We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's wrong with people?”
Review of The Richmoor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Richmoor Hotel
Ranked #100 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What's wrong with people?”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Richmoor Hotel in Weymouth and can honestly say that we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.The reason for the title of this review is this,we booked our stay online and paid by credit card but we did not look at the reviews on this hotel however,my sister,who was coming with us did and, immediately telephoned us to tell us to look at the reviews.We went online and looked at the reviews and,to say the least we were very concerned.As we knew we would have to phone our credit card company to cancel we decided,after much debate,to go ahead and take our chances.Well,how WRONG can some people be,we saw reviews on stained bedding,small shower facilities,grumpy lanalady,food being served in stages and cold,no atmosphere?????? We want to correct those reviews and say,
1) The food was superb and,served piping hot.
2) The staff, INCLUDING the landlady,were professional,friendly and made us feel VERY welcomed.
3) The hotel provided some good entertainment and everyone took part including the landlady.
4) The hotel was VERY clean and the beds were lovely soft and comfortable.
5) The rooms had tea/coffee/milk/sugar/kettle etc which was continually replemished.
6) The showers were adequate and I managed with NO discomfort even though I have a large frame.

In conclusion,I must say that if all these qualities are not enough in an hotel then spend a grand and stay at the Ritz,that'll probably pay for one night.The Richmoor Hotel in Weymouth does not profess to be The Ritz but still,they give you all the nescessary quality service without the grandeur.I will DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Thank you to Lorriane and all her staff,excellent service and brilliant atmosphere.

Room Tip: What sort of room you require is up to you but,if you are not satisfied with what you get,Lorraine w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    171
    89
    70
    130
See reviews for
186
273
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having read the reviews prior to arriving at The Richmoor Hotel I was a little apprehensive. However, nothing could have been further from the truth. Loraine greeted us with tea/coffee & biscuits whilst our luggage was taken to our rooms. We were given all the information needed to ensure that nothing was left to chance. It transpired that quite a few guests in our coach party had been to this hotel before and we ultimately found out why. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The choice of food at dinner and breakfast was excellent, with "seconds" available if you had any room left ! The staff in the dining room were very attentive at all times and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment in the bar was varied and suited all tastes. The Hotel has a very well stocked bar at reasonable prices and the service was very professional. Loraine was a very attentive hostess and made the guests feel very welcome and was always on hand to answer any questions that arose. On the day of departure our luggage was taken down by the staff onto the coach and Loraine thanked us for staying at the Richmoor. As we started our trip back home the staff assembled on the Hotel steps to wave us goodbye. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any prospective guests and to ask them to judge for themselves and not to be put off by negative reviews. We arrived as guests but left as friends and we will certainly be back here again.

Room Tip: Room No. 305 has a marvellous sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrumpyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked this 'blind' over the internet & didn't have too high expectations as Lorraine gave us a very good price for a weekend stay. What we got was more than we could ever have expected! A lovely friendly welcome from Stacey and the lady cleaner (whose name we didn't catch). No problem that we arrived early for the usual 2pm check-in. Lots of information about things to see locally. As it was a quiet time, we were given a choice of two rooms. The one we chose had a four-poster bed(!), a sea view and was warm (even a little over-warm) and well appointed. The bathroom was adequate and plenty big enough.

What can we say about the staff? Nothing was too much trouble (even when we badly overslept and came down to breakfast very late, the service was charming and courteous). We were asked if we wanted any extras on our breakfast, although they were plenty big enough and well cooked. The bar service was great, and personalised so that it was open whenever we wanted a drink - night porter bar service until 3am was above and beyond the call of duty!!!

Overall we had such a good stay on this our first joint visit to Weymouth, that we will certainly be going back - but only when the Richmoor has a vacant room for us!!

Thank you Lorraine and all staff - look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Sally & Graham

Room Tip: Lift only goes to the 2nd floor, so any mobility problems, bear this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

********** This was an organised coash trip for a Turkey & Tinsel week-end. Had a fab week-end, staff really friendly and very helpful. We received complimentary tea and coffee on arrival. Our cases were taken to our rooms by the hotel staff. Food was excellent. Entertainment was good. Hotel on seafront not too far to walk into centre of the town. We didn't have to leave out suitcases outside our room until we went for breakfast on the morning we were leaving - other places we have stayed expect our cases to be out outside the rooms by 7am! Would definately go there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazymiller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel the other day, had an excellent time! Service was brilliant the room was spotless and the food was great, very good menu with loads of choice. Very friendly atmosphere and the owner couldn't do enough to make sure our stay at the hotel was perfect. I highly recommend the richmoor hotel if you are looking to stay in Weymouth. 10/10 thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathronax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Like many recent reviews we just had a 2 night Groupon deal. Great location on the Esplanade not far to walk to the town centre. Staff very friendly and breakfasts were very good. Overall a budget hotel but well worth it if you want a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jford53473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was part of a group of 18 friends who were booked into this hotel for a "Turkey & Tinsel" Friday-Monday break. The hotel is very well placed, overlooking the sea and a short walk from the main shoppping area. We were given a warm welcome, free tea and coffee on arrival and our cases were taken to our rooms by the staff. Our room, on the third floor, which can only be accessed by either several flights of stairs or by the tiny lift (two persons) which, unfortunately, only went to the second floor, so two more flights of stairs to finally reach our room. We were pleasantly surprised by it's spaciousness, ( though, for our friends opposite, it was a very different story, their room was barely larger than a broom cupboard!) We had a double and single bed and a tiny ensuite (no bath, shower only) Strangely, there was not even a shelf or a hook in the bathroom, so your toiletries have to be stored elsewhere. Ample supplies of tea/coffee etc provided and the bedding and towels were very nice.Overall, well presented. Mealtimes weren't well organised, our table seemed always to be the last served, and the food itself was merely ok. The first day we were there, at about 5pm, our overhead lights went out, and as the evening meal was served at 6pm, there were a lot of us trying to shower and get ready in the dark. The same thing happened the next evening, same time, and then again on the morning of our departure. However, as a bonus twist to this tale of woe, this time it was the sockets that failed, so no hairdryers, kettles or hot water or SHOWER. Unacceptable. No telephones in the rooms so, unless you were prepared to make the long trek down to reception,ring the bell for attention and wait for a member of staff to appear, you had to just get on with it.
Entertainment was provided, I will say no more about that but at least the bar stayed open until the last drinker left, so no gripes on that aspect.
The staff and the manager,Lorraine, would very nice,nothing was too much trouble and despite all the gremlins, we did, on the whole, enjoy our stay. Would I stay there again? Unlikely.

Room Tip: We were in Room 305, very spacious and had a lovely sea view....however, the beds were very uncomfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#23 of 165 in Weymouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timrick Lodge
Timrick Lodge
#98 of 165 in Weymouth
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#39 of 165 in Weymouth
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmoor Hotel

Property: The Richmoor Hotel
Address: 146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmoor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Weymouth's seafront, on the Jurassic Coast Line, The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning scenic views. Family friendly the owners really work hard to create a welcoming and homely ambience.The Richmoor Hotel is fortunate enough to have Shelley's Restaurant onsite, an ala carte fine dining restaurant that uses fresh local ingredients to create an imaginative and fresh menu at very affordable prices. Then why not retire to the bar? Shelley's Bar and Grill boasts Seaviews, an extensive Cocktail menu and a menu full of simple food cooked well. The Bar has an Entertainment program, including Live Entertainment from some of Weymouths best singers, Karaoke, Bingo, "Fawlty Towers Dining Experiences," Games and Quizzes. For more specific information about the Entertainment during your stay please ring and enquire.All of the Richmoor Hotel rooms are Fully Ensuite and come with hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clocks and televisions. Some boast views over Weymouth Bay. The Richmoor Hotel prides itself on employing friendly, hardworking and efficient staff that will work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable, and they have a 24 hour reception with both Day Managers and Night Porters.Extra Beds in rooms and Parking can be requested via contact with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Richmoor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmoor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing