We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-week stay”
Review of The Richmoor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Richmoor Hotel
Ranked #115 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mid-week stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Groupon offered a two-night stay for £99 at The Richmoor Hotel - how could we refuse? The owner, Loraine, was friendly and helpful and so were the rest of the staff we met. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the water and was well presented. We laughed each time we walked from window to door as our floor, in the wonderful old building, was slanted. We had a few minor problems that were quickly adressed as soon as we brought them to the attention of the owner. We had a great time in Weymouth and surrounding area. I would reccomend the hotel to people who wanted personable, friendly service and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyjean1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    172
    91
    72
    135
See reviews for
191
279
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
poole
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly staff, great rooms, great value for money. I was there for a solo visit, and this place suited me fine. Was able to park up near to the hotel. Considering the age of the building, I found that it was nice and quiet when I it was time to get to bed. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for those who love to be by the sea!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beck1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My stay at this hotel was only for one night but I was provided great service through the evening and the following morning. A lovely sea front location with great staff. The bed was comfortable and the room was decent! Breakfast was perfect and out to us quickly, what more could you expect.. Would defiantly return and recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaLever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great for large groups of people, we have stayed on a number of occasions. The hotel has always been clean and tidy. The staff will answer any questions you may have and are really helpful. Couldn't get enough of the breakfast.... Highly recommended at a very great price :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself, husband, elderly father-in-law and Aunty has just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Richmoor Hotel. We didn't encounter any of the complaints and negative comments made by the previous reviews. The staff were the most friendly and helpful we've encountered in a long time, our rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast good and quickly served. Fantastic location for beach and town and wouldn't hesitate in staying here again...in fact thinking of booking again in November for husband's birthday.

Room Tip: 109 Family room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Owner at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank You for the wonderful review. You have no idea how good a nice review makes me feel and makes me feel like all the hard work is worth it. We loved having you here although the night porter is missing your company in the bar at 2am. We look forward to seeing you again, and if you do make it back for your husbands birthday then we will certainly have a cake and a few drinks waiting for you!

Loraine x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twickenham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Internet deal. No reception had to ring bell to get staff to check in. Bar was like a school dining room and unmanned ,again ring bell for service! Room was laughable, shower was beside bed sink in room under smallest tv I have seen for years. Toilet on other side of bed.
Bed was comfortable but not clean looked like blood on sheets!
Breakfast excellent on first day next morning terrible. Wife didn't want full English and requested just toast with bacon and eggs, got an egg and one rasher of bacon (almost raw).
Checked out as early as we could.
Excellent location on Sea front and bar prices good but not enough to save experience.
With some thought this could be an amazing hotel but as is would never re visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Owner at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are unhappy when we feel our guests have left unsatisfied and aggrieved. If i can address your points..

We have a 24 hour reception, including a night porter. Due to being a listed building, we do not have a reception area in the hotel. We have a bell that you can ring to get a managers attention at any time of the day. We open the bar when and as the guests want it open, and where there is a demand. Again so unlike many other hotels along the Seafront we do not stick to strict opening times. However if nobody is in the bar then our staff may be doing cleaning jobs else where. As soon as you ring the bell we then happily come and serve you and if people start to trickle in then we will happily put someone permanently in there. Of course i want a full bar.
Addressing your room, it has recently been refurbished and i will happily post a photo of it on-line. The layout of your room is slightly peculiar with the en-suite i will admit. Different to all our other en-suites. If you had an issue i would of happily switched you to another room. However as you had booked on an internet deal where we get 30% of our normal tariff we gave you the standard double that you had booked.
I can not comment on your breakfast as this was not brought to my attention throughout your stay. All i can say is that your wife should of been given two rashers of bacon and two eggs, and then we go around with a platter of extras to offer people. I apologise if the breakfast was not up to standard and i will be following this up with the staff working that morning.
I am glad that you can see that we could be an excellent hotel as we normally are. I take great pride in my guests leaving happy and i am saddened when we fall short. Unfortunately you came on a quieter weekend and so you never got to enjoy the buzz or atmosphere of this place when our restaurant and bar are full. If we can convince you to give us another try and a chance for us to redeem ourselves in your eyes then please ring us directly on 01305 773435 and we will give you a similar deal to the one you received on the internet.

Loraine x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Last minute trip away for the weekend so had to make do with what we could find that wasn't fully booked! I wouldn't recommend this hotel, very dated! It appeared clean, but the next day i found bites all over my body, down my back, on my tummy, on the back of my neck! it really wouldn't hurt to update the rooms, the shower was horrible, needed scrubbing! The bed was so uncomfortable. We were also woken up in the middle of the night by 2 woman upstairs having an argument, shouting at the tops of their voices, swearing! Personally if i had owned that hotel i would have thrown them out! We won't be going back to this hotel! And i really don't appreciate being covered in bed bug bites! This hotel is nothing to be proud of!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktimbrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#59 of 165 in Weymouth
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timrick Lodge
Timrick Lodge
#100 of 165 in Weymouth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#26 of 165 in Weymouth
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#45 of 165 in Weymouth
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmoor Hotel

Property: The Richmoor Hotel
Address: 146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmoor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Weymouth's seafront, on the Jurassic Coast Line, The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning scenic views. Family friendly the owners really work hard to create a welcoming and homely ambience.The Richmoor Hotel is fortunate enough to have Shelley's Restaurant onsite, an ala carte fine dining restaurant that uses fresh local ingredients to create an imaginative and fresh menu at very affordable prices. Then why not retire to the bar? Shelley's Bar and Grill boasts Seaviews, an extensive Cocktail menu and a menu full of simple food cooked well. The Bar has an Entertainment program, including Live Entertainment from some of Weymouths best singers, Karaoke, Bingo, "Fawlty Towers Dining Experiences," Games and Quizzes. For more specific information about the Entertainment during your stay please ring and enquire.All of the Richmoor Hotel rooms are Fully Ensuite and come with hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clocks and televisions. Some boast views over Weymouth Bay. The Richmoor Hotel prides itself on employing friendly, hardworking and efficient staff that will work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable, and they have a 24 hour reception with both Day Managers and Night Porters.Extra Beds in rooms and Parking can be requested via contact with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Richmoor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmoor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing