We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #43 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed at Lacey's for 2 weeks (Mon - Fri) having just started a new job in the Weymouth area. I would agree with other reviewers who have stated that everything is "as advertised" and more. The key attractions for me were off road parking, wifi, price and proximity to the centre (just a short walk). Nigel and Wendy are very good hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They even saved the local Thursday newspaper for me as that edition contains houses for sale and they knew that I was looking to relocate to the area. Breakfast is delicious with a full range of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cooked and toast - certainly set me up for the day.

My room was only a single but it was spacious, well appointed and had access to a huge recently refurbished bathroom. Provision of in-room refreshments was nice with additional milk being available from a central fridge on the first floor landing. Ironing facilities are also available from the same location. The front entrance porch contains considerable information on local attractions and Nigel appears to be an oracle of useful tips. Want to know the best place to eat, park, shop, etc then Nigel is your man.

If you want a warm friendly base from which to explore Weymouth and the surrounding area then look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry_from_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 168 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

I do not usually rate places but feel I have to following our 4 night stay. The hosts are clearly doing a very professional job but still maintaining a very friendly/welcoming experience. They provide everything as expected and stated, but then provide additional touches that are not expected. Simple things like a fridge on the landing with additional milk, sewing kit, iron and board etc. and all accesable with out having to ask. Also, a modern seaside B&B there are no ancient patterned carpets or outdated wallpaper from the 80's. Excellent free parking and a short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_and_Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed on the ground floor room which is bigger than it looks in the photos. It felt very private, the walls are good and thick and you couldn't hear any other guests at all. Breakfast was huge with lots of choices, fruit salad, yoghurt, fry ups, porridge, real coffee, toast.....
The room was clean and light and had loads of thoughtful touches, a hairdryer, plenty of towels, hot chocolate and biscuits. The landlords have put a lot of thought and effort into making Laceys a lovely place to stay. It takes about 5 minutes to walk into Weymouth town centre if you walk fast. From laminated maps and discount vouchers to reams of local information from Mr Lacey himself.
Fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaColeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Ignore all the negative reviews, they are obviously written by penickity guests or jealous opposition, This small but very comfortable guest house is exactly as described in the advertisements and positive reviews. We have just returned from a three day stay and found the accommodation warm clean comfortable and friendly. Nothing is overlooked to make the stay comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for Nigel and Wendy.

Thanks for posting the slippers back, Martin is out of the doghouse now. !!!

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie_burd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have now stayed with Nigel and Wendy for 16 months on a 3 nights a week basis whilst working within Weymouth area. During November and December they closed the place (apart from me) to upgrade the bathrooms in rooms 4 & 5, totally refurbished room 3 (found the original bell cable dating back to when there where servants within the house), installed a new bathroom on the upper floor and decorated rooms 8 & 9. The accommodation in this victorian house is all of a good standard, clean, well presented and comfortable. Wendy and Nigel provide a excellent breakfast with a wide choice. Nigel is very knowledgable about the local area, its attractions and history. There is parking to the front and rear of the property which is situated within a quiet cul-de-sac approximately 10 minutes walk from the sea front. I would recommend this establishment to all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mal_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We just love this place have never been back to the same place twice EVER in 27 years till we found this. The host Wendy and Nigel are just so friendly and helpful, just speak to them nothing is too much trouble. It is our break away from all the stresses of homelife and a respite so we can get back to it all. We could not recommend it more. Free parking, quiet, close to Town/shops and free wifi.

Room Tip: ground floor room 1
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

A warm welcome, with just the essential information given by Nigel. Room was good, clean and with all necessary extras. Breakfast was excellent- egg boiled to perfection. A gem tucked away near the marina. If we needed somewhere in Weymouth again we would definitely book here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedontworkanymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Greenwood Guest House
Greenwood Guest House
#40 of 165 in Weymouth
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#80 of 165 in Weymouth
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seacrest Guest House
Seacrest Guest House
#95 of 165 in Weymouth
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rosefield
The Rosefield
#68 of 165 in Weymouth
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacey's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacey's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12 Holland Road, Weymouth DT4 0AL, England (Formerly Lacey's Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lacey's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Silver award accredited by Enjoy England. FREE ON-SITE PARKING. Lacey's B&B is situated in an excellent spot close to the beach, harbour, railway station and town centre. For those who wish to come by car, we have plenty of on-site parking so you can enjoy Weymouth without using your car. We offer very well equipped rooms (4 en-suite) all with Tea & Coffee making facilities, colour TV/DVD (all with catch-up channels), Clock Radio, Hairdryer and 5 double mains sockets. Rooms are centrally heated with FREE WiFi and hard-wired Internet. A new bathroom has been installed on our top floor which is only shared by 2 standard rooms (a maximum of 3 people). This can become a family suite. Restrictions: No children under 5. No single sex groups. No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lacey's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacey`s Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing