We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gloucester House
Ranked #5 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've just returned from a 4 night break at Gloucester House. My husband, 2 children and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Christine & Geoff made us so welcome and are fantastic hosts, always smiling and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We had a family room on the top floor which was roomy and spotlessly clean with an en-suite shower and toilet. Tea & coffee making facilities and biscuits are provided and replenished everyday and the rooms are cleaned and towels changes everyday.
The breakfasts were superb, cereals, toast, yogurts & the full works and any variations of it were available.
The guest house is centrally located on the Esplanade, literally just across the street from the beach and most things are within walking distance which means you can park the car up (with the parking permit that Geoff & Chris provide) and not use it again until you leave.
We would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Weymouth, it really is a gem ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliev1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    33
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
138
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Yet again.....just brilliant! Geoff and Christine are just the most welcoming, helpful and considerate people....hence the reason for repeated visits. I use a disability scooter which needs charging daily in order for me to visit the many places I adore in Weymouth, Geoff is amazing......he charges it every night; helps my hubby to load and unload; ensures it is safe every night and generally takes care of the situation without even being asked! A balcony room we have used for many years has been upgraded to a superb standard - could not wish for anything more. My legs are getting worse over the years, but they have even supplied a step to ensure I can use balcony. By the way.....the mugs instead of cups and saucers are a huge bonus Christine! Have booked ready for carnival next year already. A wonderful time again, thank you both x

Room Tip: Rooms are cleaned daily. Beverages supplied daily....with biscuits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed last week with my wife and can report

Location - Great
Hosts - Great
Accommodation - Great
Price - Great

A great experience and the sun shone!! Would recommend for those looking for a traditional B & B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

after an awful journey to Weymouth last week Geoff and Chris made us feel right at home immediately. Geoff carried our case up to the room. He then organised my car parking and even waited for me to return .The room we had was spotless when we arrived and remained that way for our whole stay.Tea coffee and biscuits in the room never ran out. Breakfast was perfect but I began to think Geoff was psychic because as soon as our order had been taken, our food was being brought out piping hot and cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for Chris and Geoff.They were the perfect hosts,with the perfect guest house,in the perfect position on the sea front. thanks Alan and Maggie

Room Tip: a balcony room would be ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just come back from the Gloucester. We had a fantastic time. Geoff and Chris were very helpful. Food is lovely and there is a very friendly atmosphere. The location of the hotel is lovely, right on the beach front, town nearby and lots of nice places to eat. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I love staying here and have been before. Gloucester House is spotless and comfortable and Geoff and Chris are very friendly and helpful with local advice.
There is lots to see and do in Weymouth and I would recommend this house to friends.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Meryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just got back from Weymouth and had a lovely stay in the Gloucester House, On arrival Geoff and Chris made us very welcome. Geoff took it upon his self to help my partner find a car parking space with a permit and he did. Breakfast was superb lots of choice nothing was to much trouble. rooms very clean towels changed daily bed made good service. Would definitely return to this guest house but hope to grab the balcony room next time around. we left the booking to the last minute and with one room left managed to get a sea view anyway. Weather was beautiful . It makes all the difference when you got 2 lovely genuine owners who care about there guests thank you Chris and Geoff

Room Tip: I would try and get the room with the balcony although all the rooms are lovely its just that bit ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#23 of 165 in Weymouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Property: Gloucester House
Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing