We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely smashing”
Review of Crab House Cafe

Crab House Cafe
Ranked #7 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Chandlers Ford
2 reviews
“absolutely smashing”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our lunch at the Crab House Café today. We had a dozen oysters and a whole crab between us - and they were so good! Delicious oysters and the crab was so fresh and sweet. The staff were friendly, attentive but not intrusive. We enjoyed it so much we booked for the event on November 28th. It will mean an overnight stay at a B&B nearby but we think it will be worth it.

Lovely location and locale - no doubt helped by a superb, sunny autumn day

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    231
    84
    17
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Crab..tastic!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have been coming here for the last few years everytime I come to Weymouth. Every time it is awesome. The food is fantastic ( and fun if you have the crab / lobster) the staff are helpful and friendly and it's somewhere I will keep coming back to and recommending time and time again.
Rick Stein recommends but so do I!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipper666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Weekend in Weymouth and went here on Saturday evening. Meal was great, fish soup followed by roasted sea bass. Nice atmosphere and food well prepared and staff very helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Superb lunch today started with potted monk tail and lobster served with rustic toast that was absolutely delicious. My main was perfectly cooked, grey mullet fillets with butternut purée, spinach and potatoes. I completed the meal with coconut and honeycomb ice cream, a scoop of each. Others at my table had nothing but praise for the crispy John Dory starter and a big bowl of crab bisque. The praise was further piled on for the brill and the herrings too! The bill for 3 courses for 4 plus 2 bottles of French White was £168 . The best meal I have eaten in Dorset. No wonder Rick Stein sings their praises.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best fish I've ever had!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having visited this restaurant this evening I can hands down say that this is the best fish restaurant I have ever had! Currently on a family holiday in Dorset and having heard great reviews of the crab house cafe I knew a trip to Weymouth would be worthwhile! The staff were very friendly and gave my Dad and I a very good demonstration of how to crack a crab! The restaurant has a very easy going vibe where good food is clearly high on the agenda. It is amazing to watch the chefs freshly cook your fish in front of you. I will have dreams of the red mullet starter with garlic and herbs when I am back to the day job on Monday! If you are in the area and looking for an unforgettable fish restaurant you have to go!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaKay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab House Cafe also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Crab House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing