We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”
Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gloucester House
Ranked #7 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had an excellent stay at the gloucester house. Room was nice and a good size, ensuite new and modern. Good location, town only a few min away but still had peace and quiet, and beach directly opposite.

Chris and Geoff were lovely, really friendly and genuine. Nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was plentiful and lots of variety.

Couldn't fault anything, thank you for a wonderful stay..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 375 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The largest B&B we've been to, but you wouldn't have thought so - it still gives you that "homey" feeling. Very well run by Chris and Geoff - they still seem to have plenty of time for everyone even when the "no vacancies" sign was up in the window. We definitely intend to use again. Even it it was in the middle of nowhere it would be worth another visit - the superb central location is just the icing on the cake. We didn't need to use the car once in our four days there (even though there are many other attractions just a short ride away).Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably slightly quieter, but then you don't have the lovely views over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0HN_and_BEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was here for the week, as we did the food festival. The welcome was warm, we arrived a bit early but our rooms were ready so we got to check in, the breakfast's was deee-licous, & nothing was to much trouble for Chris & Geoff. Great location right opposite the golden sandy beach, rooms were clean & quite spacious, wish we could of stayed another week, If down in Weymouth we will book again, will highly recommend to all.

Tina B
Newark

Room Tip: Right on seafront close to everything, great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina Wilsher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend over the last bank holiday. Chris and Geoff could not have gone more out of their way to help-out. Great place, great location, great people, would highly recommend to friends and family.

Thank you very much Chris & Geoff.

From Alkesh, Neepa & the girls (Bucks)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neepa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very accommodating on such late notice, very clean rooms, excellent breakfast and lovely staff. The hotel is in a perfect location just across the road from the beach. Thank you very much Chris and Geoff!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent a great two weeks at Gloucester House working on a book. Chose it because of the warmth of the welcome and the spaciousness of the establishment--it used to be operated as a hotel. Airy breakfast room with flowers outside the windows and perfect location facing the beach with good shops including an M & S four-minutes' walk away along the Esplanade. Very clean and well managed. The owners, Geoff and Chris who sleep on the premises and can assist at any time, took the trouble to provide a special chair so that I could work for many hours on my laptop without getting a bad back. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just had a wonderful stay at the Gloucester House with Chris & Geoff (for one night) stayed for 5. They were wonderful host and outstanding service by all who dealt with us. They were very accommodating, and gave us a very warm welcome on our first night there. We decided to stay for more nights, as the sun was out and we had a very nice room on the ground floor room 1, it was clean and tidy at all times and suited our needs. They are ex service people and I found this to be relevant as they were friendly and had a good sense of humour and would go that extra mile to give service. The breakfast was of a high standard and they accommodated to all guests needs, and greeted everyone with a smile. We will go back again and im sure once you go there you will go again too. Thanks Chris and Geoff, we will be back!! Your lodgers.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brumsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 166 in Weymouth
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#25 of 166 in Weymouth
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#33 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $96 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing