We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gloucester House
Ranked #7 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Last weekend I had the pleasure of staying for a couple of nights at the Gloucester House.

It is ideally situated right on the sea front two minutes walk from the Railway Station.

I was warmly greeted by Geoff and Chris and shown to a single room overlooking the bay.It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.Breakfast the following morning was cooked to perfection and served promptly.

Throughout my short stay I was made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble for either Geoff or Chris.It was a great shame to leave last night.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.There can't be anywhere better.

Many thanks Geoff & Chris.I can't wait to come again!

Room Tip: First impressions count and my first impression was that this hotel offered just what I wanted in te...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Gloucester House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 370 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

A warm welcome on arrival from Geoff and Chris which my parents in-law, husband and I most appreciated. Our sea view balcony rooms were spotless with everything you needed for a relaxing stay. Breakfast superb and very accomodating to our different needs ....thank you Geoff ( the perfect egg man ) Chris and Geoff are without doubt the loveliest hosts we have come across in any B&B. You must stay here on any visit to Weymouth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My sister hadn't booked a room here, she was due elsewhere, and was unable to take the room offered, so we walked along the esplanade looking for vacancies. My sister was unwell, and getting very tired, and we tried a few other establishments, but they were not what she was looking for, then we happened to find a vacancy sign at Gloucester House and thought we would see if they could accommodate us at the eleventh hour. We were greeted by Geoff, the landlord, who was very helpful, and welcoming, he allowed me to run up and see the room first, and undertook a barrage of last minute queries in order to accommodate my sisters needs.
She took a twin room at a special deal, with full sea view and breakfast included,...she was delighted and it made a very pleasant stay for her there, for 3 nights in a row. Breakfast was well prepared, and she told me the couple who ran it continued to be excellent hosts, and were always at hand should she need them. She will definately stay there again should she come back down this way again. She really loved it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troubadour04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are return guests at the Gloucester House and have always found the welcome very friendly and the accomodation of a good standard and flexible enough to meet the needs of all generations of the family staying. Great seafront location for enjoying the beach and exploring the town & harbour areas. Breakfast is also very good with plenty of choice. Jeff and Chris thanks again for an enjoyable stay. See you again next year.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms with great sea views but spread across 3 floors so you need to cope with the stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I found this accommodation very friendly and inviting. Breakfast was good and room was very clean. Jeff and Chris Thanks again for a wonderful stay.I will definitely be booking again. Weymouth is a very nice place to spend a break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

just came back front weekend in Weymouth, booked into here, received a warm welcome and showed to our room, wow what a lovely view it was, room with sea view. brill location. room was lovely and clean. breakfast was very good. if we stay in Weymouth again sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEAWILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My school group was welcomed very warmly by the Gloucester House. We nearly took up the entire hotel and only stayed for one night, they were extremely generous to let us stay! The rooms were spacious and were perfect for our needs. It was really convenient that they had multiple beds in one room so a few of us could share! The couple who owns the hotel were very kind and were quick to help us with any thing. The provided hot breakfast was also delicious and quick! The location is also prime. It is right on the esplanade and has multiple restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We stayed in the off-season so we did not see the full potential of the beach but the view was beautiful and would be an exceptional hotel for a summer stay because the beach is just across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $96 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing