We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gloucester House
Ranked #5 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fab place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

just came back front weekend in Weymouth, booked into here, received a warm welcome and showed to our room, wow what a lovely view it was, room with sea view. brill location. room was lovely and clean. breakfast was very good. if we stay in Weymouth again sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEAWILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
127
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My school group was welcomed very warmly by the Gloucester House. We nearly took up the entire hotel and only stayed for one night, they were extremely generous to let us stay! The rooms were spacious and were perfect for our needs. It was really convenient that they had multiple beds in one room so a few of us could share! The couple who owns the hotel were very kind and were quick to help us with any thing. The provided hot breakfast was also delicious and quick! The location is also prime. It is right on the esplanade and has multiple restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We stayed in the off-season so we did not see the full potential of the beach but the view was beautiful and would be an exceptional hotel for a summer stay because the beach is just across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A warm welcome a good choice for breakfast, we had a room with a view of the bay WOW and what a view. Easy walking distance to the town centre ( 5 mins ) and cross the road and your on the beach. We stayed for 7 nights and found all the staff really friendly and helpfull, nothing was to mutch trouble even when we turned up late for breakfast, OOPS. It was our first time in a B@B and our room was well looked after as we where too. Yep i would certainly go back there and regreted having to go home. And NOPE ime not related, Honest.

Room Tip: A room at the front with a veiw of the bay and harbour mouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everyone at the Gloucester House was extremely welcoming. I had a great stay here for one night. They were so kind to our big group and made our short stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was also delicious! The views are also amazing as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montanamcbirney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been taking groups of students to Dorset for a number of years, and am pleased to say that since Geoff and Christine have taken over the Gloucester House hotel, our experience has been nothing short of fantastic. We've received the warmest of welcomes, the comfiest of beds and the most delicious breakfasts. They've been able to handle our large groups with expertise and made our students feel completely at home. The hotel is brilliantly situated, and it is a realy treat to wake up to a sea view! Can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was my first time in Weymouth and my group was welcomed to the Gloucester House by an extremely friendly couple. They made sure everything was sorted and really know how to receive their guests! Upon entering the B&B, I was very pleased to see how clean, orderly and charming the space was. I felt I could be at home here for a few days. My room was extremely clean, the bed was soft and the linens felt great after a long days hike. I was also pleasantly pleased over how clean, spacious and lovely the loo attached to my one bedroom was. The one downside to my single was the fact there was only a bath with a small detachable shower head beside it. Due t o this I was forced to resort to a bath but a great warm bath at that. All shampoos and soaps provided with soft towels, hand towels and foot towel.
I had a small TV, a range of teas, a pot, all the necessary plugs and cabinets nicely placed at the front of my room for storage.
Breakfast was also a lovely affair. The waitstaff along with the owner of the Gloucester House gave us a great run-down of the nicely sized and not overwhelming menu. I had the most picture perfect eggs you could ask for. Not to mention they tasted wonderful. The tea was great and the breakfast room's atmosphere was relaxing and friendly.

Overall, I could not be more pleased and for the great price you're paying, there was no shortage of comfort, service, and hospitality. If you're in Weymouth, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Cut cast keys keys so do not lose them! Some rooms have showers and bath some only have bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

upon ringing the bell as the main door was locked two very warm and friendly couple opened the door and there first words 'hello and welcome to Gloucester house' after a 3 hour drive it was so nice to be greeted by friendly faces.
Check in was a breeze were told no smoking in the room as the building is a grade 2 listed but that was fine. a very friendly chap showed us to our room. Our room was room 9 .
the room was very clean and smelled lovely a nice double bed and a wonderful view of the sea and with the window open you could hear the sea :)
after the chappy had gave us the run down i had a nose in the en suite it had just been decorated was very tidy it had a shower sink and a sani flow toilet (electric).
we found the shower to be a bit of a hazard though 1 minute the water would be scolding hot the next stone cold also the sower hose was a bit short so i found it easier to was my hair in the sink as THERE IS NO BATH.
Also the t.v reception was really bad we found it was better to use our laptop to watch t.v.
The breakfast was very nice i had cereal but my boyfriend had the full English and he said it was fantastic also a plus they do a vegetarian breakfast if you ask.
Another down side was the parking we found there was inadequate parking near to the b+b there is a car park behind the b+b but YOU HAVE TO MOVE YOUR CAR BY 9.30 AM we found a h parking bay about 10 minutes from the b+b.
check out was lovely it didnt feel like leaving a business it felt like leaving home we were told if we were ever in the area to drop in for a tea or coffee we would always be welcome and we were seen out by the friendly couple feeling sad to leave after a lovely holiday and stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#36 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Property: Gloucester House
Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing