We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, friendly and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloucester House
Ranked #5 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Location, friendly and clean”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good central location with views of the bay. Friendly hosts and lovely breakfasts. parking tickets provided let us park nearby on the road side.
We had a room with sea view and balcony. Although small was fine for our needs. The only down side of being on the sea front was the noisy drunks walking back to their hotels in the early hours.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
130
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed in this welcoming guesthouse for a family wedding, would definately recommend! Lovely breakfast in the morning, staff were friendly rooms were clean. They even let us check out later and leave our car longer to fit in around the wedding. Great seafront location!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erictheelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My wife and I had a very nice stay here while walking the Southwest Coast path. The owners, Geoff and Chris were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants, transport and anything else to make our stay more straightforward and enjoyable. The B and B is located in an attractive, listed home right on the shore. Located right around the corner from the train station, the location was perfect for us getting back home. Our room was very spacious and clean with a great view of the sea. I would definitely recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I arrived just after lunch to be greeted by the owners Geoff and Christine Saxton who allocated me a reserved parking space. I was given a sea view room and what a view of Weymouth bay, you cant buy a view like that. The room was the cleanest I have ever seen with attention to detail well evidenced. The hotel itself is extremely well located / maintained near to the centre of the town and within very easy walking distance of everything, the beach was approx 20metres walk. The owners went out of there way to make sure I was well looked after including amending my requested breakfast time at the last minute. Breakfast was superb and far more than i was expecting and set me up for the rest of the day. All in all absolutely superb and well worth another visit. The owners went that extra mile to make my stay as comfortable as possible and they certainly achieved that

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerntraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We were going to Weymouth for a weekend break. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given a room with a sea view.
In the morning we awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the sea. Very peaceful inside the hotel although very close to local shops amenities etc.
Everywhere very clean and owners very hospitable. Would definitely recommend as a good centre for visiting Weymouth & surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank accountforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed here with friends for a do nearby at the Prince Regent, we could have stayed there but Gloucester House was recommended to us by friends. Fantastic sea view (even if the weather was a bit rough !) Lovely rooms and the breakfast was out of this world. Service is very good here and its in an ideal location if you're visiting Weymouth for shopping, nightlife and nature. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We went to this hotel which overlooks the sea front at Weymouth mid November 2010. Wewent as part of a group of 10 ( 5 couples) and found the rosm to be lovely and comfortable and clean and nice reception area. Really close to the shops and nightlife of the town. Great friendly and welcoming owners (new so we believe). Great breakfast (full english and/or cereal etc). Couldnt be more happy. Good value for money especially bearing in mind its on the sea front and so close to the town. No taxis required! Would recommend. Imagine in the summer in nice weather it would be an ideal holiday location

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#8 of 163 in Weymouth
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 163 in Weymouth
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Property: Gloucester House
Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing