We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lovely Lantana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lantana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lantana
Ranked #70 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Lovely Lantana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have visited the Lantana many times in the past - and always thought it to be a good B&B. However, the new owners have taken it that step further - it is now excellent.

The location is the best in Weymouth. All rooms have either a bay or harbour view. I stayed for a week (including the Jubilee weekend) on my own. I had a fantastic room with a bay window - overlooking Weymouth beach. Although the Lantana is situated very near to the beach, shops, harbour, and all the restaurants - it is very quiet.

Sharon and Steve are such a lovely couple - and they really spoilt me. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They even stored my (very heavy) suitcase on the morning I was leaving - and brought it down the stairs on to the pavement for me. By then it was raining very heavily - so this kind act was much appreciated.

A+ for cleanliness, comfy bed, and facilities. An excellent breakfast was served by their son Ronnie - a helpful and charming young man.

I cannot recommend the Lantana too highly.

Thank you Sharon, Steve & Ronnie - for a really enjoyable stay - I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLewis814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at the Lantana for the Jubilee weekend and had a really great time. As a single traveller I enjoyed a wonderful room overlooking the harbour. I have resided at the Lantana on a few previous occasions over the last three years and the location is absolutely unbelieveable, next to the habour and beach and also within 2 minutes walk of all shopping and bar/restaurants you could want. The Lantana has been taken over by new owners who have taken to the task admirably since I visited in September 2011. The cleanliness and level of assistance was second to none, and the breakfasts were filling, tasty and plentiful. I could not recommend the Lantana enough.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed in Room 9 for one week in April, such a great view, room very comfortable and warm in the not so great spring weather. The hosts Sharon & Steve so welcoming and friendly. Would definitely go back there, so flexible and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for this couple.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

With the weather set to be super for the weekend we decided on the Thursday morning to see if there were any rooms available and luckily there were still two, which was just what we needed. We stayed on the top floor, Rooms 8 & 9, one overlooked the beach and the other one the harbour. What impressed us about the rooms we stayed in were how clean they were, the beautiful crisp bedding and the lovely fresh smell every time you entered the room. The hosts were brilliant so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were spoilt in the mornings with a choice of cereals plus a delicious home cooked breakfast. The position is so convenient and the views were stunning. We will be back again and will certainly be recommending it to our friends. .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed in room 1 clean and spacious with a fabulous view of Weymouth bay, the new managers Sharon & Steve made us very welcome. Excellent Hosts excellent B&B will defiantly go again.

Room Tip: Room 1 Sea view Room 2 Harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Top class B&B.
Wonderful owner.
First class english breakfast
Rooms are nice size, and clean
Going back next year with a full crew.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PistolPete2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed in room 1 with a lovely view of the Harbour.The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed.The bathroom small but this is to be expected .The shower did take a long time for the water to heat up.There was soap provided and 4 small towells.
There was tea/coffee facilities and a tv.Plenty of coat hangers in wardrobe.
Kate was very friendly and worked really hard as everyone tended to come down for breakfast at the same time !! Didnt see Andy but think he must of been cooking the lovely breakfast we had.There was cereal and juice also if you wanted it.
Parking was a nightmare but this was expected as it was bank holiday.
I would love to stay again .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarabrogan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#26 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#23 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#102 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wadham Guesthouse
Wadham Guesthouse
#72 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Sands Guest House
Weymouth Sands Guest House
#86 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantana

Property: The Lantana
Address: 13 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Lantana Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing