We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Harbour Bridge Restaurant - CLOSED

The Harbour Bridge Restaurant
Price range: $24 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Harbour Bridge Restaurant is set on the beautiful Weymouth harbourside and offers lovely views from both the ground and first floor dining rooms. We offer uncomplicated British food with classic European influences at an affordable price.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Simple food, lovely service - highly recommended. Lovely location and great for people watching right in the centre of weymouth

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineRawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you! Please do come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location with good views from the front windows! Good food and drinks too!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great Location – Good food, drinks and service too!

I went here last night as part of a group of 6. We were seated upstairs at the right hand side window so we had an excellent view of the harbour and saw the sun setting over Weymouth.

The restaurant mainly serves seafood dishes but there are other options. The menu is fairly small, I prefer not to have too much choice myself, but all options covered most tastes and fancies.

They had a good selection of 3 or 4 bottled DBC ales which was good for the men! Also the wine list was quite extensive.

A 3 course dinner for 6 including wine and beer came to around £200 so its not cheap but not ridiculously expensive.

The service provided was second to none, the young waiter and waitress were very polite and quick to help.

if you like properly cooked seafood then a visit to this restaurant is a must. You can smell the cooking fish as soon as you enter the door!

If you found my review helpful please +1, also let me know if you have any questions I may be able to help with - Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank davecullen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. As you say we are very pleased to be able to offer our guests local fresh fish from our wonderful working harbour but don't forget we also offer steaks, chicken, lamb and home made burgers as well as vegetarian options. We do hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely service and the best Seafood Linguine I have ever tasted!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Friendly staff, cosy but stylish interior, beautiful food! This place has the feel/decor of a wine bar but really personal service, the waiting staff were knowledgeable about the food which was, although not huge portions, really top quality.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We're very proud of our linguine which is a very popular dish and hope you can come and sample it again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
691 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Smashing night...”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Thinking that a Sunday night during the Olympic sailing regatta would be busy, we booked a table on the internet and got a quick confirmation. In the event we got there early and were the first diners of the night. They decided to offer us a window table rather than one they had reserved which gave us a really great view of the activity outside. Four staff including the owner were on duty and perhaps because we had booked (and were early) they made a bit of a fuss of us, which was pleasant, but not overbearing. The atmosphere is inviting, infused with modern touches with interesting art and an exceptionally impressive mural. We chose from the set menu and shared olives and bread. I had a well done steak with frites and my wife had the half roast chicken. For dessert, I had Lemon Polenta cake and my wife, chocolate brownie. They describe their food as uncomplicated modern British food with classic European influences. That is a good description. The set menu offers 5 starters, 6 mains and 4 desserts at £13.95 for 2 courses, and £15.95 for 3 courses. Service was pleasant and unhurried and we spent a very pleasant couple of hours there. The steps up to the entrance will be an issue for some, as will the steps down to the basement toilet. The décor is plain walls and wooden floors and tables with a large bar.
Our scores (out of 10) – Food 9; Service 9; Ambience 9; Value for Money 10.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful and thorough review. We try to make all of our guests feel welcome and we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had an excellent meal here - good service, great food. Look forward to returning when we are next in Weymouth.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for this. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again next time you are in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Bridge Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing