We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend In Weymouth”
Review of The Richmoor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmoor Hotel
Ranked #116 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked a works weekend away at the Richmoor Hotel (Jan 2013). Snow threatened our trip but th wonderful Loraine put our minds at ease with local weather reports and train time tables. This is the quality of service you never receive from the corporate chains!
A fantastic hotel, fantastic hosts and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razorukgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for The Richmoor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 709 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I came to this hotel for a weekend away post divorce despite being very unhappy I had a wonderful weekend the landlady is fantastic the staff welcoming its clean tidy and above all warm in the way so many big hotels just aren't these days. I can not fault the service and the etertainment was fun. Weymouth is beautiful and the beach is literally a stones throw from the front door but your away from the crowd at this end of Espalade so enjoy peace when you want it. Simlpy great value. The food here is fantasic and well portioned. Enjoy your stay here I know I did.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LYNETTE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Chose this hotel after a friend recommended it to us. We decided to spend Christmas/New Year away from home for the very first time and certainly didn't regret it.

This is a family run Hotel but manages to reach the very highest standards whilst providing personal and friendly service as well. The Food was plentiful and to an excellent standard - congratulations all round but particularly to the owner Loraine and the Chef Tom.

Weymouth, even in the winter provides many attractions and has excellent shopping for those that enjoy it. The Hotel enjoys a fantastic position on The Esplanade overlooking the Beach and Sea. Merely 50 yards across the Road!

The hotel has unbdergone major refurbishment over the past few years and is maintained and cleaned to exceptionally high standards. My wife's father who is 82 was also thrilled with the care and attention lavished upon him and is already asking when we intend to go again - says everything!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loraine who owns the hotel is lovely, always checking that all is OK. She likes to have fun, which is what she makes sure you have, she keeps her bar prices low, & provides excellent entertainment, she puts herself out on a Limb for you, just to make sure you have a good time. Rooms are clean & very warm. Food is fantastic, Tom is an incredible chef, and choice is excellent, you are always offered extra. New year here is the best, what a party. Fab. Thanx to all the Rich moor staff, and happy New year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lescobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Richmoor Hotel in Weymouth and can honestly say that we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.The reason for the title of this review is this,we booked our stay online and paid by credit card but we did not look at the reviews on this hotel however,my sister,who was coming with us did and, immediately telephoned us to tell us to look at the reviews.We went online and looked at the reviews and,to say the least we were very concerned.As we knew we would have to phone our credit card company to cancel we decided,after much debate,to go ahead and take our chances.Well,how WRONG can some people be,we saw reviews on stained bedding,small shower facilities,grumpy lanalady,food being served in stages and cold,no atmosphere?????? We want to correct those reviews and say,
1) The food was superb and,served piping hot.
2) The staff, INCLUDING the landlady,were professional,friendly and made us feel VERY welcomed.
3) The hotel provided some good entertainment and everyone took part including the landlady.
4) The hotel was VERY clean and the beds were lovely soft and comfortable.
5) The rooms had tea/coffee/milk/sugar/kettle etc which was continually replemished.
6) The showers were adequate and I managed with NO discomfort even though I have a large frame.

In conclusion,I must say that if all these qualities are not enough in an hotel then spend a grand and stay at the Ritz,that'll probably pay for one night.The Richmoor Hotel in Weymouth does not profess to be The Ritz but still,they give you all the nescessary quality service without the grandeur.I will DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Thank you to Lorriane and all her staff,excellent service and brilliant atmosphere.

Room Tip: What sort of room you require is up to you but,if you are not satisfied with what you get,Lorraine w...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having read the reviews prior to arriving at The Richmoor Hotel I was a little apprehensive. However, nothing could have been further from the truth. Loraine greeted us with tea/coffee & biscuits whilst our luggage was taken to our rooms. We were given all the information needed to ensure that nothing was left to chance. It transpired that quite a few guests in our coach party had been to this hotel before and we ultimately found out why. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The choice of food at dinner and breakfast was excellent, with "seconds" available if you had any room left ! The staff in the dining room were very attentive at all times and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment in the bar was varied and suited all tastes. The Hotel has a very well stocked bar at reasonable prices and the service was very professional. Loraine was a very attentive hostess and made the guests feel very welcome and was always on hand to answer any questions that arose. On the day of departure our luggage was taken down by the staff onto the coach and Loraine thanked us for staying at the Richmoor. As we started our trip back home the staff assembled on the Hotel steps to wave us goodbye. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any prospective guests and to ask them to judge for themselves and not to be put off by negative reviews. We arrived as guests but left as friends and we will certainly be back here again.

Room Tip: Room No. 305 has a marvellous sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrumpyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked this 'blind' over the internet & didn't have too high expectations as Lorraine gave us a very good price for a weekend stay. What we got was more than we could ever have expected! A lovely friendly welcome from Stacey and the lady cleaner (whose name we didn't catch). No problem that we arrived early for the usual 2pm check-in. Lots of information about things to see locally. As it was a quiet time, we were given a choice of two rooms. The one we chose had a four-poster bed(!), a sea view and was warm (even a little over-warm) and well appointed. The bathroom was adequate and plenty big enough.

What can we say about the staff? Nothing was too much trouble (even when we badly overslept and came down to breakfast very late, the service was charming and courteous). We were asked if we wanted any extras on our breakfast, although they were plenty big enough and well cooked. The bar service was great, and personalised so that it was open whenever we wanted a drink - night porter bar service until 3am was above and beyond the call of duty!!!

Overall we had such a good stay on this our first joint visit to Weymouth, that we will certainly be going back - but only when the Richmoor has a vacant room for us!!

Thank you Lorraine and all staff - look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Sally & Graham

Room Tip: Lift only goes to the 2nd floor, so any mobility problems, bear this in mind.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#54 of 165 in Weymouth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Timrick Lodge
Timrick Lodge
#93 of 165 in Weymouth
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#32 of 165 in Weymouth
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmoor Hotel

Address: 146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $95 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmoor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Weymouth's seafront, on the Jurassic Coast Line, The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning scenic views. Family friendly the owners really work hard to create a welcoming and homely ambience.The Richmoor Hotel is fortunate enough to have Shelley's Restaurant onsite, an ala carte fine dining restaurant that uses fresh local ingredients to create an imaginative and fresh menu at very affordable prices. Then why not retire to the bar? Shelley's Bar and Grill boasts Seaviews, an extensive Cocktail menu and a menu full of simple food cooked well. The Bar has an Entertainment program, including Live Entertainment from some of Weymouths best singers, Karaoke, Bingo, "Fawlty Towers Dining Experiences," Games and Quizzes. For more specific information about the Entertainment during your stay please ring and enquire.All of the Richmoor Hotel rooms are Fully Ensuite and come with hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clocks and televisions. Some boast views over Weymouth Bay. The Richmoor Hotel prides itself on employing friendly, hardworking and efficient staff that will work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable, and they have a 24 hour reception with both Day Managers and Night Porters.Extra Beds in rooms and Parking can be requested via contact with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Richmoor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmoor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing