We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere, very good food, excellent service”

Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We are not talking about fish and chips or burgers. Let's talk about quality of food, service, choice of wines etc.
One of my rare highlights in GB at this price range. Take your time, enjoy a aperitif at the bar, have a relaxed dinner and chill out with a digestif in a leather armchair next to the open fire.

A restaurant for "gourmets" with decent prices for the service and quality wich is provided.

Enjoy...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gsundundbuschber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your evening with us at Westers and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 132 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

I`m not going to elaborate as there isn`t really much to say, apart from the fact that my meal was dreadful and I wouldn`t go back there again. It`s a shame because Westers USED to be the place to go in the 80`s/90`s. There are far better places to eat in Weymouth so I wouldn`t recommend Westers in it`s current state to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank peaches467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are surprised at the nature of your review and the contents.

Firstly at no point did you during your visit to Westers voice any complaint whatsoever, in fact we have no idea who you are.

If you were so dissatisfied with the service, food and Westers in general surely you would have at least complained to the waiter or when paying the bill.

We are very conscious of the sentiment of the local people and there love of the Westers of the 80s and since taking over the premises last January have committed to listening to the local people and the type of wine bar and Bistro they would like in a part of Weymouth that lacks the facilities of the main town.

Your review only puts back the hard work and dedication that all at Westers have put in over the last year and with the encouragement of the original owners from the eighties. We are determined to make Westers The Place To Be Again and welcome all feedback however your review holds no constructive content whatsoever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stopped off in Weymouth recently, was recommended to try Westers by some friends, really excellent meal, a lovely environment, very pleasant and attentive service. Definitely would go again if I'm in the area and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Westers, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

we have been visiting westers for thirty years,seen a lot of new owners over this time span but all good.We love the food,varied choices,good for parties,a little gem hidden away but getting back on the map now.Would recomend it for a relaxed atmosphere,brill staff and the new owners have done wonders to the inside,well done to all,going for a meal tonight,try the steaks,very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed you meal with us, and also grateful for the the very positive comments regarding the service, and of the Wine Bar & Bistro in general.. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently visited Westers for dinner when visiting friends and we really enjoyed ourselves - nice atmosphere, friendly staff and most importantly the food was great. We will definatley be returning!

1  Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing