work hard to make our guests welcome.
Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As a business man flying around the country its a pleasure to stay in a warm and friendly guest house that Alison and Derek provide. After a long night, I over slept and it wasn't to much effort for Alison to make me breakfast although many guest houses would have refused, she treated me like she was my mum.
Thanks again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truesavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aknightsrest, Owner at A Knights Rest Guest House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you Rob for staying with us and for your kind words. Look forward to seeing you regularly in the future. Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome, fabulous location, clean and comfortable accommodation with lots of lovely extras, superb breakfast. Thank you to Alison and Derek for making us o welcome and we look forward to returning Ver soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Twin Palms Guest House
Twin Palms Guest House
#109 of 165 in Weymouth
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#152 of 165 in Weymouth
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#45 of 165 in Weymouth
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#72 of 165 in Weymouth
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#107 of 165 in Weymouth
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rosefield
The Rosefield
#69 of 165 in Weymouth
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Knights Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Knights Rest Guest House

Property: A Knights Rest Guest House
Address: 93 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Knights Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run 3 star Guest House, offering Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Local shops and close to bus stops. All FREE on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Knights Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Knights Rest Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing