We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service and the best Seafood Linguine I have ever tasted!”
Review of The Harbour Bridge Restaurant - CLOSED

The Harbour Bridge Restaurant
Price range: $24 - $41
Cuisines: European, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Harbour Bridge Restaurant is set on the beautiful Weymouth harbourside and offers lovely views from both the ground and first floor dining rooms. We offer uncomplicated British food with classic European influences at an affordable price.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely service and the best Seafood Linguine I have ever tasted!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Friendly staff, cosy but stylish interior, beautiful food! This place has the feel/decor of a wine bar but really personal service, the waiting staff were knowledgeable about the food which was, although not huge portions, really top quality.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We're very proud of our linguine which is a very popular dish and hope you can come and sample it again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“Smashing night...”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Thinking that a Sunday night during the Olympic sailing regatta would be busy, we booked a table on the internet and got a quick confirmation. In the event we got there early and were the first diners of the night. They decided to offer us a window table rather than one they had reserved which gave us a really great view of the activity outside. Four staff including the owner were on duty and perhaps because we had booked (and were early) they made a bit of a fuss of us, which was pleasant, but not overbearing. The atmosphere is inviting, infused with modern touches with interesting art and an exceptionally impressive mural. We chose from the set menu and shared olives and bread. I had a well done steak with frites and my wife had the half roast chicken. For dessert, I had Lemon Polenta cake and my wife, chocolate brownie. They describe their food as uncomplicated modern British food with classic European influences. That is a good description. The set menu offers 5 starters, 6 mains and 4 desserts at £13.95 for 2 courses, and £15.95 for 3 courses. Service was pleasant and unhurried and we spent a very pleasant couple of hours there. The steps up to the entrance will be an issue for some, as will the steps down to the basement toilet. The décor is plain walls and wooden floors and tables with a large bar.
Our scores (out of 10) – Food 9; Service 9; Ambience 9; Value for Money 10.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful and thorough review. We try to make all of our guests feel welcome and we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had an excellent meal here - good service, great food. Look forward to returning when we are next in Weymouth.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for this. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again next time you are in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We wanted somewhere new to eat and after a few searches on the Internet decided on the harbour bridge. We were greeted by very polite staff and shown immediately to our table. We were placed up stairs right next to the window so a lovely view whilst eating. The service was prompt and enough time between courses so not to feel rushed. The food itself was very tasty, cooked well and enough so not to feel completely stuffed at the end!! We will definatly visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amh1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Bit of a let down”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Booked to go to the Harbour Bridge, after attending the open evening.
Went with a party of friends, all of us local b&b owners.
We all thought the table presentation very poor, not much attention to detail, cheap and nasty cutlery etc.
We all ordered different things from the menu, very disappointed and somewhat surprised to see that you had to pay extra for everything, my steak came with just a small mushroom and nothing else, not even what one could call a complete meal. 2 of our party had vegeatables with their meal, (all extras), which were overdone and not particulary nice. i of our party had the Lamb, which quite frankly was not very nice at all, and he subsequently left.
Overall it was very expensive, not particulary good, and I feel in all honestly I couldnt reccomend to my guests to eat there, which is such a shame.
The service was very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We're really sorry that you did not enjoy your evening. It is a shame that you did not let us know during your meal. We would have done our best to rectify things. We're working on the cutlery and hope at least, you enjoyed our launch party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Bridge Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing