We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely site but lady at reception rather off putting”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Barn Farm
Alderbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely site but lady at reception rather off putting”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for two nights in May and overall did enjoy the campsite. Pitches are generous, absolutely stunning views and new toilet/ shower block closer to reception modern and very clean (best I have seen so far). It would have been strong 5 stars but...lady at reception/ shop is rather off putting and I fully agree with all the other reviews (I read them after experiencing it myself not before!!) It really let the campsite down which is a great shame. I don't mind getting the rules on paper etc but you would expect at least a little bit of smile and friendliness during your holiday as this is the time you want to relax! The fact that some people break the rules does not really explain it....

Room Tip: Pitches at the end with stunning views but cust service off putting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    41
    26
    25
See reviews for
138
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed over the May Bank/hol wkend with our 4 children & my sister & her family. It was a beautiful location, although we found it difficult to find! The sat nav took us way past entrance & the sign to Sea Barn Farm was small & we completely missed it! We arrived after the shop/office had closed so went the next morning to confirm our arrival. The lady in the office/shop was very abrupt and unfriendly, with no nice welcome. We were given a long list of rules/regs in a booklet and we were also reminded of do's/dont's with laminated signs in toilet/shower block....it was made very clear that we would forfeit our £20 bond if these were broken. Aside from this, the Shower/toilet blocks were well maintained & we felt the cost of our 3 night stay was good value for money. There's lots to do in the surrounding areas....we enjoyed Weymouth & Corfe Castle! If the following tips were taken on board - customer service training, a rethink on negative park rules booklet & kids park revamp, I would give the site 5. I would recommend for the location and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear your Sat Nav didn't get you precisely where you thought you were going. This is not uncommon in rural areas, where postcode areas can be quite big. In this area sat nav companies have even been known to include roads that don't exist, so it's worth looking at a map before you leave!

There's pretty good signage to the parks from the main road and two signs at the Junction with Fleet Road itself where you need to turn off to the park entrance.

With regard to the park rules, we do find it is important to give these to people when they arrive and to have a few little reminders about the park as well. This way, no one can say that they haven't been made aware of what the park's code is and what the bonds are for. This is especially important, if, for example, we find that people have been walking through fields with crops or livestock with their dogs off their leads and where there is no public access anyway.

This is also why the leaflet with the rules in it that we give to ALL arrivals also includes lots of handy information about the park including a map and some lovely scenic walks that you can take without putting yourselves and other people at risk - so long, of course, as you have your dogs on leads and follow the directions provided.

We find, that in doing this, we manage to keep the vast majority of our visitors happy and safe without upsetting neighbouring farmers by having our visitors trespassing where they should not be or walking through fields with animals in, where they may be putting themselves or others, such as horse riders, at risk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited this lovely campsite with another family on May bank holiday. Beautiful views, lovely toilets/showers, clean, quiet (apart from our children!!) & sunny! Rather tired & old play area but the children still had fun. All great so far, but, oh, what a shame about the customer service. Really let the whole place down. No friendly welcome, no smiles at all, no 'thank you for staying', just very 'miserable' responses to everything. We decided the lady was very fed up with having to work the bank holiday! My sister & I (we came with her & her family) tried very hard to get a smile & something positive, but failed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for your comments and glad you liked the location. Sorry if the staff may have seemed a bit grumpy to you, sometimes they can be if customers have failed to follow the code we set out for the safe enjoyment of everyone, like keeping dogs on leads all the time; sticking to designated paths and not walking through neighbouring farmland where they should not be. The latter is very important when there are other animals or horses and riders in the vicinity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent facilities, spotless toilets and showers, family bathrooms are a brilliant idea when you are travelling with babies and toddlers, it is such a good idea. There was no record of our booking on arrival, but issue was quickly resolved, unlike other reviewers, I didn't think that the camp shop was overpriced. However, I did look at the old toilet and shower block and I think it would have been a completely different experience camping near to those, I highly recommend the areas nearer to the new block instead, which are great. The views across the lagoon and beach are beautiful and you are conveniently close to Weymouth too. The site was quiet and well maintained, the other campers friendly. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankietravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll pass on your comments about the spotless toilets and showers to the "Clean Team" as they work hard, and take great pride, in keeping all the facilities that way. The older facilities block is not as "posh" as the new one, but it is inspected and graded to the AA Three Pennant Standard, which is the grading for the park as a whole. The new block was a substantial investment and exceeds the standard required for Three Pennants by some distance! Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I arrived for a long weekend with a few friends (ages ranging from 25-32 years - not exactly 16 year old deliquants). We arrived when the shop was closed, despite being told it would be open until 8pm on the phone, so we pitched up for the evening ready to pay in the morning. At exactly 11pm whilst sat around our tent someone appeared out of nowhere to shout at us for the volume of our voices. I have no problem being asked to quieten down if we were being a bit loud (i don't feel we were) but there are ways of doing so. We were also told very rudely to put out our fire because it was in THE RULES. We had to wait until the morning to find out these rules which consisted of a two sided A4 sheet of paper listing everything from in which manner to excercise your dogs to the temperature of your bbq. We were then told that as we were not a family (i.e not with any children) we had to pay a £20 bond per head as way of a deposit and told if any one of the group broke a single rule then the entire £120 would not be returned. This had at no point during the booking been mentioned and if that is the policy should be extended to all customers not just those they have made immediate judgements on. Later that day when buying something in the shop (its much cheaper just to go to the supermarket down the road!) the same woman who served us previously managed to charge me for the items and take my money all the while on the phone having a private conversation without saying a word to me. We also noticed whilst in the shop that a lot of the items for sale where actually prohibited in the site rules - presumably they are only happy for you to use such equipment if they make a financial gain. Finally after having to endure a few nights and very early mornings of children running amock, screaming and kicking balls repeatedly into our cars (as families obviously did not have to follow the same rules as us 'youths') we went to leave upon being told we needed our tent tags to get out deposit back. When we merely mentioned that we had not been notified of that at the time of paying so had thrown them away during packing up we were told by the same woman "you clearly weren't listening to me. I've worked here 11 years and never not told anyone"!
Beautiful location but the staff are incredibly unhelpful when asking about the local area, rude and have disgusting customer service skills. Basil Fawlty eat your heart out.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The park's code of orderly conduct is well publicised on the web site including the policies on no fires (bbqs fuelled by charcoal or gas only - no wood, no coal, no cardboard or paper) and no unnecessary noise after 11 pm. To help ensure that all customers are aware of these conditions, it is not possible to make an on-line booking without agreeing to the park rules and confirming that you have read them. Similarly all customers are made aware of the rules (as you have noted) on arrival and also, if they book by phone, at the time of booking. This information is also available on signs at the main entrance. To help ensure that everyone sticks to these rules the park operates a system of bonds and has done for many years. This too is well publicised. Unfortunately not all customers realise how far their voices travel at night and for this reason the park is patrolled and, where necessary, customers may be politely reminded that their conversations may be audible to a much wider audience than they realise. This is particularly relevant when young children are in nearby tents and explicit or offensive language is being used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I've been visiting this site for 35 years from a child to now bringing my own family. This weekend has been horrific. We have been situated next to an extended family of 3 or 4 tents and they're not here for a holiday by the sea! So far we've observed a giant party where the adults drink all day and the children entertain themselves. Their dog barks continuously throughout the loud music which plays continuously. Yesterday the staff here managed to get them to turn off the music at least, but regardless of a rigid policy protecting the respectability of the site, how can they ever expect to evict drunk adults and their children late at night? Therefore we must endure the party.
As an example of the noise level, we cannot hold a normal conversation in our tent because our neighbours are so loud. Apparently they like cheesy 90's reggae??? Sorry to rant on but I'm stuck within a tent situated in someone else's party and I have a 2 & 7 year old that now know a lot more of life than they knew before this weekend and also what it feels like to be at a rave surrounded by children their own age????
I love the location of this site but it seems the target market is changing and maybe we no longer fit. This is fine because right now I feel like I am in a ghetto and cannot wait to go home. I've made an email complaint as well as a prior verbal complaint to the staff, if I get a good outcome I'll update this post with the outcome. So sad because walking about the site tonight we seem to be in the only bad area. It's now 9pm and the music has finally stopped, I've emailed the site and saw what I think was a patrol van. We are tired and fed up and maybe now we can get the children to bed and start out evening.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaharaGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry if your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have liked. Sea Barn Farm is a family camping park and families take many different forms. The park sets out very clearly its expectations for orderly behaviour and takes action where necessary to ensure that the code is adhered to, as other reviews on this site bear testament. The park also operates a system of behaviour bonds and has done for many years. Nevertheless, camping attracts a diverse range of people and always has done. Had you wished to move to a location more to your liking, at this time of year, we would easily have been able to accommodate your request, however none was made.

Contrary to your assertion, because our expectations of orderly conduct are so clearly set out and so widely publicised, this makes requiring disorderly and/or drunk customers to vacate the premises comparatively easy on the very rare occasions that this becomes necessary, day or night. However, we generally find that the other measures we have in place work well and ensure that all customers behave responsibly and are able to enjoy their stay. On the weekend of your visit, we received only three complaints about noise. One concerned people talking too loudly after 11 p.m. One related to music being played too loudly during the day and the last concerned the use of inappropriate language by other customers. On a busy, sunny, Bank Holiday weekend, when there were over 100 units on the park throughout the four days, that is a very low percentage. Clearly we'd prefer it if there were none, but we try to strike the right balance between those who complain about the noise of others enjoying themselves and those who complain that they have been reminded by staff or other customers to keep the noise down. This weekend we've had both. The result, as your own review makes clear, the park was generally quiet after 9 pm and our night staff report that all was very quiet from 11 pm onwards, something other guests have commented on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights for a late summer break, having not been camping for years. The site was very clean and well laid out and the new toilet block is of a very high standard. We had no idea how large the site was until we walked around it on our last day where the sites group policy became evident. There were groups of up to 6 tents pitched together around large gazebos with communal bbqs and games going on, a real family atmosphere. it was also great to see a group of kids turn up on their DofE bronze night under canvas. The rules weren't driven down our throats and we were never pestered by the site staff, but I can see how so many rules are needed to keep the site so family friendly. One word of warning - TAKE STRONG PEGS - there's only 6 inches of top soil before you hit the Jurassic rock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. For those who haven't visited Sea Barn Farm before and who may not yet have visited the website, it is probably worth explaining that groups are only permitted by prior arrangement and that all groups (more than two people who are not a family and groups of families) are subject to the park's system of bonds. Bonds are a gesture of good faith on the part of group members to show that they have understood and agree to Sea Barn's longstanding "quiet nights policy". We have found this is the best way to ensure that families, couples and small groups of friends can all enjoy a peaceful stay and a good night's sleep. Bonds are repayable on departure provided everyone in the group has respected the park's policies on noise and behaviour, which help to keep the park enjoyable for families and couples as well as those camping as part of other outdoor activities such as Duke of Edinburgh Awards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
609 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
250 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
406 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#22 of 163 in Weymouth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Barn Farm

Property: Sea Barn Farm
Address: Sea Barn Farm Fleet, Weymouth, Dorset DT3, UK Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Also Known As:
Sea Barn Farm Hotel Weymouth
Sea Barn Farm Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing