We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudsons
Ranked #68 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for three nights at the end of August.

Our room was nice, very clean with a comfortable bed, small flat screen tv, fridge, tea coffee making facilities, and a hairdryer. The ensuite was small, but the shower was a decent size, and again it was very clean. A lot of the rooms share a bathroom, which wouldn't be my cup of tea, but if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by, it will be spotless. The owner was very friendly when we checked in.

Theres a Lidl across the road for essential supplies (wine) and a decent pub nearby which sells food and cheapish wine (see the theme developing here)

We didn't bother with breakfast preferring to eat in town.

It was about a twenty minute walk into the town centre, which was ideal for us as we like walking. Weymouth is a lot bigger than I expected, with loads of shops, a big clean sandy beach, and a marina area with nice pubs.

Overall I'd recommend Weymouth, and Graingers. We had a fantastic time, although the fab weather we've had this year played a big part in that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildwomanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
53
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Graingers for 3 nights and had a lovely relaxing time. Michael, the owner was a very friendly guy who made you feel very welcome. We stayed in room 2 which was an en-suite, it was spotlessly clean with tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and fridge. The en suite was more than adequate and the bed comfortable. The room was nice and cool despite it being warm out but it is next to a busy road and room 2 overlooks that. We didn't find it any problem to sleep though. We didn't try the breakfast as we like Porridge and it wasn't one of the things on offer sadly. However we managed to get it at both Wetherspoons in Weymouth town centre. Graingers have about 5 parking spaces but there is room for about 4 more cars on the road. We arrived early morning so couldn't park in Graingers spaces but parked on the road and walked into town.
The guest house is a 15 minute walk to the beach and about 20 to the town centre, turn right out of the guest house keep going past Weymouth Conservative club and bear right. Buses are easily available and the bus stops have electronic information of services. The Guest house is directly opposite a large Lidl store so you can buy most things. Turn left out of the house and about 100 yards away is a very nice pub The Famous Old Spa and we ate there each night at a reasonable price. The beach is very nice indeed, cleaned every night and you can hire a wind shield for £2, deck chair £2 and a sun bed £6 a day although we felt that was expensive and not many hired them. We recommend sitting on the beach near to the town and the cafe which has been there since 1870 because there are free toilets and a Londis supermarket next to the Wetherspoons. The town has some nice shops and also bars, we walked through town down to the harbour for a late afternoon drink at several nice bars.
Weymouth is well worth a visit and Graingers is a very friendly option to stay at. Whilst outside the centre it is near enough to walk to and from the beach. As a Guest house this is a very good one and Weymouth overall was a really enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Recommend an en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent a long weekend here and we was made very welcome, the room was comfortable and clean. We booked breakfast for us and it set us up for the day, so well worth the extra cost, location was good, not to far from the seafront, just a short stroll.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cove_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Graingers for two nights mid week on an exploring tour around Dorset.
The hosts were so warm and welcoming - from the phone call to book until the day we left, from help with the amenities to a last minute room exchange.
The breakfast was glorious and generous, the rooms airy and spacious with a relaxing décor.
Just about all you need for a home away from home!

Re location - you can walk to the beach from Graingers, it is about 15 minutes walk with a mild hill in the middle. Buses are just outside, though, if you don't feel like it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountsorrel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The outstanding thing for us was it's proximity to the centre of Weymouth by an excellent bus service. We are car drivers, but the bus travel was so easy; a bus stop within yards to get to Weymouth centre (and then further places) but also going past Graingers in the opposite direction was a regular service to Dorchester. When you've had enough of driving for the day this was brilliant.
The accommodation was quiet, very nicely furnished, clean; an absolute steal at the price.
Mike and Andrew made us most welcome and we would recommend Graingers to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic reception and lovely comfortable room. We were made to feel very welcome and every effort was made to make sure we were happy. Breakfast was terrific and the hosts were very helpful by way of advice and guidance with regards to weather and transport. I couldn't thank Michael and Andrew more for making our stay as pleasurable as possible. We will be back - hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsNorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a very relaxed night over the weekend. The Hosts made us feel welcome and were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was great and set us up for the day.
Thanks go to Michael and Andrew for making our brief stay a pleasant one and be assured i will be booking again for a longer period.

Room Tip: For anyone with trouble walking I would suggest Room 1 which is ground floor. That said i had no tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdGillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#47 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#105 of 163 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Castle Hotel
The Old Castle Hotel
#149 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 215 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT3 5EQ, England (Formerly Graingers Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudsons 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hudsons offers adults only accommodation for people over the age of 18. It is situated 5 minutes' drive from Weymouth beach, the Esplanade, the harbour and the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We offer free parking for guests, which is available from check in which is 17.00 (5pm) to 22.00 (10pm). Hudsons car park is small and is designed for cars and small vans please note we may not be able to accommodate large vans Transit size and bigger. We accept no responsibility for any damage or theft from cars or vans left on our car park. Parking in the car park is at your own risk. Cars must be removed by 10.30am on your check out day. Hudsons is on the corner of Waverley Road & Dorchester Road. There is usually parking available on Waverley, and this is unrestricted and free. There is a bus service that passes by Hudsons and can take guests into the town or nearby attractions. Hudsons charges all its rooms at room rate only, but breakfast can be added for a surcharge. Breakfast is served from 8:00 - 9:00 Monday to Friday and 8:30 to 9:30 on Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays. All rooms are fully equipped with welcome trays, a fridge, flat-screen TV with built-in Freeview and DVD player, a hairdryer, shaver point and unrestricted access for guests. Standard and en-suite rooms are available, and all are centrally heated. Hudsons is situated on the main Dorchester Road and there can be traffic noise at times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing