We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic site but changes not so good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been to Waterside for the past 4 years and have always thought that it was far better than any other caravan park we have been to. This is still the case, the park is clean and the facilities really good. There is a brilliant swimming pool, indoor playground, shop, take away shop and a fantastic bus service to Weymouth main beach. Unfortunately they have made changes to the entertainment which are really for the worst. There used to be a separate childrens entertainment venue and adults venue which I thought suited everybody but now they have merged the two together. The childrens entertainment starts at 6 and ends at 7.30 for bingo and then the cabaret does not start until 9.30, between these times there is nothing to do so if you are a young family wanting an evening out then you have to rush to the club for 6, which is easier said than done on holiday, and then you go home at 7.30 as the children cant stay awake until 9.30. From what I saw this was not working, there was either families with young bored children or couples who didnt want children interrupting their evening. They need to separate the entertainment again and I hope they are reading all these reviews which say the same thing. All this said, We still had a fantastic holiday and would happily come back again, Weymouth is a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Waterside Holiday Park and Spa. It was as good as ever.
Caravan in Orange park was smart and clean, I did not have to do a thing, before moving in and we felt at home straight away! We always book caravans privately as they do come up a little cheaper. Also we like to have the decking area where you can eat (weather permitting) and have a nice drink and chat. So all in all a lovely place to stay but noticed this year we were not handed a questionnaire which we could tick off?
This was a shame as everything was perfect except the loss of Boomers Fun House, where we went every evening the last few years as a extended family. We used to enjoy the entertainment as John was a fantastic entertainer for the small children and adults. Now all we had was Boomers club in the main venue which took place at 6.00pm which was far too early for us as a family.
Our daughter rushed to get there one evening for the start time and she and the children were stressed getting ready so early. That was the one and only time in the week she bothered with it!!! On the positive side we saved a lot of money as we all just sat on our decks and played snap, or walked to the cove etc. Previous years we all got together and had an evening in Boomers Fun House and John was great with us all and we would have our dinner there also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just got back from the most wonderful week at Waterside. My 2 year old absolutely loved Boomer and the disco, the swimming pools, the soft play and the little fairground opposite. Site clean, staff helpful. Beach opposite isn't great, but Weymouth not far and lovely. Wish I'd known to pack bin liners and washing up brush - first time we'd done a caravan holiday. Also wish the restaurants were more adventurous; not everything has to be with chips, some light lunches, salads etc would have been nice. Thought the kid's entertainment was good - Josh and Chloe had the kids amused, and the soft play in the spots bar was great - we had a daily coffee while our little one played.

Room Tip: We were in the yellow area. Was just a short walk down to the main centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Sports bar. No No No it's horrible too many tv's all showing the same thing. On a positive the new shop and kids indoor play is much better. But negative again why move the kids entertainment? Entertainers were not trained it was very hit and miss and john boy had the kids entertained for hours in previous years now they are board. Caravans always clean and have everything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finefood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well run site. A lot of activities especially for children. Lovely layout with shop, launderette, play areas etc. Bit of a walk to the evening entertainment and others, sited outside the main park. Didn't like the swimming pool as I can only swim a bit and I felt intimidated by the depth of the water and with the flume cascading into it, it felt very choppy.Of course to competent swimmers this is not a problem. The local bus runs every 20 minutes and it goes round the site to pick up and drop off.This is ideal to get into Weymouth without a car. The caravans are very modern with good clean bedding and everything you could want in the kitchen. It even includes toilet paper and washing up liquid. There are lovely coastal walks from the site. Towards Osmington one way or round the bay into Weymouth. There is a car boot sale every Monday outside the park in Bowleaze Cove that is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan near to the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Waterside was not livley enought for us, but it was every clean and the staff where all very friendly and helpfull.Entertainment was good for the amount of people there, they tried very hard and we had a good laf. I do like a game of bingo, so the idea of linking up with the other 39 sites, made the moey worth winning.(but I was not that lucky)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ces1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from weeks holiday in a privately owned caravan in the green area,caravan was really clean and spacious.We have been to this site on and off for the past 20 years unfortunately think this will be last time the entertainment is truly shocking & at times embarrassing it's just chaos in the clubhouse no organisation at all. Kids club should be moved back to original setting as soon as possible before its too late would hate to see waterside fail!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wizgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
Chesil Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
434 reviews
16.6 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
3.9 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterside Holiday Park & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Waterside Holiday Park And Spa
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing