We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives Up to Cracking Reviews”
Review of The Harbour Bridge Restaurant - CLOSED

The Harbour Bridge Restaurant
Price range: $24 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Harbour Bridge Restaurant is set on the beautiful Weymouth harbourside and offers lovely views from both the ground and first floor dining rooms. We offer uncomplicated British food with classic European influences at an affordable price.
Cheltenham, Glos , England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lives Up to Cracking Reviews”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having read very positive Tripadvisor reviews we called in early on a Thursday evening on the off chance and nevertheless got a warm welcome and were led to a window table upstairs overlooking the Harbour. (Downstairs fully booked) A very courteous and personable young male waiter looked after us extremely well, attentive but not overbearing. The Mackeral pate starter was particularly tasty and the Fish cakes main with fresh vegetables cooked just right was also scrumptious. Prices are very modest for the quality you get.

Tip -The Window seats on the ground get booked early I believe but we had just as good a view of the Harbour from the first floor.

I normally do not like background music but the gentle low volume Jazz / Blues through good quality speakers definitely added to the overall convivial ambiance of the attractive interior setting. Can't fault anthing and will go back next time we visit Weymouth. So glad we avoided the 'mass catering' on the other side of the Harbour!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Ate here late on a Saturday night, the plus side being we got a table in the window overlooking the harbour, the downside being a few things from the menu had sold out. The service couldn't be faulted, very friendly & efficient staff & the food was excellent. Black pudding & crab starters, sirloin steak & whole trout for mains & creme brûlée & raspberry Eton mess for deserts, all washed down with a very nice Sauvignon blanc! All in all a delicious meal with a fantastic view. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meggiemoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Fine Dining”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went to the Harbour Bridge for the first time to have an evening meal, having pre booked the table in the window over looking the harbour. The service is first class, the menu is a little restrictive on choice, nevertheless we all found something to our taste. When the food was served it was excellent. The atmosphere is good, it's a little pricey, but you have to pay for quality. All in all a very nice venue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cavalier1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for this really positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good evening meal”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pleasant meal in good surroundings overlooking the harbour. Service was good, professional and not overbearing. The food was excellent, fresh and quickly served

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review. Your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An oasis of civility among pubs”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently enjoyed a delicious lunch here after walking past several unappetizing looking pubs. The smoked salmon and fresh bread were delicious, as was the glass of white wine we washed it down with. The service and decor was also perfect. We all loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone, especially if they have discriminating taste! And if you are there on the hour, you have the added advantage of watching sailing boats going through the open bridge outside the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for this. So pleased you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Bridge Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing