We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good stay”
Review of The Richmoor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Richmoor Hotel
Ranked #122 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had the pleasure at staying in this hotel with my family also a large group of friends. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar was very well stocked and prices were good for the area. The food was outstanding value for money . The all you can eat Buffet breakfast at £5 excellent value. The sunday carvery couldn't fault it, the restaurant was really light and airey and well decorated. nice surroundings.
The room we had was good but some of the funishings were a little tired. This did not effect our stay. you only sleep in a room . so no issues really.
would I stay here again - Yes without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Front Office Manager at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hi, Thank you very much for your review it is of great value to us. We are pleased to hear that your stay here with us was to your satisfaction. We love to hear feedback about our facilities and i am delighted to see that the prices for products within the hotel were the right ones for you. We try to keep the prices as sensible as possible. As we have not long had the buffet breakfast and carvery service going very long we are delighted to see we are satisfying our customers with this service. We have now got new offers up and running until the end of may so please don't hesitate to get in contact with us if you wish to book a return to our hotel. We would also like to thank all our customers who review us with a complimentary gift on your return. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 735 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We participated in the Fawlty Towers weekend at the Richmoor Hotel. What a fabulous time was had by our party of 11 people, all ranging from mid forties to mid fifties. The staff were excellent as they took the parts of Basil, Sybil and the team, whilst they served us dinner on the Friday night. Our group were asked to be a part of the entertainment by arriving for dinner in 70s/80s clothing, I am glad to say that we did not disappoint. The staff worked very hard, taking to to all the guests whilst they acted their parts and served food.

Saturday night's dinner was served to the guests as the staff and some of the guested played out a murder mystery, the Major had passed away under mysterious circumstances. I won't tell you whodunnit, just in case.

Drinks in the hotel bar were kept at a reasonable price, which meant that the guests stayed at the hotel after dinner instead of slopeing of to the lodcal pub. Sybil (Lorraine) provided guests with a quiz on the Friday night after dinner, then Karaoke.

Our room was small but you do not get the Ritz unless you pay Ritz prices.

A lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Having seen a lot of the rooms trhat our friends stayed in, I suggest rooms on the second floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Front Office Manager at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our Fawlty Towers weekend break here at the Richmoor Hotel. We are really glad they have taken off and that guests have taken a shine to them. We hope to keep these an on going event throughout the years to come. I am very happy to hear that the staff here at the hotel must be doing their jobs right and satisfying the guests to their expectations. We appreciate the feedback we receive on all aspects of the hotel.We have now got new offers up and running until the end of may so please don't hesitate to get in contact with us if you wish to book a return to our hotel. We would also like to thank all our customers who review us with a complimentary gift on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went to the hotel as part of a university trip. The staff went above and beyond to entertain us and make us feel welcome. The food was good and the rooms were comfortable. Overall a very friendly and hospitable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 803Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Front Office Manager at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

First of all i would personally like to say thank you for your review on our hotel. All reviews come with much appreciation. We like to cater for all different types of groups/parties we have in hotel. As many people have commented they are very happy with the value for money they have received and hope to keep this feedback coming in. (As we all know things aren't getting any cheaper anytime soon). Also we are receiving a lot of positive feedback about our food services and appreciate your views in this sector. We have now got new offers up and running until the end of may so please don't hesitate to get in contact with us if you wish to book a return to our hotel. We would also like to thank all our customers who review us with a complimentary gift on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went away for the faulty towers weekend at the richmoor hotel 28th feb till 2nd Mar.... and WOW what a weekend the Staff were very friendly and welcoming the food was amazing, The room we had a sea view was beautiful, clean and comfortable. We will be returning to this hotel fantastic value for money look forward to staying again .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leapy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Front Office Manager at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

We are very happy to hear guests are enjoying our Fawlty Towers breaks. Thank you very much for your review on your stay here at the Richmoor Hotel. Our themed breaks seem to have taken of very well. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your time spent here as we try to make all our guest feel as welcome as possible. We have now got new offers up and running until the end of may so please don't hesitate to get in contact with us if you wish to book a return to our hotel. We would also like to thank all our customers who review us with a complimentary gift on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just attended the Fawlty Towers themed weekend, we thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment. The food was very good & breakfast was amazing with a huge variety. The staff were very friendly and made a point of talking to all the guests which was a lovely personal touch. The rooms were simple but very clean and we had all we needed for our weekend stay. We will recommend to friends and will definitely be returning. A lovely weekend break!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We attended as a family (6 adults) taking 3 rooms for The Richmoor Hotel's Faulty Towers weekend. All in all it was a very very enjoyable weekend. The entertainment was good and the inclusive 3 course evening meals were surprisingly good. The full english breakfast was superb. With free parking opposite the hotel which is situated right on the seafront, the position couldn't be better. The staff were friendly and very accommodating - quite a refreshing change from many establishments.

Yes as another reviewer has pointed out - people smoking outside on the pavement are an annoyance but that is not the hotels fault - it is a plague that unfortunately affects every establishment.

Yes the rooms are perhaps a little tired but we found all of our 3 rooms to be clean and quite well maintained, everything was modern and worked and the carpets in the room were clean and the stair carpets certainly were not sticky neither was the key grubby! The shower water temperature did fluctuate a bit but so what?! If you are a bit of a porker then you might find the doorway into the bathroom a little tight!!

We are in the hospitality trade ourselves and know the hurt and damage a falsely negative review can do so our response we hope will go a long way to offset the review left by suegalway below. Nothing she has said we found to be fair or true and when you consider what is on offer at what was a cost to us of no more than £31 per person per night for bed breakfast and evening meal, then it takes a very sad and small minded person to be so hateful.

If you want a cheap fun weekend away then try it out - you cant go far wrong.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room no 110- using the huge floor to ceiling sash window which you pull up to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time! We loved every minute, The staff could not do enough for us! Although the room was a little small (only a place to sleep anyway) it had everything we needed! The 3 course meal that came with the murder mystery weekend was excellent value for money and drinks excellently priced. The hosts were very knowledgable of the area and spent time talking with all the guests! Will definitely be back soon

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 166 in Weymouth
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weymouth Beach B&B
Weymouth Beach B&B
#32 of 166 in Weymouth
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#25 of 166 in Weymouth
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmoor Hotel

Address: 146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $65 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmoor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Weymouth's seafront, on the Jurassic Coast Line, The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning scenic views. Family friendly the owners really work hard to create a welcoming and homely ambience.The Richmoor Hotel is fortunate enough to have Shelley's Restaurant onsite, an ala carte fine dining restaurant that uses fresh local ingredients to create an imaginative and fresh menu at very affordable prices. Then why not retire to the bar? Shelley's Bar and Grill boasts Seaviews, an extensive Cocktail menu and a menu full of simple food cooked well. The Bar has an Entertainment program, including Live Entertainment from some of Weymouths best singers, Karaoke, Bingo, "Fawlty Towers Dining Experiences," Games and Quizzes. For more specific information about the Entertainment during your stay please ring and enquire.All of the Richmoor Hotel rooms are Fully Ensuite and come with hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clocks and televisions. Some boast views over Weymouth Bay. The Richmoor Hotel prides itself on employing friendly, hardworking and efficient staff that will work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable, and they have a 24 hour reception with both Day Managers and Night Porters.Extra Beds in rooms and Parking can be requested via contact with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Richmoor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmoor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing