We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tadworth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Laceys Guest House.
It was in a small road away from the hustle and bustle of Weymouth seafront.
The room was clean and had all the amenties you would expect.
Breakfast was brilliant and our hosts Nigel and Wendy were terrific.
Would recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxhill2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    20
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
98
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lacey's guest house is a good place to stay if you like rules or you are an older couple without children. We booked to stay ther as three girls all in our late 20's early 30's we are not a hen party or a riotous bunch of girls. We was met by the owner named Nigel who gave us a very comprehensive unnecessary handover of filling in forms and registering with the place a very similar sysetem as to when you register with the local authority abroad! He asked for home address and phone numbers individually it was a tedious process after a 5 hour journey. There was also a welcome booklet of info of the b and b again a little over the top. We were informed that breakfast was between 8-8.30 which I commented on being early to which the response was " I always tell people when they remark about breakfast being early they should go to a 5* hotel if they are not happy" which I thought Was very bad customer service and was rather rude. I felt that as a group of young ladies that they were stereotyping us and unhappy to have us stay. There was a magnetic board which we were expected to move magnets to state whether we were in or out again a ridiculous unnecessary procedure when we returned for one of our nights out we did admittedly make a smiley face out of the magnets to which we received a light reprimand for at breakfast, so we naturally continued to make smiley faces only to eventually have the board removed.! Due to breakfast being so early we returned to bed for an hour after so put the do not disturb sign on the door so undrestandably we didn't get our room made up which was fine. However on going out on the second night we was met with the landlady Wendy who came out and asked if we had turned the lights off which was a genuine mistake we offered to go and turnthe lights off and her response was " don't worry I will do it again". This made sense as when we were out she Was entering our room moving hair dryers straighteners closing windows however not making the beds up now while I understand that it is there house and business I felt this was a huge invasion of privacy we had paid for the room and I felt her entering it without consultation or reason and then moving our property was very inappropriate. On our last day our breakfast was missing beans which they did offer to rectify and we was reminded that the check out was 10 am it was 8:50 and when we commented it was only 8:50 we was met with the response of I was only reminding you so you don't forget. He then went and informed his wife that he had told us as we heard him from the dining room. On leaving they stood in the foyer when we put our bags outside the closed the door and didn't say bye, which summed up our experience and the general opinion of us. Overall the food was average cleanliness excellent customer service selective to who you are and invasion of privacy awful. I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend this b and b to my friends however I would say that older couples would be made to feel more welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holidayfun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laceyswey, Owner at Lacey's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The title of their review says it all. We once had a group of three 17yr old schoolgirls who had more respect for us, our guest house and our fellow guests than this group.

If they worked in the travel industry (which we think they did) they would have known that it is a requirement of “Visit England” accredited B&B’s and Guest Houses to ask guests to fill in registration documents with information required by law. This being the Hotel Registration Act 1956, which we are required to display on our premises. The registration forms also serve as fire documents, so that we have a record of who is staying on the premises if the worst should happen and that next of kin can be informed. Just remember the hotel fires of recent years when it took a long time to find out who exactly was staying at these hotels. We cannot understand the moan about our information pack which our Visit England Hotel Inspector has rated as excellent.

As these guests state, we also have a magnetic in/out board which lets us know (and any fire officer) which rooms are occupied at any time of the day and night. It was therefore sheer stupidity to play around with this board, making smiley faces. For 3 days, we had no idea of who was on the property at any time. It also caused our other guests some concern.

They also seemed to have a policy of leaving ALL lights on in their room when they went out, plus plugging in all electrical equipment including hair dryers, tongs and the kettle that they could lay their hands on. Apart from being an obvious fire risk, the noise from the bathroom fan being on all the time, disturbed the rooms above and below theirs. Again this wasn’t naughty little girl behaviour, it was sheer stupidity not expected of adults who should have regard for the safety of their fellow guests.

Our T & C’s state that we can enter a guest room at any time. We exercised this right when they went out, to turn of all the electrical equipment. This being for the safety of all our other guests and the building. On entering the room we found that the floor and beds were absolutely covered with their cloths and bags. NO WAY could we make their beds. The three 17 year olds that stayed with us the previous year were far tidier.

The comments about early breakfasts come up again and again. In common with most guest houses and B&B’s, breakfast time normally finishes at 9am. This gives us time to sort ourselves out before guest sign out at 10am. Guest houses are not hotels and do not have the staffing to operate all day breakfasts. Our breakfast times are stated on our website. The majority of our guests are aware of these times before they arrive and judging by the overwhelming excellent reviews are happy with the situation. Many return to us year after year.

True, this group was not noisy but we were glad when they left. They had no regard for the safety and well being of our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Family Room. Received a warm welcome from Nigel. Everywhere was spotless. Nothing was too much trouble. Off road parking available and only a ten minute walk from beach. Superb cooked breakfast with plenty of alternatives for those wanting fresh fruit and yoghurt. I would recommend Wendy's homemade lemon marmalade. A warm and friendly Guest House which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Comfy bed, quiet area but within minutes of town centre. Superb cooked breakfast with good choice of alternatives. Owners very helpful with good local knowledge of points of interest and places to eat. Bonus is good off road parking although a bit tight for a big car. With good public transport, just park up and forget the car. Bedroom with ensuite clean, nicely decorated. Overall excellent place to stay. Would recomend.
Steve D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The owners of this guest house (Nigel and Wendy) are very friendly and helpful. We always stay in room 1, which is airy and quite spacious. The guest house itself is very clean and tidy.
If there is anything you need to know about where to eat or visit Nigel is very knowledgeable!

I would say this is one of the best places we've stayed, and would reccommend it to anybody looking for friendly, convenient accommodation in Weymouth town centre!

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor, so is very handy if you're not good with stairs, or have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland on Sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was a last minute booking so we did not have time to research properly. Where the guest house is located is very good with a 4 minute walk into the town centre. Car parking is a bit tight but available which is good news for Weymouth which has little parking.
The room we had was on the ground floor and allthough the ensuite is very small it served its purpose (though a better quality loo seat Would have been nicer) . Where the room fell down for us was the lack of room round the bed with barely 9 inch's each side which made it almost impssible to stand up out of the bed, We had to shuffle along to the end of the bed to stand up properly. In my opinion this room is not big enough to be a double as getting in and out of bed should come as standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This guest house has 2 lovely owners in Nigel and Wendy who are very friendly, very helpful and have great local knowlwdge - not just for Weymouth but the whole of Dorset and beyond. The room was nice, a good size and clean, the breakfast was delicious and the bathroom was excellent. There is also a fridge for people to use and the front entrance is full of all kinds of leaflets to suit all people, regardless of what attractions or type of holiday you are looking for. Off street and free parking is very good and its a quiet cul-de-sac with no noise. Lastly I would like to thank the owners for looking after me when I was ill one day on my holiday. A very pleasant stay that I would highly recommend to anyone.

Many thanks, Bob.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pebbles
The Pebbles
#38 of 165 in Weymouth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#34 of 165 in Weymouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacey's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacey's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Holland Road, Weymouth DT4 0AL, England (Formerly Lacey's Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lacey's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Silver award accredited by Enjoy England. FREE ON-SITE PARKING. Lacey's B&B is situated in an excellent spot close to the beach, harbour, railway station and town centre. For those who wish to come by car, we have plenty of on-site parking so you can enjoy Weymouth without using your car. We offer very well equipped rooms (4 en-suite) all with Tea & Coffee making facilities, colour TV/DVD (all with catch-up channels), Clock Radio, Hairdryer and 5 double mains sockets. Rooms are centrally heated with FREE WiFi and hard-wired Internet. A new bathroom has been installed on our top floor which is only shared by 2 standard rooms (a maximum of 3 people). This can become a family suite. Restrictions: No children under 5. No single sex groups. No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lacey's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacey`s Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing