We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent site and facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent site and facilities”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at Waterside (8 adults 4 kids all under 3), I can honestly say its the best caravan park I have ever been to!

The caravan itself was spotless, as we're the grounds and the whole site was superbly maintained.

The facilities were second to none, great indoor and outdoor pools ( we spent the week at the outdoor pool due to the heat wave, didn't see a cloud all week!) the sports bar and main venue bats were really good, modern and best of all very reasonably priced. The children's play area was fantastic and we didn't even get time to use the out door playground. There is a Spar on site as well as a fish and chip shop and restaurant which are all reasonably priced and offer a wide range of good food!

I saw some moans about the entertainment times, they have taken this on board as the bingo is now at 6-15 with kids entertainment 7-15 till 8-45, the kids entertainment was good and the kids loved it!

The park is on the beach which isn't a great beach but Weymouth is a 5 minute bus ride and the beach and surroundings are fantastic!

We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    113
    53
    16
    14
See reviews for
351
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Waterside first week of July 2013. It was my first time and was very impressed. We stayed in a caravan owned by the park in the blue area, very close to the facilities and highly recommended. Very clean and has everything you need.

The Boomers fun house and play park on the site are brilliant for the kids. We hired a car and I would recommend this as it gives you the chance to see more. If your going to the sea life centre book through reception at the park, you genuinely get the best price with a massive discount. Staff at Waterside are very helpful, highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Blue area excellent as it's close to the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_haugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been to Waterside for the past 4 years and have always thought that it was far better than any other caravan park we have been to. This is still the case, the park is clean and the facilities really good. There is a brilliant swimming pool, indoor playground, shop, take away shop and a fantastic bus service to Weymouth main beach. Unfortunately they have made changes to the entertainment which are really for the worst. There used to be a separate childrens entertainment venue and adults venue which I thought suited everybody but now they have merged the two together. The childrens entertainment starts at 6 and ends at 7.30 for bingo and then the cabaret does not start until 9.30, between these times there is nothing to do so if you are a young family wanting an evening out then you have to rush to the club for 6, which is easier said than done on holiday, and then you go home at 7.30 as the children cant stay awake until 9.30. From what I saw this was not working, there was either families with young bored children or couples who didnt want children interrupting their evening. They need to separate the entertainment again and I hope they are reading all these reviews which say the same thing. All this said, We still had a fantastic holiday and would happily come back again, Weymouth is a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Waterside Holiday Park and Spa. It was as good as ever.
Caravan in Orange park was smart and clean, I did not have to do a thing, before moving in and we felt at home straight away! We always book caravans privately as they do come up a little cheaper. Also we like to have the decking area where you can eat (weather permitting) and have a nice drink and chat. So all in all a lovely place to stay but noticed this year we were not handed a questionnaire which we could tick off?
This was a shame as everything was perfect except the loss of Boomers Fun House, where we went every evening the last few years as a extended family. We used to enjoy the entertainment as John was a fantastic entertainer for the small children and adults. Now all we had was Boomers club in the main venue which took place at 6.00pm which was far too early for us as a family.
Our daughter rushed to get there one evening for the start time and she and the children were stressed getting ready so early. That was the one and only time in the week she bothered with it!!! On the positive side we saved a lot of money as we all just sat on our decks and played snap, or walked to the cove etc. Previous years we all got together and had an evening in Boomers Fun House and John was great with us all and we would have our dinner there also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just got back from the most wonderful week at Waterside. My 2 year old absolutely loved Boomer and the disco, the swimming pools, the soft play and the little fairground opposite. Site clean, staff helpful. Beach opposite isn't great, but Weymouth not far and lovely. Wish I'd known to pack bin liners and washing up brush - first time we'd done a caravan holiday. Also wish the restaurants were more adventurous; not everything has to be with chips, some light lunches, salads etc would have been nice. Thought the kid's entertainment was good - Josh and Chloe had the kids amused, and the soft play in the spots bar was great - we had a daily coffee while our little one played.

Room Tip: We were in the yellow area. Was just a short walk down to the main centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Sports bar. No No No it's horrible too many tv's all showing the same thing. On a positive the new shop and kids indoor play is much better. But negative again why move the kids entertainment? Entertainers were not trained it was very hit and miss and john boy had the kids entertained for hours in previous years now they are board. Caravans always clean and have everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finefood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well run site. A lot of activities especially for children. Lovely layout with shop, launderette, play areas etc. Bit of a walk to the evening entertainment and others, sited outside the main park. Didn't like the swimming pool as I can only swim a bit and I felt intimidated by the depth of the water and with the flume cascading into it, it felt very choppy.Of course to competent swimmers this is not a problem. The local bus runs every 20 minutes and it goes round the site to pick up and drop off.This is ideal to get into Weymouth without a car. The caravans are very modern with good clean bedding and everything you could want in the kitchen. It even includes toilet paper and washing up liquid. There are lovely coastal walks from the site. Towards Osmington one way or round the bay into Weymouth. There is a car boot sale every Monday outside the park in Bowleaze Cove that is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan near to the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chesil Family Holiday Park
3.7 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
384 reviews
16.6 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

Property: Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterside Holiday Park & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Waterside Holiday Park And Spa
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing