We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Review of Aaran Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aaran Guesthouse
Ranked #64 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed at Aaran house half a dozen or more times and each and every time has been an absolute pleasure. Jim and Denise are the perfect hosts with a lovely warm welcome and service to rival any other out there. I have only ever stayed in room 4 which overlooks the harbour and find it so relaxing that I request it every time I stay and luckily it's been available so far. I have stayed with male friends whilst on fishing trips and I have also stayed with the girlfriend too and so long as you are respectful and behave yourself they have no problems with catering for fishing trips. Truth be told the reason we started staying here was because of how close to the harbour and town it is and after that first time we wouldn't look anywhere else. It's also very close to the beach and the condor ferries (when they open it up again). The rooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities (and biscuits!) with very comfy beds. Tv in your room also downstairs in the sitting room. The shower is very good, hot and powerful. Neither me or anyone I have stayed there with has ever had a bad word to say about the breakfast, in fact it is probably one of the best breakfasts I have had. Jim or Denise ask you what you would or wouldn't like, not just a generic fry up put in front of you, these are tailored breakfasts! Tea or coffee?, white or brown toast? Beans or no beans?, sausage or no sausage?, The list goes on, there are cereals if you don't fancy a fry up but I have no doubt that they would give you the food off their plates if that was what you wanted! They really are that attentive. Looking forward to staying in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are either harbour or bay view so either way you're a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikeronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Biker Ronnie
Thank you for your lovely review - we are delighted you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Denise & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent a lovely couple of day here, the guest house is at the quiet end of Weymouth which was just what we wanted. The room was quite small because there has been an en suite added. There was everything we needed in the room though, and it was clean. Breakfast was optional which was good too as we like to go out and walk then have breakfast.
The view is great we had a great big window with a view of the whole of the bay. There is loads of good places to eat within a few minutes walk. If you like fishing great place to go. Loads of place to go and see in and around the area.
The proprietor was available all the time too, but not overbearing. All in all great stay in a nice clean friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Inaandbillmackie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Aaron House whilst visiting friends. Denise gave us a warm welcome when we arrived, the room was great, clean with very comfy beds, the shower was great too, I have stayed at very expensive hotels which had dribbling shower pressure, not here though, they were fab!. A great view awaited us when we woke looking out across the bay... breakfast was very tasty and the staff were all friendly and welcoming... there is a lot of choices to make when staying at a seaside holiday location, so all I can say is book with confidence when staying here...

Room Tip: Room 1 was front facing. looking out over the bay, but the website gives you all that detail anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneHansford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My mum and I stayed here for 4 nights and could not fault anything. From a warm welcome to a caring seeing us off on the last day we felt like we had been invited to stay with family. The room was well equipped with a luxury towel bale, comfortable bed, tv, shower, chairs, side tables and a handy fridge. The little touches like toiletries, chocolates, bottles of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits just added to the feeling of welcoming. The room was toasty and comfy. The views beautiful. The breakfasts scrummy! Denise and Jim could not have been kinder, more caring or helpful. An A* experience. Could not recommend more!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiggr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a really nice, clean place to stay! Welcomed warmly by the owhers. Although we only stayed for one night everything was really good. Oh and by the way what a cracking breakfast 5*. Dedinately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed for one night over the bank holiday and found it to be an excellent hotel. The location is excellent as its close to the harbour and beach.

The room was excellent and overlooked the beach. I can't think of a better view i've ever had from a hotel room before to be honest. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The English breakfast was also very good.

Looking forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerrigan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A clean and basic hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in a room that looked across the beach and Esplanade. Friendly reception on arrival and all basic amenities in the room. The breakfast is ample in quantity, but leaves much to be desired in terms of quality. Tasteless eggs, sausages with maxi cereal and mini meat. Toast using the cheapest of slices bread. I would prefer a better breakfast and not have a chocolate on my pillow!

Room Tip: Rooms noisy during holidays when the fair is outside in front of the Paviliion theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazyfatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Mrs Fatfish,
your comments about our breakfast are rather misguided and misleading. We use Foot's Farm eggs, Little Angus bacon, Neway Farm sausages, thick-slice Hovis or Kingsmill white or brown bread (definitely not the cheapest!), HP or Branston beans, fresh tomatoes grilled - and so on. We spend more on our breakfast ingredients than the vast majority of our competitors - we also cook fresh that morning, unlike some competitors. Our ingredients cost £4:86 per breakfast including toast and drinks plus overhead on top of that. Since we charge nothing for breakfast I would say that is something of a bargain.
You could for example stay nearby, paying up to £250 per night and face very similar ingredients for breakfast, but probably not in such generous proportions and not served by the owners. I am sorry we are a 3-star guest house and not a 5-star luxury hotel but we do our best
On the occasion you stayed with us, we were unable to obtain thick sliced bread from our shops here in Weymouth and you appear to have based your comments on that sole fact. We would like you to read the other reviews, both on Trip Advisor and on Eviivo, for example and then study our guest book - where EVERY comment about our breakfasts is good.
Thank you for your attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gresham Guest House
Gresham Guest House
#62 of 166 in Weymouth
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#35 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#30 of 166 in Weymouth
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#78 of 166 in Weymouth
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaran Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaran Guesthouse

Address: 2 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $66 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aaran Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy family-run Guesthouse with fantastic views from every room and generous freshly cooked breakfasts. We do NOT include wifi in our accommodation offer but we do include great value and friendly service. Every room has a spectacular uninterrupted view, either the Sea or the Harbour. All attractions and major events are just a step away. Pubs and restaurants are all nearby. We are the ideal spot to relax and plan exciting days out in Dorset, with all the Jurassic Coast and Hardy Country to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aaran Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaran Guesthouse Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing