We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A local secret”

Galley Bistro & Bar
Ranked #32 of 281 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A local secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Having taken advantage of their two steaks and a bottle of wine for the past two Fridays, I can only praise the quality of the food, the portion size and even the quality of the wine. Considering how busy they are, the staff are always pleasant and helpfull.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    104
    52
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First visit but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went there last night to celebrate wife's birthday with our daughter. Thankfully we had booked a table, as it was full. Friday is steak night with 2 steaks & a bottle of wine for £19-99..Bargain !!! Incuded in this steak menu is gammon & chicken Dijonaisse. Despite being full, the service was good & the food excellent, with a choice of veg or salad. Could not fault anything. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malkiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
191 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT IN ALL RESPECTS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Clean, Comfortable, Welcoming, Friendly Helpful & Efficient Staff, and whoever is in the kitchen knows what they are doing...THE FOOD IS FIRST CLASS, and the prices are reasonable. Who could want for more?

We arrived shortly after 6.00pm on a cold February evening, were warmly greeted and seated in an otherwise empty restaurant. We were immediately supplied with very interesting (and fairly extensive) menus, our drinks order was taken and delivered to our table in no time at all. Our food order was taken just as soon as we indicated to the waitress that we were ready to order. Our food arrived in exactly the time that would be expected, my Wife had a lasagne with chips and salad which she really enjoyed (she is an extremely fussy eater and if she says it is good then I can gurantee that it is exceptionally good!). I chose the slow cooked oven braised lamb which arrived in a large deep dish/plate surrounded by lovely tasty gravy (not a few drops of 'jus' you would get in a 'fine dining' michelin * restaurant) and came with two side dishes, one being a bowl of chips (perfectly fried), and the other being a dish of vegetables which included french fine beans, carrots, and peas (not exactly sure what the peas were but they were either chubby mange-tout or slim sugar snaps!). Whatever the peas were they were excellent and the whole dish had obviously been freshly cooked.

I cannot conclude this review without a mention of our waitress Rebecca (or Becky). This very friendly young lady was very helpful and at all times throughout our visit was attentive without being intrusive. Thank you Becky.

In conclusion I must say that my Wife and I enjoyed our visit, and feel that I must mention the value aspect of the visit......We enjoyed two excellent meals, a soft drink, a bottle of the house wine (which is good!) and the total bill was well under £40.00.

The GALLEY BISTRO is not a pretentious fine dining establishment trying to get a Michelin star so they can charge the earth for a poncy platter of nosh, the Galley Bistro provides good honest, well cooked British food, at a very reasonable price. IF YOU VISIT - YOU WILL ENJOY.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best carvery in weymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A really cosy and welcoming restaurant that does an amazing carvery on a Sunday, as well as a delicious menu. Very generous portions and brilliant service. We love to go there because of the family friendly environment and in a great location due to being right by the harbour desserts are yummy as well. Probably my favourite place to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenshorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
143 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Superb setting in Hope Square near Weymouth Harbour. I'm sure this place will do better once the currently defunct Brewer's Quay is renovated. Popped in on spec on a Thursday evening, rather quiet but this is the January doldrums. Very attractive and interesting interior, was presumably once a harbour-side warehouse of some sort. Great service and great food, we both had a Mushroom Wellington which was a proper plate of food in anyone's books. Room for lots of people in here, must have real atmosphere when it is full. Could very much recommend this place and we will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Galley Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing