We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weymouth Bay Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break booked via the sun £9.50 deal and we have had a great time, our caravan was clean and comfortable, 3bedrooms, central heating, tv with a few freeview channels, microwave, great hot powerful shower, we provided our own bedding so can not comment on that.
We ate in the clubhouse on our first evening, the food was ok nothing special they were very busy and we had to wait a while. We did not go to any of the entertainment but we had great fun in the amusements and my daughter loved the soft play area. Some friends we travelled with used the swimming pool and lazy river which they said was great.
The park itself was well kept and very tidy and all the staff we had contact with were very helpful and friendly, check in and out both very quick and easy.
The on site shop was a little more expensive than others but its going to be on a site, there is a shop outside the park over the road not sure if that was any cheaper.
We visited the sea life centre, monkey world and lulworth cove which were all great days out.
All in all we had a fab weekend at Weymouth bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckyNpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner Linda and I have just recently returned from a stay at "Seaview" Holiday Park, Preston, Weymouth. This wasn’t an entirely new experience for us because we have stayed at Weymouth Bay, the park next door - on three other occasions - this too being “Haven”.
I have in fact spoken very favourably in the past on “Trip Advisor” regarding Weymouth Bay ... greatly enjoying my stays there. I was therefore expecting more of the same at sister park Seaview - and we weren't disappointed - for Linda and I also thoroughly enjoyed our break here also.
Firstly our caravan was spotlessly clean - always an important issue with both of us. Being also early October, the van was cosy, warm and comfortable. The shower unit was particularly good and although the TV screen was a little on the small side, we managed okay and also enjoyed eating in for 2 of the 4 nights we were there. One delicious meal was provided by one of the two nearby Preston fish & chip shops and the other from the onsite Papa John’s Pizza - all washed down of course with a glass or two of wine.
Other nights were spent firstly at the Poole Pirates Speedway, Wimborne Road - (the “Place Of Pace” as they call it) - who as we are from the next county of Hampshire we follow the fortunes of. So if you have never tried speedway as a spectator sport - you should give it a go. It’s excellent value, suitable for all ages and thrill a minute stuff. Pirates also possess some of the Sport’s greatest stars within their ranks in Holder, Ward & Kasperzjach.
Our last night though, sent us on another visit to an old favourite - the “Spy Glass Inn”. This can be found down the road apiece just beyond Bowleaze Cove. You can stroll there, either over the hillside - or via the road (twenty to thirty minutes) ... or catch the very handy regular bus service, 4 & 4b that runs day and evenings to and from The Kings Statue at Weymouth - covering a loop route to Preston, via Haven's Holiday Parks.
At the “Spy Glass” you’ll find great beers and delicious food all day, either on the carvery or off the extensive menu. There is also a curry night, because, lets face it, some like it hot. This is a large and excellent food pub with a good atmosphere and friendly staff. Nothing’s too much trouble etc. Also there is a good view from the beer garden and at night, the bay, sweeping round to Weymouth itself, looks terrific when lit.
There is also now in fact, one “not there before” outstanding landmark in addition to the view I mentioned - and last indulged in a year ago. Previously of an evening, there was no large vermilion coloured light flashing from the direction of Weymouth Pavilion. That's because the new “Revolving Sea Life Tower”, a brand new and hopefully permanent attraction had not then been ensconced. It is now.
So taking advantage of clear and sunny weather on our last full day we enjoyed elevation into the sky in our transparent dome that somewhat resembles a glass flying saucer .... took two revolutions out over the sea and espied stunning, panoramic views of Weymouth and the lovely county of Dorset. It's a very gentle and relaxing trip and is accompanied by a back-drop of informed commentary spoken by your resident “lift attendant”. We both recommend visitors to give this particular flight of fancy a whirl.
Meanwhile back at Seaview:- Well I’m afraid I cant tell you much about the swimming pool.
Yes it WAS open as usual (due later for refurbishment I think) because for some reason, we didn’t this time take to the water. Also,on this particular break, we didn’t have that much to do with the staff either. We were just too busy taking advantage of our short holiday. However on the few occasions when we did consult "Haven Staff", they were, as always, very helpful & wearing a cheerful smile - and you can’t ask for more than that.
In fact for me, that’s one of the best things about “Haven Holiday Parks”. You get left alone to enjoy the relaxation, the countryside, the peace and quiet and all that the area has to offer. Thanks once again Haven. See you again I’m sure. Chris Newman.

Room Tip: As with any trip, do your research and "holiday homework" well. E.g. print yourself off a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chrisnewman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this holiday to get away for a final break with our children before they decided they to do their own thing (one aged 16 and one aged 19) and had a lovely weekend. We used to visit this caravan park when the kids were little and it brought back some lovely memories. Caravan was a bit close to the road that ran through the site and close to the play area but other than that it was lovely. Clean and comfortable. Even with our son and daughter sharing a bedroom there was no moaning.

We just wanted a nice quiet family weekend break which is what we got. Clubhouse was nice and we ate out in the evening and on Sunday morning. Food was very nice. Staff were very polite and friendly, and often asked if we were having a good time. Didn't use the entertainment but families that went seemed to be enjoying themselves. We did go to the amusements and had a really good time.

We live in a seaside resort in Somerset and it was really nice to feel like we were on holiday and getting away from it all. Check-in was quick and easy and when we checked-out we simply had to leave our keys with a member of staff.

Plenty to visit with Portland Lighthouse, Weymouth beach and looking at all the water sports.

Overall a good family holiday and if you have young children they will really enjoy themselves. Also, had fun shopping in Weymouth. Had a very nice Indian take-away from Chilli's in Weymouth. Staff very friendly and lots of food!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My grandparents own a caravan here as they enjoyed coming here so much with the grandchildren etc and we love it every time we stay here... As a child I stayed here many times but over the years it's improved. Now my wife and I take our daughter here and we'll continue to every year as there is plenty for her to do.. It's a lovely walk from the campsite into Weymouth town centre, especially if the weather is on your side!!

The entertainment on the night has a perfect mix for children and adults. With the fun factor for children and the late night games/shows for the grown-ups.

The new lazy pool is a great addition

Amusements to keep all ages happy and a nice bar/restaurant if you feel too lazy to cook :)

Room Tip: Try to get a caravan close to the amenities as it can be a trek back on a night especially if the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordon_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed her from 05/10- 08/10 and our 4th stay - we booked direct rather than via sun holidays deals! Its not more expensive to book directly. Great service from the 2nd we arrrived. reception friendly and checked in slightly earlier than expected to.

Caravan was far nicer than expected , very clean - stayed in Ascot 1 so away from the entertainment complex however it was right next to the church, with its constant bells ringing every hour of the night. not a major problem.

Pool once again lovely and very clean.

Entertainment was great - its all about the kids so if you dont have any your not going to enjoy this. The band on the friday was great too. Played a variety of songs. Didnt stay for saturday and sunday night.

All in all a really nice stay and would return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank precious123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked a four night stay with The Sun newspaper holiday offer. Be warned - pay extra for their ' entertainment and facilities passes ' - they don't like it if you don't. This is a huge site, and we were shunned to the furthest and ugliest corner of it. From our - reasonably nice - caravan, we had a charming view of the decrepid old caravan storage area, complete with skips, piles of junk and ankle deep mud. There is also an extortionate hidden charge for electric / gas. For this, you get the most pathetic heaters imaginable , and only vaguely lukewarm showers.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1paddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our 3rd time at this park.The first time was 33yrs ago when it was just a field with a few caravans in.We arrived early and had to wait for keys to caravan.Staff were pleasant and friendly. We stayed in a lovely 3 year old caravan just behind the church. (ascot)We always ask for that area as we take the dogs, and there it is close to the field for walking them.Apart from the bell ringing on monday nights, it has always been very quiet.Situated away from the main reception and entertainment complex which we don't use. A couple of chip shops and pub close by.Site very clean and located not far from Weymouth which we love and have stayed in and around many time. There are many places to visit this time we visited Lyme Regis ,was not dissappointed it was lovely and well worth the drive.No complaints from us we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,113 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
505 reviews
3.9 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weymouth Bay Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weymouth Bay Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Preston Road, Weymouth DT3 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Weymouth Bay Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Green play space • Swimming pools and Lazy River• Rural and relaxing atmosphereAre you looking for an open park with its own green playing field, a river running through the middle and a secluded woodland walk? Then look no further than Weymouth Bay. If you and your kids get all hot and sticky exploring our park, then we’ve got a pretty impressive pair of indoor and outdoor pools you might be interested in jumping into. If you manage to tear your family away from our adventure playground and the Lazy River then you could spend the day at the beach, just over a mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weymouth Bay Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Weymouth Bay Holiday Park - Haven Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing