We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be lovely spot in the summer”

Galley Bistro & Bar
Ranked #37 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Must be lovely spot in the summer”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Five of us went to this restaurant one evening after Easter, very pleasant, service good, good choice on menu and helpings plentiful, so beware if you have a starter as well as main course you may not have room for a pudding! The seabass was massive, head and tail off the plate, lamb wellington very tender and the scampi plentiful. Would recommend, and to sit outside in the summer would I imagine, be lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelinspectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    112
    53
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
“Visit to Galley Bistro (April 2013)”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found this restaurant 5 years ago, when we purchased a static caravan and have been going there ever since. The staff are really friendly, very attentive and really good with children. You will not find a better breakfast in Weymouth! really good food and value for money. Their evening menu will have something for everyone and their fish dishes are delicious. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and they made us feel special on our first visit and every time since when we have visited. We have felt so comfortable at the restaurant that we have taken friends and they have thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a seating area outside where you can just have a drink if you wish and soak up the Weymouth atmosphere and sunshine in the summer. If you haven't been please go and find out for yourself. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneP799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Came here for dinner one evening when on holiday in Weymouth. Both me and my partner had an amazing meal, the lamb wellington in particular was sublime! Atmosphere was great and service was excellent! Will be coming here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanneA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A meal to die for”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great atmosphere in a room that was decorated thematically to a ship. The service was fantastic and we were never left waiting. The food was fresh and delicious. Be sure to try the Lamb Wellington, possibly one of the nicest dishes I have ever eaten! The gravy was perfect, the lamb falling apart and pastry cooked to perfection. If I ever go back to Weymouth it will be for the sole purpose of eating that meal again. My only criticism is the the customer toilets could have been a bit nicer, they are a little cramped and could do with an update, but we don't go to restaurants to do the numbers, we go for the food, so the galley bistro gets a well deserved 5*.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjbgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb meal and setting with exemplary service and value for money!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal this evening. My husband had the new Lamb Wellington with Palma ham and pâté and is a convert from our usual Wessex Steak. I had the Wessex and it was beyond wonderful with Stilton and mushroom topping. We also ended up having pudding (rude not to) so feel we need to walk it all off now!! Also loved the new shaped plates, on the whole a real Bank holiday Monday treat!! 15/10!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Galley Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing